We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful find!!”

The Ambrette Margate
Ranked #5 of 189 Restaurants in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful find!!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Once you get over the awful decor and drab look of the place, you are in for a culinary experience. The food was simply outstanding...Don't expect typical indian food (curry and rice) you are given a delicious amuse bouche, and a little treat after each course - a delicate carrot and coriander soup in a little cup, a mango sorbet....etc. etc...my meal was the best meal I have had in ages. The presentation and attention to detail was exceptional. I wish we had a restaurant of this calibre in London. I had pheasant for the first time - it was delicate and delicious. I have certain food allergies and they couldn't do enough to make sure my food did not contain dairy, nuts etc....They even made a little sugar free, nut free dessert as a surprise for us as it was our anniversary....Just wonderful!!! Cannot wait to go back....

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank msr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    779
    187
    59
    36
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Still fabulous, but. . .”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was my 5th visit and the food is still fabulous. However a couple of negatives have crept in. The famous chocolate samosa's I was so looking forward to were rock hard and the feathered beef starter was meagre in it's portion. The wine we ordered was corked, and I asked the waiter to comment and he did with ' I just opened it'. Not satisifactory. But, the wine and desert were changed with no questions. On the plus side all of my partners choices were fabulous and my main (beef stew) was gorgeous. All the little extras served between courses we delicious too. I wouldn't hesitate the Ambrette to even the biggest 'foodie'.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2012Peggy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very good indian inspired cooking - certainly not your bog standard curry house”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We here for family meal today at lunchtime after many good reviews from my parents who eat here often. Set lunch was excellent value (£20 for 3 courses) and had at least 4 choices for each course. On top of this we were also presented with an amouse bouche (deep fried paneer with coconut chutney) and a coffee cup of soup (tomato) between starter and mains. If you come here expecting a mountain of curry rice and naan, you will be disappointed. If you come here wanting very tasty Indian cuisine of the haute variety presented very well, you will be pretty pleased. In an old pub just off old Margate (the trendy bit, 5 mins from Turner Contemporary), Service was good, but just missing something (I can't name it exactly, perhaps just too quietly spoken in a room with not great accoustics). Strangely, for a restaurant that has won a Cobra award, they only served Kingfisher! (but I'm being very picky here). Food excellent, probably more like the Michelin starred Indian restaurants of London (this is a guess, they're too expensive for me!), but certainly unlike any Indian I've been to before, and very good value too.(even more so, as Mum is a privilege member - free to join for the over 60's - and got all 3 courses for all in the party for £10.95, so including drinks, less than £120 for 6). Arguably, Thanet's best restaurant?

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjjcLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My 92 year old mother and I took advantage of the Senior Citizens Priviledge Card and had lunch at the Ambrette today. What a treat! Beautifully presented plates of food (and each course described as it was served) with little extra touches such as a welcome glass of prosecco, an amuse bouche and an expresso cup of lentil soup between courses. Don't expect a great dollop of meat in bright red sauce on a pile of rice! This is small portions but perfectly formed with delicious delicate combinations of flavours and unusual ingredients. The pheasant was beautifully tender as was the pork loin. As a Margate girl born and bred I am delighted that this sort of quality restaurant is now in Margate at an affordable price (even without the Priviledge card) and a restaurant that offers Senior citizens the opportunity to enjoy fine dining at a price they can afford. Well done Ambrette - we thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wheeler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Ate here for the first time on Tuesday evening .The food was superb !
Looking forwaed to a second visit ,

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzieGibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ambrette Margate also viewed

Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 
Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to The Ambrette Margate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing