We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely hotel...”
Review of Smiths Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Smiths Court Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a lovely hotel...”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My wife and myself needed an after Christmas break, my wife found Smiths Court hotel on line so we booked 2 nights there (9th - 11th Jan), I read the reviews and they all painted a very good picture of this lovely hotel (there was 1 review obviously written by someone who had got out of the bed the wrong side that morning).
The room was lovely and clean, spacious and quiet, it had a marvellous view of the sea just what we wanted. Food was first class served with a genuine smile, the staff were always around smiling which adds to the good all round feeling of the hotel, will defo be back sometime soon.
On the hotel website they say that "nothing is overlooked except the sea view", I couldn't have out it better myself.
Thank you for the lovely break.

Room Tip: Must choose a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Azinspud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed the room, the food and the service. We would welcome you back any time, and hope that you do come to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    125
    47
    33
    16
See reviews for
70
146
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We had our work Christmas party here on the last Saturday before Christmas x a fab time was had by all. The food was fantastic and the staff were very attentive to the whole groups needs during the meal
A great place for your Christmas party night would highly recommend :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your Christmas Party with us, and we hope that you come back next year for the same thing...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalbeattie, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This was the first time we, as a club visited this hotel for our annual T & T. We also had room 17 as did the reviewer "sparkie doll" and enjoyed the sea view. the room was warm, clean and comfortable, in fact the heating was on all through the night. The staff in this hotel were the most friendly we have come across. The food and the service in the restaurant was excellent, as was the entertainment laid on in the evening. All of our party agreed it was one of the best T & T we had been on. Would use this venue again without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the venue as part of a group, and we would look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. We are particularly pleased that you found the staff to be the most friendly you have ever come across.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Would like to start by thanking Jeremy and his team for looking after us and making use feel so welcome and doing everything we asked of them

the food was hot and served to us and without any problems

we will be looking to visit again soon

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind review - we look forward to seeing you again in the future, and we are delighted that you enjoyed the food and the service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

but some rooms are better than others. Out of season room 17 with a sea view on the top floor (there is a lift) was warm, comfortable and very welcoming. Wonderful view. For just ten pounds more worth every penny compared to room 13a which was at the back of the hotel (over the busy lounge with sing-songs till 'not too late'. The bathroom had a heavy fire door between it and the bedroom and inadequate heating in both the bedroom and bathroom but I am cold sort and it was November. Also one of those scary locked door which lead to 'who knows where?. Just worth paying a bit more is the message. We managed to park right outside for free which was great. Lots of steps up to the front door so check accessibility.
A warm welcome, lots of brochure and up to date Kent Life magazines.
Breakfast good, plenty to eat; the usual prunes, grapefruit, yoghurt, fresh fruit and cereal and a good cooked breakfast. A choice of omelette, kippers, eggs and full English. Local produce and really meaty sausages. For the price well recommended.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and go for the top floor with a sea view. Room 17 was a little smaller than 13a bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sparkiedoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Kentish breakfast during you stay.

We are sorry that you weren't a huge fan of the first room your stayed in. Room 3A is actually a family suite, so the locked door is a second bedroom which we don't open when only one couple is using the room, and the entertainment is offered when our groups stay, and generally runs until about 10.30pm. We are happy that we could offer you a sea view on the second floor, which you preferred. There is also a ramp to the rear of the hotel which is alternative access to the steps you described at the front of the hotel.

Again, thank you for your kind review, and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liss, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I would just like to say a huge thank you to Abbie, Tony, Jeremy and the whole team at The Smiths Court Hotel. Last weekend, the hotel hosted our Turkey & Tinsel Line Dance Weekender and they did us proud.

The hotel is gorgeous, well maintained and well run, our room was absolutely gorgeous. The staff are fantastic and a credit to Abbie and Tony. Nothing was too much trouble and any issues were sorted quickly without fuss. The Orangery restaurant has a lovely décor and atmosphere. The food was very good and the service was smooth and faultless.

All our guests gave the hotel rave reviews and one stated ‘the staff and hotel made our weekend’. On our feedback forms, the hotel scored a fantastic 93/100.

I personal can recommend the hotel and their team for any weekend event, wedding, family celebration or a weekend away. I have every confidence they will deliver.

Thanks once again to every at The Smiths Court.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your excellent review of our hotel. We are delighted that your group enjoyed the staff, the rooms, the food and the service. Should you ever need a similar venue in the future we would be glad to welcome your group back, or if you were travelling on your own it would be great to see you again!

Thank you again for the very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stay at Smiths court on a weekly basis whilst we are in Margate for business. It's location is excellent, with beautiful sea views and moments from the sandy beach.

The rooms are all clean, extremely comfortable and quiet, family rooms even have a kitchenette which is handy! There is ample car parking which is great during the busy season!

The staff provide a first class service and nothing is ever too much trouble, Abbie the manager is personable, efficient and ever so accommodating.

The food served is always of a high standard and the menu suits a variety of tastes, Drew, Connor and Jack are always on hand should you have any special requirements.

We enjoy our stays here so much that we also look forward to visiting for leisure too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CeriseandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hi John and Cerise,

Thanks for your kind review. We were delighted when you chose our hotel as your base, and have enjoyed hosting you weekly over the past months. We are delighted that you have continued to use us, and your comments about the food and the staff are very kind..

We always look forward to your arrival, and hope that you will continue to use us well into the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margate hotels
0.3 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
501 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
356 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
1.2 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#8 of 12 in Margate
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Court Hotel

Property: Smiths Court Hotel
Address: 21-27 Eastern Esplanade | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Margate
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smiths Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Edwardian hotel, with 43 rooms. A number of single, double, twin, and family rooms. Also sea-view rooms available, or executive rooms and family suites. Full disabled access to the hotel, and specifically designed disabled rooms available. Free off-street parking, and plenty of free on-street parking outside. Eat in The Orangery restaurant attached, with a great sea view and stunning marble floors. Sit in our lounge and watch the sea, have a drink or afternoon tea. At Smiths Court, the only thing we overlook is the sea... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Smiths Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiths Court Cliftonville
Smiths Court Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing