We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“: ) Very inviting & friendly, lovely room & great food in the Orangery : )”
Review of Smiths Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Smiths Court Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“: ) Very inviting & friendly, lovely room & great food in the Orangery : )”
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Definitely recomended for dining in the Orangery and staying overnight. This was our second stay and once again, all the staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a large bar / lounge area where you can enjoy a relaxing drink looking out to sea and even play one of the free games left out such as scrabble, dominoes, trivial pursuit e.t.c. The hotel was very clean throughout and our room was spacious, well equiped and also overlooked the sea, which you could enjoy from the balcony. We had a party in the Orangery where the food served was of a very good standard. The breakfast was also served in the same light and open restaurant, with a varied choice and freshly cooked. Will definitely consider visting for a 3rd time!!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sian2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, General Manager at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2011
Thank you so much for your charming review. We are so glad that you enjoyed The Orangery, and I have passed your message to our chefs who are delighted.

It is great that you enjoyed the party that was held, as we try to make sure that all functions that we hold are perfect for the attendees.

We are also very happy that you enjoyed the rooms, lounge area and the sea views, as this is one of our greatest features.

We would welcome you back for a third time, and look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    123
    47
    33
    16
See reviews for
69
143
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Scruffy horrible hotel in a horrible location. stayed here with a coach party and wish i hadn't. dated horrible rooms, awful smell throughout. Abysmal food.
i had the misfortune of meeting the owner the day i left, and i can see why the staff were so miserable, what a little hitler! the way she spoke to both staff and guests is unforgivable.
horrible horrible place, run by an equally horrible woman
There were two members of staff who were very good, justin(?) the barman, and philip(?) the night porter were attentive and deserved to be in better surroundings.
the rest deserved to be where they are.
I cant stress enough how bad this place is, please never stay here for your own sake.

daniel

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank danshivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, General Manager at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2011
We are terribly sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at Smiths Court. I can only say that the hotel has changed hands from 1st February - it is now run by Ann's daughter and her fiance. Our food is almost universally praised, even by members of the same coach party that you travelled with, and the staff are generally praised by all who stay as well. We welcome your praise for Justin, and he has won awards for his great customer service in the past, and we believe that all our staff meet the standards that we expect. Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunningdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

As many reviewers suggest, the hotel is a little tired and needs a facelift, but then so does the whole of Margate. My room (though hard to locate in the rabbit warren) was adequate enough for a group rate £40 B&B, although those of my compatriots were described as 'shoeboxes'. The staff are helpful and pleasant and the excellent breakfast served in the Orangery was most welcome. If you are overnighting in Margate I would imagine this is as good a place as any!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chingachgook2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

We required a base whilst working in the area for five days. To return to Smiths Court hotel at the end of each long hard days work was a warm, homely experience.
Fantastic staff who were friendly and attentive, nothing too much trouble, Excellent food in the Orangery Restaurant and hearty
breakfast with local, tasty produce.
The bar and lounge area is a lovely place to relax in the evening with a pleasant sea view to look out on.
Bedrooms clean, warm and comfortable, we had a sea view which was lovely and just wish we had more time to sit and enjoy this busy passage to shipping.
We had no hesitation recommending this hotel to others coming down to the area this weekend and everyone who stayed with us had a great stay.
My wife and I are looking to return soon when not working to 'chill out' at Smiths Court, explore the coastline and seaside towns.
Thank you Smiths Court.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonynash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Stayed here Twice and loved it. Got on well with Staff. Food is lovely.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

I stayed at Smiths court for one night as part of a long weekend in Kent with my husband. He had to return to London to work on the Sunday so I only needed a single room for that night. Was very encouraged by the exterior and the reception area was pleasant. Staff were very nice and we had a lovely meal in their Orangery restaurant which is a beautiful room.

My bedroom, however, was so shabby and tired. I half expected a small room but the tiny single bed was on its last legs and the bedding looked very well used (although it and the towels were clean) - the bathroom was depressing - visible pipes, institutional looking floor and wall tiles, brown suite and cheap and nasty shower with mouldy grout. I felt a bit nauseous whenever I went in there.

There were cobwebs on the ceiling (which admittedly is so very high it must be hard to clean), marks on the wall, the kettle was dirty, the hairdryer didn't work and the tv remote control had thick silver tape holding the batteries in place. TV reception is very bad in the rooms but fine in reception so they must come from a different aerial. I spent the evening sitting in reception with my book, but there was a coach party in and they were making a lot of noise, so I retreated to my room at 9pm.

I could hear the guest in the next room snoring away and felt a little guilty when I got up at 6am and started bumping about getting ready. I fled at 7am, rejecting breakfast just so I could get out quicker!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericai77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Although the furniture is fairly old and some could be described as shabby, the staff were friendly, cheerful and helpful (with one exception). The bed, though small, was comfortable and our room was kept neat and clean. The Orangery is lovely and breakfasts were fine, but the one evening meal we had there was disappointing and pricey. Unfortunately there are few eateries in Cliftonville, apart from a great Thai restaurant off of Northdown Road, so we had to go into the town itself for our evening meals. Being about 2 miles from the centre of Margate, and not having a car, this meant a ride on the (luckily) frequent buses. The area behind the hotel is poor and deprived. Which is what you could say about Margate itself - depressing, with a lot of boarded up shops, cafes and restaurants. A shame. However there are new builds nearby which will hopefully improve the area in time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaD21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
0.5 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.2 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#8 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Court Hotel

Property: Smiths Court Hotel
Address: 21-27 Eastern Esplanade | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Margate
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smiths Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Edwardian hotel, with 43 rooms. A number of single, double, twin, and family rooms. Also sea-view rooms available, or executive rooms and family suites. Full disabled access to the hotel, and specifically designed disabled rooms available. Free off-street parking, and plenty of free on-street parking outside. Eat in The Orangery restaurant attached, with a great sea view and stunning marble floors. Sit in our lounge and watch the sea, have a drink or afternoon tea. At Smiths Court, the only thing we overlook is the sea... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Smiths Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiths Court Cliftonville
Smiths Court Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing