We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WELL COURT !”
Review of Smiths Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Smiths Court Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Just returned from 3-day break in Margate, principally to view Turner Ex. Well pleased with our decision to use this hotel. Helpful and efficient check-in, sizeable car-park, lift to room on 2nd. floor and more-than-pleased that my request to have a sea-view was confirmed. If Cat-Swinging was an Olympic event, then our room at Smiths Court would not appear on the winners rostrum too often, but it was respectably clean with decent wardrobe and OK shower-room. Dodgy TV though, as someone else has already remarked, although receives SKY downstairs in most comfortable lounge,but we weren't there for that. Down for breakfast taken in the Orangery which is a really lovely bright spacious room, with comfortable modern furniture,perfect, I guess, for receptions etc . Plenty of choice, well cooked if required and served by most pleasant young man as indeed were all the staff. Can't comment on dinner as we ate out with friends in Canterbury but dinner menu looked good.as did lunch. Would most certainly return to the hotel, alas Margate town doesn't appeal unless another exhibition was to be held there. Thanks Smith's Court..

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesW17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, General Manager at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Thank you for your review of Smiths Court Hotel. As you quite rightly say, we are a close walk to the Turner Centre, so become a great venue for anyone looking to visit the new exhibitions. Your comments about the TVs are valid, and we are replacing all TVs in the building for the digital switchover, which is happening this month! We are glad you found the bedroom clean and enjoyed the sea-view. I am also glad that you enjoyed the breakfast.

We would welcome you back any time - maybe now that Tracey Emin has started her exhibition at the Turner Contemporary, you might wish to come back to stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 431 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2012

I took a party of 42 (32 with learning difficulties) away for a long weekend. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, they coped well with our guests who sometimes have unusual or unnecessary requests. Our guests were always treated with respect (which doesn't always happen!). The food was fantastic, properly cooked, no microving here, food presentation was also really nice and a good choice on the menu. Due to the size of the party we had a range of rooms, some were fantastic, more like suites with living room and kitchen, others were smaller, but given the age of the building, this is to be expected. All the rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. Entertainment was provided for our guests which they really enjoyed. I thoroughly reccommend this hoel for a group like ours.

Room Tip: They have such a range of rooms - speak to them to discuss your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank La1ney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, General Manager at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Thank you so very much for your kind words in the review. Your group were an absolute delight, and we would welcome you back again year after year. We are very pleased that the staff were good with you, and the number of staff members that were raving about how much fun your group were means that the enjoyment was shared.

You were one of the first groups to visit tasting the food of our new head chef, and we are delighted that you found it to be a good choice and great presentation...

The comment forms your group filled in echo your kind words here, and as I said earlier, you would be more than welcome to come back again and again. I know that Dan and Jane are looking forward to more dances!

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Nice family run hotel, very helpful. One wheelchair accessible room / wet room. Be aware door width under 1100cm.
Easy access all around considering the age of the building.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leahfinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, General Manager at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Thank you for your positive review of the hotel. As a member of the family is in a wheelchair, we have tried to make the hotel completely accessible, and we are pleased that you found this to be the case. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again if you are back in Margate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The hotel were very accommodating of our last minute booking for a breakfast event. The staff have been fantastic and I look forward to visiting them again. Also gave us sea view rooms at no extra cost.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dkkendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, General Manager at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

We are so glad that you enjoyed your event, and we were happy to host you. We are delighted that you found our staff fantastic, and we have passed on your praise to them.

Thank you once again, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

stayed for a couple of days, could not wish for a better welcome, very friendly. rooms however require TLC - could not fault the meals, brilliant for the price, staff very attentive.

unfortunately Margate is very run down - had to watch where we walked on the paths as full of dog mess.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bears018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, General Manager at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. As I have mentioned previously, Margate is up and coming, and with the Turner Contemporary and the regenerated Old Town, there is more to do than ever before, although we are pushing for Margate to be the best that it can be.

We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel itself, the meals, value for money and the staff. We are refurbishing all the rooms as an ongoing project, and although this takes time, is rewarding and exciting.

Thank you again for your lovely review, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Have just come back from a 2 day stay (friday and saturday nights). First impression was not good as the hotel is in a rather run down area on the outskirts of Margate, the receptionist was not the most welcoming and our room was small to say the least. I am please to say that was about as bad as it got. The rest of the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, the hotel was lovely and clean and very warm, the food was of exceptional quality and car parking was available on site or free in the accompanying side streets or opposite the hotel. Their Orangery Restaurant was a fantastic location to have an evening meal with a lovely view out to sea. Most pleasant even though it was mid-February. The portions of food were also extremely good. This hotel is worth a try but as I have said look beyond the location.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BGTHALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, General Manager at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed the food and the friendliness of the staff. We pride ourselves on both, and are glad that you were happy with both! Margate is slowly improving, with the Turner Contemporary worth a visit, the regenerated Old Town now well worth a stroll, and with a number of other attractions throughout (Tom Thumb theatre, Thearte Royal, Shell Grotto to name a few).

We apologise that you weren't welcomed as we expect, and we have discussed this with the reception team. We hope to welcome you and your group back to the hotel in the future, and thank you again for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Disappointing-we booked 2 nights for an 'executive room' with sea view 5B (£100 per night). The room was very basic and jaded-I guess executive means the added kitchen (not described on the web-site). We had breakfast on the first morning but hardly any food left at 9.00am and poor quality. The waitress attempted to remove toast from the plates as we had ordered toast separately! Friendly receptionist gave us a discount when we raised these issues.
Went to the Harbour cafe on the seafront instead for breakfast-fresh, tasty food and great coffee.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, General Manager at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

We are very sorry that you were disappointed by your stay with us in the hotel. Some of our rooms have kitchens, whether executive or not, but the four-poster bed and the sea-view are reasons for your room to be classed as an executive. We are also sorry that you didn't enjoy the breakfast, as we are working hard to ensure that all our guests enjoy our breakfast offering, and our comments are generally strong in this area.

Again, we apologise that you didn't have as enjoyable stay as you would have liked, and should you return to us in the future, we sincerely hope that you experience the great standards that we are attempting to offer at all times. We hope that you do give us another try soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
0.3 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
554 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
389 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
0.8 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
790 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Court Hotel

Address: 21-27 Eastern Esplanade | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Margate
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Margate
Price Range: $67 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smiths Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Edwardian hotel, with 43 rooms. A number of single, double, twin, and family rooms. Also sea-view rooms available, or executive rooms and family suites. Full disabled access to the hotel, and specifically designed disabled rooms available. Free off-street parking, and plenty of free on-street parking outside. Eat in The Orangery restaurant attached, with a great sea view and stunning marble floors. Sit in our lounge and watch the sea, have a drink or afternoon tea. At Smiths Court, the only thing we overlook is the sea... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Smiths Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiths Court Cliftonville
Smiths Court Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing