We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smiths Court Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sands Hotel(Margate)
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dalby Rooms(Margate)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Hussar Hotel(Margate)
$89
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westbrook Lodge Guest House(Margate)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Margate Westwood(Margate)(Great Value!)
$56
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Warwick Guest House(Margate)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Sherwood Hotel(Margate)(Great Value!)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveler rating
199
137
53
38
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
199
137
53
38
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewhoneymoon suitepot roastkitchen areawedding breakfastfour poster bedlarge roomwedding receptionnothing too much troublefriendly hotelgreat weekendbreakfast roomcooked breakfastlovely foodlast weekendcar parksea front
Filter
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 448 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I stay at this hotel on a regular basis as I'm often working on kent. The hotel is very welcoming, the staff are very friendly and helpful oh and not to forget the great views from the sea front rooms.

Food is lovey too in often eat there and the chef won't hesitate to offer something that may not even be in the menu. :) very happy and will Continue to keep coming to the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Danedge2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. As one of a number of semi-regular faces, we are always happy to see you staying with us. We are happy that you continue to choose us for your stays in Kent, and we are delighted that you enjoy the food, the views and the service that we offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Wow I cant rate this venue enough. Lovely rooms great service friendly staff. Our wedding was amazing and all the guests said it was the best wedding food ever. Will be visiting again. And a big thank you to abbie and tony the owners who really go above and beyond. :-D

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicknosh61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

We were delighted to share your special day, and we are delighted that you chose to spend that day in our hotel. We hope that you come back to see us again in the future, and we thank you for your personal comments about us - those kind of comments really do make everything worthwhile! Congratulations from all of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Perfect venue for the ceremony, full wedding breakfast & evening reception without all the normal hidden extras. Offers the full package within a large venue, good quality food and fantastic staff making our day fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ahsatan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

We love hosting weddings, and we are delighted that your day was fantastic. We are so privileged to be able to share a couple's special day, and we are so happy that you enjoyed that day with us. We wish you every success in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Well where do I begin, excellent from the moment we walked in. Nothing too much trouble, staff friendly and helpful at all times. The rooms are spotless with comfortable beds, a large t.v. and two comfortable chairs so you can sit and admire the lovely sea view. The bathroom was nice and modern with a lovely hot shower. The food was of a much higher standard than you would expect of a hotel of this rating, with a good choice of breakfast and an excellent evening meal in the orangery, which is beautifully decorated to a very high standard. All in all a lovely stay and we are sure our party will have a wonderful holiday. We have no worries at all about bringing them here. We have been organizing holidays for our club for twenty years and this has to be one of the best hotels we have ever used. I am sure we will be back time and time again, already looking forward to the next time. To Abbey and all her staff a great big thank you for making our stay so wonderful.

Room Tip: You only have to ask for your requirements and the staff and management will go out of their way to make sure you get what you ask for.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank williams_pamela2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel bedroom, that you found the staff friendly, and that you enjoyed the food with us. Chef is particularly happy with the comment that you found the food to be of a much higher rating than you would expect!

We look forward to welcoming your group later in the year, and then hopefully in years to come as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I have stayed in hotels of far higher standing than the Smiths Court, and many of them would do well to look here for an example of how to run a hotel. I stayed with my wife and friends for a weekend away, and throughout the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast is a buffet bar for cereal, fresh fruit and fruit salad etc. The cooked breakfast is cooked to order. Evening meals in the Orangery restaurant were fantastic, with a standard menu supplemented by daily specials. Orders for evening meals were taken in the bar, and then the party was called through when the first course was ready to be served, although we could have chosen to sit down and order if we had wished. I have to say I was impressed with the en suite kitchen, although I suspect not all rooms have this facility! It is just a shame our stay was too short to warrant it's use. I have to say I wasn't overly attracted to Margate itself, but there are plenty of other attractions within a short drive.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank barbicantrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review of the hotel. I don't think there is much better praise than holding us up as an example of how to run a hotel, and for that we thank you. We are happy that you enjoyed the breakfast and evening meal, as well as the rooms, and we hope that if you are ever in our neck of the woods again that you pop by and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews