We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sherwood Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$119
$99
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Margate Westwood(Margate)(Great Value!)
$82
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Margate Hotel(Margate)(Great Value!)
$124
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveler rating
46
28
9
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
28
9
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily roomslow walkfriendly managerb bsea viewfull english breakfastreasonable sizebreakfast was freshly cookedtwo nightsroom was cleanother gueststhe bank holiday weekenddouble roomdefinitely stay here againstayed one nightovernight stayno lift
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 88 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2012

On arrival was greeted, shown our room all good so far, room was a bit dated but looked clean, went to move single bed and found dirty boxer shorts, looked by wardrobe and found a dirty top. Shower facility's dated but clean, if these few problems are rectified I would stay again, nice people, nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breadstickandcupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger006, Manager at Sherwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

Thank you for your review.

Since this review, I strictly required my Housekeeper to check everything (under the beds wardrobes, chestdrawer, bedside table).

All the best,

Mr. Rajan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We have had to stay here twice now as other hotels have been fully booked, both times we had the same room, the 1st time we were there, we noticed the family room wasn't family orientated!
The mirror wasn't fixed to the wall, so we had to lay it on top of the wardrobe in case it fell on one of the little ones, the old fashioned basic chair was broken, so no one could use it, TV reception was none existent, the 2 single beds were NOT ideal for kiddies - One was against a large window - ( by the way, the view was great for anyone who doesn't mind scaffolding and other people looking in!) and the other was against a large heater, so they had to have the double bed while we had the singles.
The toilet/shower, seriously, the ones you find on a plane are bigger than this!!!!
The area is very run down, we had to keep moving the car as groups would hang around ..
On the 2nd visit (Due to family circumstances, we had no choice but to stay here as all others were full!), we got the same room .... the Mirror was still on the wardrobe where we left it a month before - including 3 large pebbles we put there and forgot about!
We decided to leave the room and go for a stroll along the beach that evening, and the stench of DRUGS was very imense, by the time we came back, this had been over powered by a strong air freshener which literally stung our eyes as we walked upstairs!

To add insult to injury, as our little ones had to have the double bed, which is higher than standards, our daughter fell out of bed that night and cut her face on the bedside unit :@

To top it off, the bed side lamps didn't work, my husband had to trek someone down to ask for a new bulb, and we had to sort it :/ And a group of drunken or drugged up people decide it would be fun to slam doors at 4.30am, while setting the smoke alarms off - Where were the owners when all this was happening????

The only good thing about this stay was leaving!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank waxycreations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger006, Manager at Sherwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

Thank you for your review and its very unfortunate that you have experienced such service and to let you know that we have taken actions needed. We were sorry for the inconvenience.

Margate is currently regenerating and hopefully it would be a better place , however, you can still enjoy the Margate & Palm bay seafront, The Turner Centre and funfair during summer. Broadstairs & Ramsgate are nice towns nearby.

We have just to point out the following :

1. Scaffolding is outside the hotel premises and theres nothing we can do with that if a neighbour wants to renovate their property, but scaffolding has now long gone.

2. We have loads of guests, we cannot control if they get drunk after clubbing and setting a fire alarm. This is a No smoking hotel, unfortunately some guest dont know how to follow rules. It was very unfortunate that it happened on the night you stayed but it doesnt happen all the time. Someone is at the hotel 24 hours if need an assistance and we advise every guest what has to be done if they have problem.

3. There are 2 mirrors on that room . One is fixed on the wall and one at top of the sink w/c was securely place. I really dont understand the mirror on the wardrobe though coz theres was no mirror on it ever since.

4. If the bedside table lamp was not working , it must be due to power trip but my housekeeper remembered you and she offered to go and put the bulb herself but your husband said he can do it and not to worry.

With regards to air freshener, someone must have overused it when they used the toilet downstairs, again not our control.but its not happening everyday. the chair at the room has been removed .

5. Our apology about the pebbles must have overlooked and with regards to toilet & shower, its standard size but i do understand if some guests prefer a huge one.

6. We are currently in the process of replacing all TVs due to digital switchover so all TVs by May 15, 2012 are working properly.

7. All beds are standard size, single or double -- 2 single room on that Family room you got is safer than Bunk beds as the 2 single Beds are place side by side (and the other single bed lean against the wall not the window) usually most family prefer this one.

Again, our apology and we tried to rectify things that we can. We wish that you talked to us about this before you left the hotel .

All the best,

Mr. Rajan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

The location of the hotel was quite run down and noisy at night time. However the hotel was clean and attractive on the inside, and the manager, Roger was almost overly friendly. The rooms were clean and functional, and there was a front lounge/reception area with a pool table. The breakfast was good though not the best I have had. The housekeeper did not speak very clear English and was rather un-charismatic. However she obviously took a pride in the cleanliness and upkeep of the hotel. For the money, I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruce_spelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Where to start!!
"Your room key/lock doesn't work very well, you have to wiggle it about a bit". It took us 3 minutes to get into our room one night.
"You'll have to run the water for a little while so the hot water gets up to the 3rd floor". Is waiting 8 minutes long enough for hot water to reach the shower or hand basin!!!
Tea & Coffee making facilities in the room but we did not have clean cups exchanged for the used ones.
Tv and lamp wired into the same mains plug.............isn't that illegal and against the fire regulations?
Ceiling light, just a bare bulb.
When the hot water FINALLY reached the 3rd floor (after wasting all of that cold water) the shower leaked like a sieve all over the shower room floor.
Only 4 dirty, partly broken hangers in the rickerty wardrobe.
The room stank all of the time.
Breakfast, it was supposed to be "Full English". We were offered: 2, 10p tiny plastic sausages, 2 rashers of bacon, an egg (fried, no choice), soggy mushrooms and EITHER baked beans or tinned tomatoes, plus a slice of toast each. We were offered a small glass of orange juice and then the jug was taken away. There was also a selection of 2 or 3 cereals and jams.
We had to pay on arrival, which ok, is "the done thing" but the "Managers" were nowhere on site, so the morning we left, there wasn't anybody there - apart from the little lady staff member who had been "looking after us" the whole time we had been at the hotel - for us to express our concerns to.
We did e-mail them on our return home and ask them to contact us so that we could discuss our "issues" (that was last Friday 13th), as yet, we have heard nothing from the managers Roger & Natasha.
So, we are afraid, the "hotel" doesn't "do what it says on the tin". Via their website, we NEVER saw the bedroom that is advertised, there wasn't a "warm, friendly, family atmosphere" awaiting us. NO "great hospitality and quality service from resident managers". They DID NOT "ensure our highest satisfaction" anf they DID NOT "make our stay pleasurable" but they certainly made it "memorable" but for all of the WRONG reasons.
Please, please, please do NOT waste your money staying at this "hotel" !!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jada5964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

I stayed for a night at this hotel with my daughter whilst visiting Winter Gardens! A lovely welcome awaits and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful! A wonderful full English breakfast freshly cooked and very delicious! I would definately recommend this hotel with its clean rooms, friendly service and lovely sea views!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazub4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews