We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th Birthday”
Review of Smiths Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smiths Court Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We held a family lunch here to celebrate my fiftieth birthday - the hotel was catering for 30 people. The food and the service were exceptional. A very big thank you to everyone at Smiths for making the day memorable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank carol_cada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your food and your 50th birthday celebrations with us. Thank you for your kind words, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 416 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had long wanted to stay at this hotel but every time we tried to get in it was full, so when we managed to get a room we were really pleased. The staff were very friendly on reception, however, or room was nothing like the photographs on the website. I could have cried, the bathroom had black mould around the bath. I was so disappointed that despite the fact we knew we would loose the cost of the room we booked into another hotel. I certainly will not go there again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Bev L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are so disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and especially that when you left us you mentioned that you had been double booked into another hotel by parents, and that you would have to leave because of the mix up.
After your comments we reviewed the room that you stayed in - a larger double room on the back of the hotel - and could find no mould in the bathroom. However, we have undertaken to redecorate this room to avoid any confusion in the future.

It is such a shame that you didn't mention that you were not happy with your room, as there were other rooms available for you that we could have showed you. As I have said, we were of the understanding that you already had another booking in a different hotel made by your family, and that everything was fine, as this was relayed by you to our receptionist.

Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Arrived to a friendly welcome and smart looking lounge area. After checking in simple and direct room directions were given. We had been up graded to a room with a balcony and a four poster , the bed was heaven ,even the bedding smelling beautifully. The room was spotless and spacious and very comfortable with a good sized en suite (shower). All the staff we came across were welcoming, approachable and friendly. The cooked breakfast was hot and delicious .
One little pointer perhaps would be to keep the balcony clean ( i know its hard with the weather in this country) we were worried about the carpet in the room getting filthy from the built up moss and general winter grime which was on the balcony , we asked for a mat or old towel to place on the floor so as not to stain the carpet , housekeeping quickly provided a couple ( thank you).
We would stay here again and recommend room 9 , lovely sea view , take binoculars if you enjoy watching the ships.

Room Tip: It's well worth paying the very little extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SMHRainhamuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed our Honeymoon suite, and that you found the staff friendly, the lounge smart-looking, the breakfast delicious, and the room spotless. We have taken on your comments regarding the balcony, and will keep this cleaner in future as you suggest.

We would welcome you back at any time, and are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and the fabulous sea views that we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had my 40th Birthday here on 29th December 12 and chose the Hog Roast as our option to feed the guests. We couldn't fault the help given by all the staff at the Hotel and found it the perfect choice to hold the party. The only slight disappointment was the noise limiter in the dance area. This may have been fine for a disco but we had live music with a vocalist singing a range of songs who had to hold back on most of his choice of songs. From what I've been told following the evening everyone had a most enjoyable time. A couple of guests used the facilities for an evening stay as they lived a fair distance away and with the small percentage the hotel gave them made it a great benefit. Will consider the venue again and will definitely venture up there for a Sunday roast. Thanks

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jayson b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We were delighted that you chose us to host your 40th birthday, and that you enjoyed the venue, the party and the food, and that you found our staff helpful. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the noise limiter, but as with the majority of venues with residential areas close by, we are obliged to use this for all music in line with Council regulations. Other bands have used these before in the past without any problems, so we are sorry that your band felt restricted.

We look forward to welcoming you for a Sunday roast, as you suggest, or at any other time or for any other function... Thank you again for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Another great Christmas party....again! Made to feel welcome and food was good. Those that booked hotel rooms for the night were more than happy. Abbi thank you again you again for another great night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karenRamsgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are happy that you felt welcomed and that the food was good for your Christmas party. We look forward to seeing you all again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Dear Abbie,
Once again we had a great time at your Christmas Party. Food was excellent, disco grand and the staff, as always attentive and polite.
Our room also was lovely, shame we didn't spend more time in it! I think this was our 6th or possibly 7th year, so expect us again next year....... will reserve room 4C again and start early with a room party!

Room Tip: Room 4C overlooks the sea - it has a kitchenette, sofa, chair, desk and table and chairs, with still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your kind words about our Christmas parties. We are so happy that you enjoyed the staff, the food and the disco, and that you enjoyed one of our executive rooms - 4C. We are happy to host you every year, and look forward to welcoming you back with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This hotel is the hidden gem in margate. We stayed here while we were in Margate for a couple of days, and we will be coming back. Our room was big with a nice comfy bed, it looked like a new big tv in the room. We ate in the orangery restaurant, a nice mix of food on the menu. The staff are very friendly and are keen to make sure everything is just right. The lady on reception (I think she was called Di,) was a great help when we needed to know how to get to a few places for a day out. The breakfasts were awesome. All in all this was a great hotel, and we recommend anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: It seemed that there were a lot of rooms with great sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Duncan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Thank you so much for you kind review of our hotel, and the description of us as a 'hidden gem'. We are delighted that you found the restaurant, the breakfast, the staff and the room enjoyable, and we are very pleased that you took advantage of the local knowledge that our receptionists can offer.

If ever you are back in Margate we would welcome you back, and would like to thank you again for your very nice words about the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
0.3 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#3 of 12 in Margate
375 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
0.2 mi away
Sherwood Hotel
Sherwood Hotel
#7 of 12 in Margate
82 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Court Hotel

Address: 21-27 Eastern Esplanade | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Margate
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Margate
Price Range: $63 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smiths Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Edwardian hotel, with 43 rooms. A number of single, double, twin, and family rooms. Also sea-view rooms available, or executive rooms and family suites. Full disabled access to the hotel, and specifically designed disabled rooms available. Free off-street parking, and plenty of free on-street parking outside. Eat in The Orangery restaurant attached, with a great sea view and stunning marble floors. Sit in our lounge and watch the sea, have a drink or afternoon tea. At Smiths Court, the only thing we overlook is the sea... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Smiths Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiths Court Cliftonville
Smiths Court Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing