We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Smiths Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smiths Court Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Decoration and aspect of room very poor, dated. Not worth £87.00 for one night. En-suite facility dated, shower very difficult to use. Entrance lobby smelt of cigarette smoke. Staff not very welcoming. Access arrangement to bedroom limited to a single passenger lift of dubious quality. Breakfast at best average. Would not stay their again and do not recommend

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank me_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, General Manager at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel, although we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with is. We apologise that you didn't find the staff welcoming, as many other reviews mention how helpful and friendly the staff are.

We are also sorry that you didn't enjoy the breakfast, as we only offer the finest, freshest local ingredients, including sausages and bacon fresh from the Butcher of Brogdale in Faversham, eggs and mushrooms from Nash Farm in margate, kippers from Fruits de Mer in Broadstairs. Most guests enjoy the range of cereals and cooked breakfast items, so we are sorry that you didn't enjoy them.

We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay in the room or the hotel. We are an Edwardian building, and all our rooms are slightly different shapes and sizes, and we are trying our best to improve them all over time. All our rooms are accessible by lift or stairs, and not purely by the lift which we limit to four persons. Unfortunately, we have no space in the hotel to add a second lift, but haven't found that there has been any demand for more than the one lift.

We also apologise for the cigarette smoke smell. Unfortunately, some guests do choose to smoke outside the front of the hotel, and this is most probably why you could smell the cigarette smoke by the front door.

Once again, please allow me to apologise for the fact that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Margate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
There are newer reviews for Smiths Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 413 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had our wedding here in January 2012, and it was perfect! From the very beginning when we went to view the hotel, we immediate loved the atmosphere and the rooms, and knew it was the place for us.

We obviously stayed in the Honeymoon suite, which was lovely, couldnt fault it. We had a sea view, modern en suite, comfy four poster bed and lots of space for me to get ready!

We had our ceremony in The Orangery, which is a beautiful light and airy room - perfect for such an occasion. We then moved into a bigger room for our meal and disco/buffet. The room was laid out beautifully, and the food was amazing!

There is a lovely green opposite the hotel where we went to take some wedding photos (was a lovely sunny day despite being January!). And when we walked back over to hotel, we noticed they'd put a banner on the wall congratulating us!! Lovely little touch that was one of my highlights!

The staff were also very helpful. And Abbie, who organised everything for us, was brilliant. Excellent communication, and made me feel calm knowing that everything was under control!

All in all, we had the best wedding day, which we are largely thankful to Smiths Court for! We knew we wouldnt be disappointed, but they really did go above and beyond to make our day as special as it should be! And we're going to try and go back there next year for our anniversary! :-)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsbee85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review of the hotel and your wedding. We love hosting weddings, and are so happy when people enjoy their best day with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed The Orangery for your ceremony, and we love how it looks when hosting a ceremony...

We are glad you enjoyed the food, and found the staff helpful. Abbie also thanks you for your kind words, as she really puts in great effort to make sure that our wedding couples truly have nothing to worry about...

We are delighted that you are thinking about coming back for your anniversary, and we would love to see you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed in one of the basement rooms that enable you to take a dog. Both entrances to the room - inner staircase and front entrance from the patio were grotty and a sign of what was to come. The room decor is seriously tired and it was stuffed with odd furniture. The bed mattresses were many years old with pillows that didn't bear thinking about. Fridge contained a previous occupant's takeaway hamburger. Shower room grotty with grout that had turned brown in large patches. No loo roll. Breakfast service was good but the quality of the food not so - the sausages are of really low quality.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank charlieksays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are sorry that your experiences in our lower ground rooms didn't meet your expectations, and we can only apologise that you did not enjoy your stay. We use our lower ground rooms as pet-friendly rooms as they have their own dedicated access to the outside of the hotel.

We are continuously reviewing and revamping our rooms, although this is a gradual process. The inner staircase will be re-decorated with a new carpet by the end of the month, and we have moved some furniture around and updated a lot of bedding to make the room more appealing.

We apologise for the lace of cleanliness of the room, and have mentioned about the lack of loo roll and the full fridge to the housekeeper, who has trained her staff to be more thorough in the future, although I appreciate that this doesn't help your stay.

Finally, I must say that all the food on our breakfast is fresh, local produce, and our meat is from a Kentish butcher. The sausages are pork, and all the pork is fruit-fed. They are some of the finest sausages in Kent, in our opinion, so we are sorry that you didn't enjoy them.

Thank you again for your review of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I attended my brothers wedding yesterday.i am very critical but the service was first class and the food was to die for !!! Nothing to to much trouble .i popped into my parents room on the ground floor.it was a little dated by a lovely big room,with everything you need.thank you to everyone who made my brother and his wife's day special .

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Janders12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for your glowing review of the hotel, and our wedding package! We are delighted that you loved the food and the service. We love hosting weddings, and try to make the day as special as possible. We are glad that you felt that we succeeded.

We hope to see you, your brother and his new wife again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

After getting tickets to see Blur at the Winter Gardens the next challenge was to find somewhere to rest our heads. I'm so pleased we avoided the B&Bs and booked into Smiths Court. Our welcome was so warm and friendly we knew it was going to be a great stay. Our room was nicely decorated with a lovely big comfy bed, feather duvet and pillows. Bathroom was small, but clean and again well decorated.

When we got back to the hotel we sat at the hotel bar into the wee hours chatting to the barman who seemed in no rush to get rid of us. Unfortunately due to this fact we missed breakfast, but I am sure it would have been great.

I am bery happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucyanika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for your lovely view of the hotel. Many guests stayed to see Blur, and all seemed to have a good time at the Winter Gardens and also at the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the cleanliness and decor of the room, and that you found all our staff friendly and welcoming.

We would welcome you back any time you come back to the area, and hope to see you again soon - maybe this time you can sample our breakfast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Booked a double room here a week ago for £87. When we arrived found the general interior tatty and the receptionist lacking in friendliness. Our room was on the ground floor and very small. This room really should have been a lot smarter, bigger and with better facilities for the rates your expected to pay. Our window looked out to to rear of the hotel and overlooked an excrement covered roof and the hotels poorly maintained exterior. Twice during the night we were woken by loud banging from below, I presume this was something to do with the heating system. When we notified reception we were told "thanks for letting us know we'll let the maintenance man know" no apology etc.. I'm sure they are aware of this problem and should not place guests in this room until the banging is sorted! All in all a regrettable sleepless stay won't be visiting again!! Shame really because Margate and the local economy needs all the help it can get, if this hotel is anything to go buy I'm not surprised!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ranoutofoptions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are glad to say that the new paintwork in the lounge and the new sofas are a great hit with most visitors, and the new carpet will be laid this month. Unfortunately we had to carry out the improvements in stages. Most of our reviews here mention the friendliness of our staff, so we apologise that this didn't come across to you during your stay. We have mentioned this to our reception staff during the ongoing training provided.

Unfortunately we had no prior knowledge of the 'banging pipes' so we thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are also sorry that this impacted on your sleep and your stay, and can only apologise that our staff didn't apologise in person. Our policy is always to try and rectify any problems that our guests may have, but this obviously didn't happen in this case, so allow me to apologise again.

Once again, we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night at end of July because we could not find relevant accomodation in Canterbury. Pleasantly surprised. Location on outskirts of Margate centre suited us as we did not need to be near the centre. Triple room with lovely sea view, very clean, television did not work initially but housekeeping sorted it straight away.Self serve breakfast ample. Pleasant staff

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have a much pleasanter outlook
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, General Manager at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you found the staff pleasant, and that you enjoyed the sea view! We are happy that the housekeeping team fixed the small problem you had with the new television, and we are glad that you found the room very clean.

Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margate hotels
0.3 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
530 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
370 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
0.2 mi away
Sherwood Hotel
Sherwood Hotel
#7 of 12 in Margate
80 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Court Hotel

Address: 21-27 Eastern Esplanade | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Margate
#2 Family Hotel in Margate
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Margate
Price Range: $65 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smiths Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Edwardian hotel, with 43 rooms. A number of single, double, twin, and family rooms. Also sea-view rooms available, or executive rooms and family suites. Full disabled access to the hotel, and specifically designed disabled rooms available. Free off-street parking, and plenty of free on-street parking outside. Eat in The Orangery restaurant attached, with a great sea view and stunning marble floors. Sit in our lounge and watch the sea, have a drink or afternoon tea. At Smiths Court, the only thing we overlook is the sea... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Smiths Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiths Court Cliftonville
Smiths Court Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing