We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Margate Soul Weekender!X!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Smiths Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Smiths Court Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Margate Soul Weekender!X!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Smiths Court came as a recommendation from the organisers of the Margate Soul Weekender (annual soul music festival). The hotel was a good choice and provides all the necessities that a three star hotel should provide. With suitcases, it was much easier to order a taxi to and from the hotel and the fare was very reasonable. We stayed for 2 nights bed and breakfast. The first morning's breakfast was a little overcooked, therefore when ordering the second morning's breakfast, I mentioned to the waitress what I hadn't enjoyed about the previous day's breakfast preparation. The 2nd day's breakfast that was then presented was lovely! My preferences were met. The room was very clean. Our room faced the back of the hotel so unfortunately we didn't have a sea view. But that didn't bother us greatly.The walk into the creative quarter and trendier part of town was a mixed bag of wonderful, large, well kept Victorian buildings and gorgeous sea front. However there were more rundown pockets along the route into town that we hope the local council will invest in to raise the profile of what could be a really nice short break destination for couples and families. The staff at Smiths Court were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay again next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dhvb2057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel. We understand your comments about the walk into Margate's Old Town, and we are hoping the the regeneration of Margate will continue up through Cliftonville. We are delighted that you would stay with us again next year, and we hope that you book with us! Maybe next time you will get a sea view as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    122
    46
    33
    16
See reviews for
68
141
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Having looked around Margate during our stay this hotel was a good choice. It was clean had a decent bar & lounge area, small terace which was nice on the hot evenings. Our room had a good sea view, en-suite and a four poster bed. The room was recently decorated so was in good order also quite large. Could have done with some cooling, even if just a cieling fan.
Staff were very pleasant. There is also a new looking restaurant although we only had breakfast in it. Breakfast was usual choice of cerial, yogurt etc and full english or variations cooked to order.

Room Tip: Second floor sea facing room with balcony is pleasant - did not see other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stroler551a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed breakfast and found the staff very helpful, and although we apologise that the room was a little warm, it was because of the heatwave we were enjoying in the Summer - and we never like to complain about the sun!

Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Smiths Court is a smallish hotel near to the beach in Cliftonville near Margate. With a suitcase it takes about 40 minutes to get from the station to the hotel. The hotel itself is accessed via a steep set of stairs from the street. The reception area is ok, there were weddings when we were there and it was quite crowded but ok. We stayed in two rooms, one with a sea view and one without. The sea view room was a bit small; given the choice I would probably have settled for the other one which was bigger but looked out over the back of the hotel.

The rooms are basic; kettle and tea/coffee is provided. Televisons have freeview, but there is no wifi and no fridges. One room had a bath, the other a shower only. It was clean, everyone seemed very friendly and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Sea view and small versus non sea view and bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edpurs999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are delighted that you would stay again and that you found the staff friendly.

You are right that the steps at the front of the hotel are a little steep, but we do offer a choice of two ramps to access the hotel at the rear of the hotel. We also offer free wifi in the public areas of the hotel, which we should have mentioned to you during the stay, and I apologise if this wasn't made clear.

We hope that you come back to see us if you're back down in Margate, and would look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I sayed here on 12th July 2013 just for one night as we were seeing a show in the Winter Gardens. It was a late booking but we had a lovely room with en-suite. The room was beautifully clean as was the en-suite. The receptionist (Tina) when we booked in was very welcoming nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice, the dinning room was exceptionally clean and served well. Parking is also available, I would recommend this hotel to anyone as it is close to most places of interest and the all staff are very helpful!

Room Tip: As we had a loate booking we did not get a room facing the sea but this can be requested if you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeanette7UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel. We have mentioned to Tina that you found her very helpful. We are delighted that you found everything to your satisfaction, including the room and breakfast.

We hope you can come back soon, and next time book early to get a sea view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, East Midlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed in a group of 11 friends who joined a coach tour from the East Midlands in June 2013.
Margate would not have been our first choice of venue as we had stayed in Margate some time ago and the town seemed rather run down. Things are much better now and we were pleasantly surprised by the improvement.
A bigger surprise was the high standard of the Smiths Court Hotel.
We were made very welcome by the friendly and efficient staff and directed to our room on the 3rd floor. This had an impressive sea view and the lift was right opposite the room. Everywhere was clean and the room was well equipped - even an ironing board and iron.
Food was of a very high standard indeed and produced locally where possible.
Breakfast was taken from an extensive buffet of cooked and uncooked food.
We particularly liked the sausages!
The three course evening meal was at a set time and was ordered at breakfast time from an
extensive and high class menu giving at least three options for each course.
We could not fault the hotel staff in any respect.
Musical entertainment was laid on for 3 of our 4 evenings.
One of the acts was not as good as the others but we still had a good evening.
All in all, a superb holiday hotel and extremely good value.

Room Tip: The top floor is quietest and a sea view is preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank olddraffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel. We are delighted that you found everything to your tastes at the hotel, and that you couldn't fault the hotel or the staff at all. We are glad you enjoyed the food - especially the butchers' sausages at breakfast, and that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the rooms and your sea view! We are also glad that you found Margate to be improving.

We thank you again for your kind words, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

stayed from 17th to 21st june on a coach holiday greeted by staff on arrival cases taken to room the food was good on some nights but par on others but staff were happy to oblige on service so was always changed if necessary plenty of choice to eat and always full and staff were superb so rooms were good one a little dated and difficult to use shower as fixed screen the orangery room is fantastic very beautiful room i would definetaly stay again and recommend to friend and carers xx

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bridgett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel as part of your group visit. We are happy that you enjoyed The Orangery, and that you found the staff friendly and the food good.

We hope to see you and your group again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the weekend 22/06/13, it was lovely ,rooms clean and well stocked with tea and coffee, staff helpful and friendly nothing was too much trouble. The hotel bar was open well into the early hours and the Full English Breakfast very tasty.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helena1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast, and found the staff helpful. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
0.5 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#3 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
1.2 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#8 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Court Hotel

Property: Smiths Court Hotel
Address: 21-27 Eastern Esplanade | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Margate
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smiths Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Edwardian hotel, with 43 rooms. A number of single, double, twin, and family rooms. Also sea-view rooms available, or executive rooms and family suites. Full disabled access to the hotel, and specifically designed disabled rooms available. Free off-street parking, and plenty of free on-street parking outside. Eat in The Orangery restaurant attached, with a great sea view and stunning marble floors. Sit in our lounge and watch the sea, have a drink or afternoon tea. At Smiths Court, the only thing we overlook is the sea... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Smiths Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiths Court Cliftonville
Smiths Court Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing