We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing!”
Review of Elvey Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elvey Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

After a lot of searching I chose this venue to propose to my girlfriend. We stayed in the Penhurst suite which is probably one of the best rooms I'd ever stayed in, very clean, a huge amount of room and some lovely personal touches. The grounds are fantastic and a great deal of thought put into keeping this location special. The evening meal was to die for very very high standards and superb attention by the resteraunt manager. My 'soon to be wife' had bream with scollaps and I had Sussex beef (best steak ever had - and have a few in my 56 years!

This was an amazing stay and cannot fault anything about this little gem in the countryside

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 431 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed last weekend, for one night, food was lovely and the room ( Whitstable) was stunning, Staff were friendly and professional.
The single reason for my giving a 4 rather than 5 rating is that you could definitely hear guests in the next room, I have read this comment before by another poster on TA, and to be honest had I not had a few nightcaps that would have bothered me and kept me awake, even if the peeps weren't talking late in to the night I would be listening out for it. The owners have clearly stated that these are old buildings and personally, I think that rooms are so beautiful that most guests would over look the noise issue, its a problem for me as I live in a maisonette and getting away from other peoples noise is the entire reason for me taking a break, and its not that exessive to be honest. (especially as you consider that on this occasion I was definately in a glass house throwing stones, given that I am afraid I was rather boozy and embarrasingly was asked, in the most tactful way, to keep it down in the bar area!)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmasmumLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband booked a nights stay and dinner at Elvey Farm. This was our first visit. It was perfect, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the whole setting is just beautiful. Dinner was excellent, there is a good choice and it is perfectly cooked and presented. It was lovely waking up to silence.
Breakfast was absolutly delicious using all locally sourced produce and it was great to read on the menu where the food came from.
There was one little complaint, although it did not spoil our weekend, my husband had booked The Faversham Suite and when we arrived we were told there had been a major leak and it was in the process of being fixed. We were put in The Oast House which was lovely, but I do think an email advising of this change would have been nice, unless of course it had just happened.
As I said it certainly did not ruin our weekend and it was great sleeping in a round room with our own sitting room downstairs.
A big thank you to all the staff who made us feel very welcome. We will revisit in the future.

Room Tip: The Oast House has it own sitting room, which is nice to lounge around and read the papers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarkingBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I went to Pluckley from Sunday evening and stayed for 2 nights in the Penshurst Suite. I cannot rave enough about this place and we are very seasoned travellers! Amazing scenery, gorgeous room, peace and tranquility throughout and you are left in total peace. The staff are out of this world and cannot do enough to help, should you require it. However, they also leave you to your own devices if you wish. The food is fantastic and breakfasts to die for!! This is a real must - within 5 minutes of arriving we were incredibly relaxed and London seems like a million miles away!! We want to recommend this very highly but also feel the need to keep this gem to ourselves for when we want to escape again. We are already planning our next trip back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiona b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I am in two minds about this place. The location is lovely and the accomodation full of chraracter but there is something that does not quite work. The restaurant and bar are open to locals, which of course they must be to remain viable, but the clash between those looking for a quiet stay and those wanting to treat the place more like a pub is evident.
On arrival I walked towards the barn-style building and noticed that I was being gazed at by a group who were drinking through an open bar/restaurant window, the gaze became quite an unpleasant stare that did not drop as I entered the building, an experience more akin to a Friday night at the local pub than a B&B. We were shown to our room, the Broadstairs suite, which was clean and comfortable and quite charming though the bath requires some repair work. We began to settle in but it soon became apparent that our room was directly above the bar and the noise was awful, almost every word could be heard with crystal clarity. The noise continued for about three hours until about six o'clock. We tried to drown it out by watching the television for a while but the digital reception was poor and we lost the signal on numerous occasions making it unwatchable.
We booked into the restaurant and found the meal to be very good, the menu was very limited due to it being a Sunday and as such traditional roast dinner was the focus. We spoke to a member of staff (I shall not mention any names here to spare any blushes) about the noise coming from beneath our room and we were told that a particular local enjoys drinking the bar dry on a Sunday. While I understand that it is important to be a financial success and to this end it is important to appeal to as many people as possible I also think there is a danger of being a 'jack of all trades' but 'master of none'. If I had wanted a pub-crawl I would not have booked into a B&B in the Kent countryside.
After a good nights sleep we went for breakfast and I must say this is something that Elvey Farm does very well. The produce is superb and it really comes through, everything from the coffee to the sausages is just perfect, my only crticism here would be that it is so good that I was left wanting more but that's probably greed on my part rather than a lack of generosity.
I can't describe Elvey Farm in a nut shell because although the staff, food, location and accomodation are very good there is a feel about the place which is a little impersonal and unwelcoming almost as though you're gatecrashing a party and it is for this reason I would not return, a shame really becuse there is so much that is good.

Room Tip: Avoid the Broadstairs suite. Too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pupe-Magraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We spent one night here prior to using the Shuttle. When we were shown the room, it was so cosy and low-lit and had classical music playing – I was bowled over! Just lovely with exposed beams, a spacious wet-room style bathroom, good selection of tea and coffee, the only thing I could fault were the rather skimpy curtains which let in rather a lot of light and a curtain over the door would have been good as it didn’t fit very tightly.

The evening meal was delicious, using local produce, as was the breakfast. Staff were really pleasant and helpful too. I would thoroughly recommend this place and would love to come back in summer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VisitorsfromYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at Elvey Farm this last Saturday night. The location was quite convenient and even though the weather wasn't great we were able to enjoy the peaceful surroundings. The menu was varied and the fresh local produce was evident in the delicious meals me and my partner both enjoyed.

The room was a good size with a nice lounge area and a lovely deep bath. Beds were comfy and we both had a nice relaxed nights sleep. All the staff were very kind and courteous as well.

Would definitely recommend (and already have to several friends and coworkers) and hope to come back again for another stay in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob106106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pluckley
6.4 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,350 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Dering Arms
The Dering Arms
#1 of 1 in Pluckley
89 reviews
3 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ashford International Hotel
3.3 mi away
Who'd A Thought It
Who'd A Thought It
#1 of 1 in Grafty Green
406 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pluckley Pad B&B
Pluckley Pad B&B
#3 of 3 in Pluckley
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elvey Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elvey Farm

Address: Elvey Farm Elvey Lane, Pluckley, Ashford TN27 0SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford > Pluckley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Pluckley
Price Range: $104 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elvey Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the end of a winding lane, nestled in the heart of the Kentish countryside, stands Elvey Farm, a beautiful medieval farmstead tastefully converted into a small country guesthouse. This clutch of buildings, steeped in history and natural character, is a hidden treasure waiting to be uncovered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Elvey Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elvey Farm Hotel Pluckley
Elvey Farm Pluckley, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing