We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but tired...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill
Ranked #8 of 13 Margate B&B and Inns
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good value but tired...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

The fading life-size effigies of the Blues Brothers unfortunately set the tone effectively. It all feels a bit tired and has seen better days. We booked a first floor room due to health issues but ended up on the fifth floor instead - when challenged, all we got was a shrug of the shoulders and a "sorry" (although they did help lug the suitcase up the stairs). The bed was uncomfortable, the lamp didn't work, the hot water didn't work in the en-suite, we had to go hunting for toilet paper and the breakfast was greasy and bland.

On the plus side, they did provide us with a portable fridge to store my wife's tablets and this was really helpful. Very good value, too. Also, it was a big improvement on the shockingly bad Tim Burton-esque Margate B&B we'd stayed in the previous year...

Someone really needs to make a decision to get rid of those Blues Brothers models at the entrance. They add nothing and make the place look tacky...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deejay66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    36
    23
    15
    28
See reviews for
23
61
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay here and I must say it really was lovely.
We were greeted at the door by a smartly dressed young man who showed us to our room and informed us of the surrounding shops, beach resturants etc.
The room was lovely very clean and homely,it had all we needed,tea, coffee, bathroom and nice comfy bed.
We woke in the morning after a really good nights sleep to a lovely breakfast which was very well cooked. The young manager there was doing a brilliant job running it all on his own.
We had a great couple of days in margate and would definitely return here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouiseHampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Turned up they charged us more when we booked it for 4 people but as everywhere was fully booked we had to stay. The guy in charge was rude and unhelpful. Bar and restaurant weren't open and everything we asked we had a one word response 'NO' beds uncomfortable and room unclean. Bad smell of damp. Seriously there's a gorgeous hotel two houses down which was like luxury and they were cheaper but sadly fully booked. I cannot express how rude the staff were apart from the young boy (no older than 13-14) who was helpful. Awful stay and feel robbed of £80!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jwildman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Margate hotels

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Went to Margate to see ChasNDave the hotel suited our needs its just a shame Margate is such a dump. The room was clean with kettle and flat screen tv, breakfast was nice too. If ever I had to go back I would rebook.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank garysnewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Fairly basic - get what you pay for I guess but could definitely do with a scrub and a friendlier atmosphere... Room was good size and bed was comfy, albeit on the verge of collapse (Room 4) but bathroom was kind of grubby and I don't think our room was cleaned while we were there because our tea cups stayed dirty all weekend. Good size breakfast and all in all was ok - nice views too!

Room Tip: Nice view Room 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HattieMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I booked a double for 2 and 2 doubles for 1 for a 1 night stay
Don't think this place has been decorated since the original blues brothers movie was released in the early 80's or cleaned in the last year.
Room 4 the curtains where hanging off there track and the bed is so old it's about to collapse my friend and his wife suffered a sleepless night and bad backs as every time they moved or turned it wobbled precariously it was apparent the bed had collapsed before and owners had done a total bodge fix to try and save it.....just replace it before it injures somebody !!
Room 9 although very dated in its decor on first impression wasn't to bad that was until I discovered what appeared to be a dirty peice of toilet paper on the bathroom floor the only towel provided which was a small hand towel seemed to be covered in dried toothpaste maybe from the last resident ? Luckily I had brought my own yuk !!that asside I found the bed to be comfy and I slept very well
Room 10 again very very dated decor my friend said she was sure the sheets had not been changed and the pillows smelled of sweat again the small hand towel looked old and used which made her feel really quite ill
We tried to contact a member of staff to get clean towels and bedding but they did not answer the bell of phone number provided on the 3 occasions we tried it ,being hungry and with the 'grill' not serving food we left to find somewhere to eat. Harder than you would think as the guesthouse although on the seafront seems to be in a very run down area of town with no shops resteraunts or bars.
The Internet promised one of the best breakfasts in town well I can tell you it certainly didnt represent the picture I see on this site ! the table wasnt cleaned well and had food smears on it where it had been wiped , all 4 of us struggled to find a clean tea cup or glass for juice as they all contained a black grit more than likely left by using a dirty dishwasher ,the continental breakfast consisted of a value yogurt and bowl of cereal as they had forgotten to by the crousonts etc and the fry up featured a deep fried sausage some undercooked bacon and tinned tomatoes
All in all bloody awful all round and we would not recommend it we would however recommend the owners
1. Sack the cleaner
2. Decorate and by some new sheets etc
3. Get a chef that knows how to cook
Very poor

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonythegod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I was booked into the Malvern Guest House by a company I was working for after a long days work in Kent.

The room was relatively small with Twin Single Beds and an en-suite. The beds themselves were quite small, but comfortable. But, the room was tidy, clean and the bathroom was also clean and of a decent size. Only trouble being that anytime someone flushed a toilet upstairs, it seemed to surge through the pipes in my bathroom!

The Veggie Breakfast was nice and tasty - though took a while to get service with only one member of staff on. But, the quality was good, and everything was nicely cooked - so Kudos to him for managing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snb70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margate hotels
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#3 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.0 mi away
Smiths Court Hotel
Smiths Court Hotel
#6 of 12 in Margate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Warwick Guest House
The Warwick Guest House
#1 of 13 in Margate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill

Property: The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill
Address: 29 Eastern Esplanade | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Malvern Guest House in Margate is a family run 3 star Guest House with licensed Bar & Blues Grill Restaurant. The grill is open from Easter until September.The Malvern is a 5 story Victorian terraced property located on the Eastern Esplanade overlooking the Oval lawns with direct Sea-views to the front of the property most rooms are En-suite. All Rooms have tea/coffee facilities, flat screen TVs with built in Free-view, Hair dryer, Iron & ironing board plus Beds with memory foam toppers for guests comfort and a good nights sleep. Guest toiletries are provided and rooms serviced daily. There is Free WI-FI throughout the property. There is ample free on street parking directly outside and opposite The Malvern Guest House.The Malvern is in a central location ideally situated for all the local beaches and attractions including Dreamland, The Turner Contemporary and The Winter Gardens. Westwood Cross shopping centre is also close by as is the towns of Ramsgate & Broadstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing