We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Expectations!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elvey Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elvey Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Highgate London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Expectations!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

As Elvey farm charge £175 for B&B and dinner B&B for £219 our expectations were high. First impressions were good. Lovely welcome and a quirky room in the oust house. We weren't the only occupants though as the spiders had been busy over what looked like the preceding few weeks as there were cobwebs everywhere. Furniture was dusty and the bathroom cleanliness was also lacking with stained tiling and grouting behind the sink. Decided to watch some TV before dinner but 'No signal available' on the TV and despite reporting this to the staff at dinner and asking if someone could resolve this, we returned to the room with the TV still telling us 'No signal available'. Bathroom toiletries were limited to three tiny individual bottles - one shower gel, one shampoo and one body lotion. No hand soap was provided so had to resort to using shower gel to wash hands. The tea tray was as sparse as the bathroom toiletries. One small bottle of mineral water between the two of us and 3 small UHT milks that we divided between the two mugs of coffee. Dinner in the restaurant was OK whilst breakfast invited us to make our own toast using a domestic toaster - which took an age! Yes this all may sound a bit 'picky' but the price warranted so much better. On the plus side, the staff were friendly and efficient but it would have been a nice touch if the owners had presented themselves during our stay and we would have told them this direct. Sorry Elvey Farm, but at the rates you charge, you 'must do better'.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MisterMister001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffMoodyPluckley, Owner at Elvey Farm, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for this review. No, I don't think you're being at all picky. For £175, you deserve much better.

After receiving your review, we looked again at our cleaning policy. We had recently hired a new company to manage our cleaning requirements, and quite clearly they weren't doing as good a job as they should have been.

I am now pleased to say we have taken our housekeeping duties in-house once more, and as a result the quality has improved greatly. And there are now plenty of milks, sugars, waters, soaps etc...

I'm sorry that you feel we, as owners, didn't show our faces... we have just relaunched our restaurant - which has taken a lot of our time and attention in recent weeks. Plus we've had 20 weddings to plan, so we have not been as available as usual. Rest assured, we're not sat at home doing nothing! If only. But I'm glad to hear, in our absence, that you were well looked after.

Can I also add one final note: £175 is not the normal price for those rooms. You came on a Saturday in the middle of the high season. For 90% of the year, the room is considerably cheaper. But we will review this charge shortly, to make sure it's value for money.

Thank you again for that review. We've learned a lot from it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    82
    32
    15
    10
See reviews for
36
285
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

My friend and I had a great stay at Elvey Farm, we were in the Tenderton twin suite, as we both took our dogs, who were left some dog treats in the room, very nice touch. It was a lovely room and the staff were very helpful and friendly . The evening meal was really good and so was the local wine, the breakfast was so good we asked them to pass our compliments to the chef it's well worth going back just for that! They even gave us some bacon for the dogs, which they loved thanks a lot for a great stay we intend to come back soon, maybe on one of the special event evenings / weekends. We found this in the Alastair Sawday 'special places to stay, dog friendly places' book and his review matched our experience.

Room Tip: The tenderton suite has loads of room and a separate twin room linked to the double room, great if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allyabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

For my wife and I our one night was but a taster of what a wonderful place Jeff ,Simon and their team have created..First impression was for us "oh yes this is very nice" We left with that impression enhanced by great food , great sleep, great service. A definate we will return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandDeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

My girlfriend treated me to a stay here at Elvey Farm in the Canterbury Suite. Wow what a stay, I am late reviewing here by some six months as I have just discovered trip advisor (catch up!) but we had such an amazing time I am glad I searched for this fantastic gem! So I could tell you all what a great place this is!
Our room was amazing, which included the private jacuzzi! We also had dinner which was amazing I hadnt had moules mariniere that good since France, beautiful!
I cant recommend Elvey highly enough we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Stayed for two one night stops during recent continental holiday. Very impresssed with the location and first view of the hotel. Room large and confortable but bed a little smaller than used to. Suffered very little room noise but suspect inconsiderate neighbours could cause disturbance. Bathroom water pressure low but could be normal for Kent. No stand up shower only an attachment over the bath. Hotel restaurant and bar picture perfect, but chairs a little low for the table height. Evening meals very good and the local wine well priced and good. Breakfast lovely with high quality ingredients and good toast as you produce it yourself when required - none of the cold rubbish as in many hotels. Possibly a little expensive but very helpful with our dog and very friendly. Only part I did not like was added 'optional' service charge. Surely this should not be automaticaly added to bill. Not a good policy at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed in the Whistable room for a Sunday night deal which included a two course evening meal and breakfast, and really enjoyed the experience. The room is tastefully appointed whilst still maintaining the rustic charm of it's stable origins. Slipper bath was really nice! Had a great sleep, helped by the peace and quiet afforded by the remote location. Both meals were excellent and the service was superb. Decided against bringing our dog with us on this occasion, but would if we visited again as the facilities certainly would allow it and the owners welcome them. Staff were laid back and unobtrusive, but never far away if you needed them. Overall a really nice place to visit, and far more memorable than any stay in a chain hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FanofStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

I have visited the farm many times over the years and each time I have throughly enjoyed my stay,
At the moment the place is going through some staff changes and hopefully things will not change to much,
The old chef has now left and has been replaced by a new one,
The previous chef was very good and he will be a hard act to follow, I had dinner in the restaurant last saturday night and to be honest it wasnt very good good,
I mentioned it to the manager the following morning and he told me it was the new chefs weekend off,
The soux chef cooked our meals............
Hopefully things will change for the better when the new chef settles in,
Other than this slight mis-hap we throughly enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffMoodyPluckley, Owner at Elvey Farm, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Hello John

Firstly, thank you for your review, and for the lovely things you said about us. And thank you for sticking with us. Yes, our Head Chef has moved on to pastures new, taking his Sous Chef with him. These things happen - he's been with us several years and felt it was time to move on. We wish him well and thank him for all this hard work over the years.

I'm sorry you weren't so happy with your latest visit. When our new Head Chef joined us, he told us he had booked a weekend away for his Wedding Anniversary - so we had to book an agency chef for the night that you came to us.

I quite agree, the food wasn't to its usual standard. I'm so sorry. But I'd like to assure you that our new Head Chef and Sous Chef are now fully on board - and the standard of the food is even better than before - and very exciting.

Thank you for sticking with us. Thankfully, a very temporary blip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pluckley
6.4 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
3.0 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
6.5 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford North
Premier Inn Ashford North
#1 of 2 in Hothfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ashford North A20
1.0 mi away
The Dering Arms
The Dering Arms
#1 of 1 in Pluckley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elvey Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elvey Farm

Property: Elvey Farm
Address: Elvey Farm Elvey Lane, Pluckley, Ashford TN27 0SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford > Pluckley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Pluckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Elvey Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the end of a winding lane, nestled in the heart of the Kentish countryside, stands Elvey Farm, a beautiful medieval farmstead tastefully converted into a small country guesthouse. This clutch of buildings, steeped in history and natural character, is a hidden treasure waiting to be uncovered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, Book Direct Rooms, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Elvey Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elvey Farm Hotel Pluckley
Elvey Farm Pluckley, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing