We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad hotel but not a good area”
Review of Smiths Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Smiths Court Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not a bad hotel but not a good area”
Reviewed April 2, 2011

When searching for a hotel in Margate the Smiths Court looked the best out of a very bad bunch. The hotel was clean but the corridors and rooms were a little tired and dated. The downstairs was better; there were comfy chairs with a bar and a very nice orangery to eat in for either dinner or breakfast. The breakfast was very nice and plentiful; the staff were very friendly and the fact that we were able to have a drink in the bar on our return from a night out was great. Good hotel if you are going to a gig at the Winter Gardens as you can walk there from this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westmalling66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, General Manager at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2011
Thank you very much for the review. We are pleased that you enjoyed The Orangery restaurant attached to the hotel, as we are working hard to make this a fine dining venue. We are also pleased that you enjoyed staying here after the Winter Gardens, as we are keen to share our theatre package. We are about 10 minutes walk away from the Winter Gardens, and an additional 5 minutes from the new Turner Contemporary.

We are hoping that the area is improving on a weekly basis, and the area is slowly improving. We like to think that for anyone visiting the Old Town of Margate, The Winter Gardens, or Turner Contemporary, we are perfectly placed.

We appreciate the time you have taken to give us feedback, so thank you very much indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    124
    47
    33
    16
See reviews for
70
144
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2011

On 19/3/2011 at 3.00pm i got married and every bride dreams of her perfect day and smiths court made that happen by being on hand on the run up to the wedding to change a few things, like we all have fussy eaters and they accomadated with no hesitation. I had the bridal room from 11.00am and could watch my day progress and did'nt have to worry about being there on time. The food was excellent and there was plenty on the plate and the buffet was excellent and the staff could not have done any more for us.I would recommend Smiths Court to furture brides and grooms and have the perfect day i had thank-you Smiths Court.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentTrimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, General Manager at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2011
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your special day with us. We have worked hard to make sure that we can provide anything required, and to ensure that the bride and groom feel like they have a smooth day, and we are glad that this was how you felt with us. It makes the job worthwhile when we see how happy our wedding couples are.

Thank you so much for your positive feedback, we have passed it on to the staff, and will continue to work hard to maintain our high standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

We have atayed at Smith's Court on two occasssion now.The first was pot luck from the internet.And what a suprise to find this gem in Margate. Excellent location 10 mins walk to centre and 2 mins to the beach.Our second stay was due to their wonderful chef.! All home made, local produce. A well thought out menu. We had diner, bed and breakfast each time and could not fault a thing. . and very staff helpful too.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NightsAway88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, General Manager at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2011
Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased that you find the staff helpful, as we are keen to provide excellent customer service. We are also very happy that you enjoyed eating in The Orangery restaurant, and it's great that you liked our local, fresh produce and menu choices. To let you know, we have recently launched our Spring menus.

Please feel free to follow the hotel (Smiths Court Hotel) or The Orangery Restaurant (The Orangery) on facebook for the latest deals and menus, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

I have shared your review with our staff, and they and I thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Definitely recomended for dining in the Orangery and staying overnight. This was our second stay and once again, all the staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a large bar / lounge area where you can enjoy a relaxing drink looking out to sea and even play one of the free games left out such as scrabble, dominoes, trivial pursuit e.t.c. The hotel was very clean throughout and our room was spacious, well equiped and also overlooked the sea, which you could enjoy from the balcony. We had a party in the Orangery where the food served was of a very good standard. The breakfast was also served in the same light and open restaurant, with a varied choice and freshly cooked. Will definitely consider visting for a 3rd time!!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sian2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, General Manager at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2011
Thank you so much for your charming review. We are so glad that you enjoyed The Orangery, and I have passed your message to our chefs who are delighted.

It is great that you enjoyed the party that was held, as we try to make sure that all functions that we hold are perfect for the attendees.

We are also very happy that you enjoyed the rooms, lounge area and the sea views, as this is one of our greatest features.

We would welcome you back for a third time, and look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Scruffy horrible hotel in a horrible location. stayed here with a coach party and wish i hadn't. dated horrible rooms, awful smell throughout. Abysmal food.
i had the misfortune of meeting the owner the day i left, and i can see why the staff were so miserable, what a little hitler! the way she spoke to both staff and guests is unforgivable.
horrible horrible place, run by an equally horrible woman
There were two members of staff who were very good, justin(?) the barman, and philip(?) the night porter were attentive and deserved to be in better surroundings.
the rest deserved to be where they are.
I cant stress enough how bad this place is, please never stay here for your own sake.

daniel

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank danshivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBurton, General Manager at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2011
We are terribly sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at Smiths Court. I can only say that the hotel has changed hands from 1st February - it is now run by Ann's daughter and her fiance. Our food is almost universally praised, even by members of the same coach party that you travelled with, and the staff are generally praised by all who stay as well. We welcome your praise for Justin, and he has won awards for his great customer service in the past, and we believe that all our staff meet the standards that we expect. Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunningdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

As many reviewers suggest, the hotel is a little tired and needs a facelift, but then so does the whole of Margate. My room (though hard to locate in the rabbit warren) was adequate enough for a group rate £40 B&B, although those of my compatriots were described as 'shoeboxes'. The staff are helpful and pleasant and the excellent breakfast served in the Orangery was most welcome. If you are overnighting in Margate I would imagine this is as good a place as any!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chingachgook2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

We required a base whilst working in the area for five days. To return to Smiths Court hotel at the end of each long hard days work was a warm, homely experience.
Fantastic staff who were friendly and attentive, nothing too much trouble, Excellent food in the Orangery Restaurant and hearty
breakfast with local, tasty produce.
The bar and lounge area is a lovely place to relax in the evening with a pleasant sea view to look out on.
Bedrooms clean, warm and comfortable, we had a sea view which was lovely and just wish we had more time to sit and enjoy this busy passage to shipping.
We had no hesitation recommending this hotel to others coming down to the area this weekend and everyone who stayed with us had a great stay.
My wife and I are looking to return soon when not working to 'chill out' at Smiths Court, explore the coastline and seaside towns.
Thank you Smiths Court.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonynash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margate hotels
0.3 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
493 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
685 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
0.2 mi away
Sherwood Hotel
Sherwood Hotel
#7 of 12 in Margate
73 reviews
1.2 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#8 of 12 in Margate
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Court Hotel

Property: Smiths Court Hotel
Address: 21-27 Eastern Esplanade | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Margate
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smiths Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Edwardian hotel, with 43 rooms. A number of single, double, twin, and family rooms. Also sea-view rooms available, or executive rooms and family suites. Full disabled access to the hotel, and specifically designed disabled rooms available. Free off-street parking, and plenty of free on-street parking outside. Eat in The Orangery restaurant attached, with a great sea view and stunning marble floors. Sit in our lounge and watch the sea, have a drink or afternoon tea. At Smiths Court, the only thing we overlook is the sea... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Smiths Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiths Court Cliftonville
Smiths Court Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing