We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a dive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill
Ranked #8 of 13 Margate B&B and Inns
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a dive”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Shower covered in hairs, cracked toilet pan again dirty, room generaly taty . The convertion of the house ment the rooms can be very niosy, and when you complain to the management they claim no one else is staying at the hotel. Yes its a budjet hotel but it does not rate a three star rating

Room Tip: go some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    38
    23
    15
    29
See reviews for
23
63
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Leonards on sea
Level Contributor
125 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed here on Saturday the 2nd of June. The welcome was warm, the room was ok but in need of a spruce up and a good clean and the double bed was very small. Breakfast was also ok but nothing to rave about. We wouldn't go out of our way to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigdoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Hi, stayed a night and was thankful it wasnt longer, the bed had fleas and was itchy and I got bitten. Doors were banged all the time and there wasnt even toilet roll available. The breakfast wasnt cooked properly and was served by an obnoxious youth with an attitude problem. Avoid at all costs

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank poltergeist7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Margate hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Arrived at guest house, young lad helped carry my girlfriends bag to our room (10), good job he did as we had to climb almost 6 flights of stairs, when we got inside room or should I say the attic very disappointed as the pictures on the website made the rooms look much bigger than they were, the ensuite bathroom as they called it was very small you could literally hold both your arms out and touch it wall to wall. the sea view as they said was from a small window above the toilet of which you had to stand on a stool to look out of. The bathroom smelt musty. To top the night stays off we were woken up early hours of the morning by hearing the couple next door having sex where i guess the walls were that thin. Breakfast was okish, first time I had full english in guest house or hotel where you get cheap tinned tomatoes instead of fresh, my girlfriend made herself a mug of coffee and noticed right at the last mouthful that the bottom of the cup was dirty with remains of what looked like soup or something stuck to the bottom of the mug. Overal was very disappointing nights stay. Wont be going back to Margate in a hurry!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Daisychain467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Friendly and affordable. Amazing breakfasts, wi-fi in the room along with a TV, sink and plenty of all the usual tea and coffee all for thirty quid a night. Definitely recommend this place. I stayed on a Friday and Saturday in March when the breakfast / dining room bar wasn't open so I don't know if it might get a bit busy in high season or not.

Room Tip: Wi-fi works best in room 2 according to the staff member who booked me in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IanCosgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I stayed here for two nights at the weekend. Was welcomed in my David who carried my bags to my room. We wanted somewhere to eat in margate town as was visiting the turner center, he recommened us some places and kindly printed us of some maps. Breakfast was cooked to perfection and plenty of choice Sophia davids partner was very friendly in the morning and had plenty of time for us asked us if we slept ok and was having a nice stay. Very proffesional and hard working couple. Rooms cleaned daily and I had spilt my tea on the bed so they changed them without me even having to ask. Tea and coffee replaced daily and fresh milk and hair dryer available! Good luck with everything will be staying again. Pleasure to stay with you thanks

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kitkat-break123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We went to Margate for a short break (three nights) last week. In our opinion Malvern Guest House is really nice place, and good value for money. Our room (no 6) was cleaned daily and our coffee and tea was regularly replenished. Great breakfast too (thanks, David!). They don't pretend to be some posh hotel, so please stop moaning in your reviews. Overall, very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margate hotels
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
0.8 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.2 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Smiths Court Hotel
Smiths Court Hotel
#6 of 12 in Margate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
1.2 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#8 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill

Property: The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill
Address: 29 Eastern Esplanade | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Malvern Guest House in Margate is a family run 3 star Guest House with licensed Bar & Blues Grill Restaurant. The grill is open from Easter until September. The Malvern is a 5 story Victorian terraced property located on the Eastern Esplanade overlooking the Oval lawns with direct sea views to the front of the property; most rooms are en-suite. All rooms have tea/coffee facilities, flat screen TVs with built in Free-view, hair dryer, iron & ironing board plus beds with memory foam toppers for guests' comfort and a good night's sleep. Guest toiletries are provided and rooms serviced daily. There is free WI-FI throughout the property. There is ample free on street parking directly outside and opposite The Malvern Guest House.The Malvern is in a central location ideally situated for all the local beaches and attractions including Dreamland, The Turner Contemporary and The Winter Gardens. Westwood Cross shopping centre is also close by as are the towns of Ramsgate & Broadstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and LateRooms so you can book your The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing