We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sharon is a gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Margate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bear Guest House
Ranked #5 of 13 Margate B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Sharon is a gem”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Myself and my 12 year old son stayed here for one night. I must admit when I first went in i was a bit unsure. It is very different from any B&B I've stayed in before but by the time we left I realised this was a good thing. It has personality. If you want bland cream walls and no atmosphere stay at a premier inn but if you want a bit of quirkiness and fun then stay here. The B&B isn't the only thing with personality which you'll realise when you meet Sharon. She is funny. My son really liked her cos he said she reminded him of his nan. She is honest and straight forward and funny with it. I got the feeling that nothing was too much trouble. She even let us leave our bags with her for the day after we checked out so we could enjoy a few more rays on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sasha-Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
13
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

The landlady was very kind and socialable, Sharon looks after us very well and made us very welcome. The breakfast was a very large full English with all the trimmings. The place is located over looking the sea with some great views. The room was tidy and had a lot of character, the beds were comfy and the shower hot and powerful. The halls are adorned with pictures and ornaments which keeps you occupied as you go to your rooms. The facilities are clean with plenty on the Walls to keep you there a while.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank olleysean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

The Bear Guest House is a charming family guest house run by Sharon and Tony. All the rooms are good sized and immaculately clean with en-suite showers and most importantly comfy clean beds. OK, they don’t have en-suite toilets but they are available on every floor so no problems there. All rooms have a large modern TV, fridge, DVD and a kettle. A full, and I mean full English breakfast is offered as is an evening meal if requested. It works out just fine with Sharon and Tony. Pop your head round the door and say hello as you come and go, or if the mood takes you stop for a chat. The guest house is just fine for families, individual holiday makers and contractors. It is located very close to the main line train station and the National Express pick up and drop off points. On street parking is available directly outside the guest house. It’s an ideal location to explore Margate and Ramsgate as well as the rest of the Isle of Thanet. And the view of Margate beach from the guest house rooms? Well that is just stunning. I enjoyed my stay and I have no problem recommending it to you.....John room 3

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beachcomber77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

I recently stayed in this guest house with some of my family. We were made really welcome by the landlady and shown our rooms which were clean and tidy with televisions shower fridge and tea making facilities in all the rooms. The landlady clearly has a love of bears and collects them there was some really amazing items we could have spent hours looking and reading some of her collections. We received a freshly cooked full English breakfast which was enjoyed by all. I would have no hesitation in revisiting or recommending this quaint wee guest house. Thank you very much for your hospitality. Liz and family from Glasgow xx

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz-c59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Hotel is in a good location right by the seafront and it is fairly quiet. Hotel has lots of quaint memorabilia on the walls which adds a personal touch, although may be cluttered for some people's tastes. Room, bed, TV and shower were all fine. Toilet is outside on the landing but this really is no problem. Sharon is very friendly and welcoming. She takes no crap and expects everyone to treat her home with respect. She cooks a great full english breakfast. Thank you Sharon for being yourself and very entertaining !!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LisWallington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

I can not fault "the bear guest house" at all ! Even though the rooms did not have an un- suit the toilet was close to hand down the corridor & the shower was great (that was in the room). As for the breakfast , I still can not get over the size of it (huge) ! There was a good range of choice too.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JulieB1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Colin and myself stayed at The Bear for two nights. Wot fantastic hosts Sharon and Tony are, the breakfast was to die for!! Nothing was too much trouble for them and they made us feel very welcome. Having returned to Margate after 34 years, staying at The Bear proved to us that Margate has lost none of its uniqueness. Well done Sharon and Tony. Colin and Sue.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susantearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margate hotels
0.3 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
685 reviews
1.4 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
493 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#8 of 12 in Margate
19 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sherwood Hotel
Sherwood Hotel
#7 of 12 in Margate
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Guest House

Property: The Bear Guest House
Address: 12 Buenos Ayres | Kent, Margate CT9 5AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Margate
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, well established, small family run guest house with affordable rates. Grade 2 listed Georgian building, located very near to Margate train station and opposite Margate main sands. There is some free unlimited parking outside of our property and parking is easily available in nearby streets. We have 6 comfortable, well appointed rooms in total which include: Room 1 (a family room sleeping 4), Room 2 (a double room), Room 3 (a single room), Room 4 (a single room), Room 5 (a triple room) and Room 6 (a family room sleeping 4). Four of our rooms have stunning sea views and one other has a partial sea view. All rooms have complimentary tea/coffee making facilities, mineral water, fridge, TV including many free sat channels, and complimentary toiletries. DVD players are also available upon request. Free unlimited Wi-Fi is available throughout most of our property. Please note that rooms are let on a room only basis i.e. we do not offer breakfast. However there are plenty of nice places to eat nearby. As we are a listed building, our rooms do not offer full ensuite, however each room has its own private shower and hand basin. Toilets are located nearby on each landing. Discounts for long-term stays are available and we offer 10% discount on stays of 4 nights or more. Contractors welcome. Children and small infants' warmly welcome, we have travel cots available at no extra charge. Cyclists also welcome. Check-in is anytime from 1pm and check-out is 11am on the day of departure. The property is non-smoking throughout. We can offer guests a (chargeable) babysitting service (we are DBS checked). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bear Guest House Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing