We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea view for 25 quid a room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sea view for 25 quid a room!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Staff SO welcoming and helpful. Bed SO comfortable. What's not to like?
Hotel was over a Brewers Fayre pub and next to the Margate Train Station, we expected noise but for a Sunday night it was very quiet. We had a super time. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlabFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    325
    104
    38
    20
See reviews for
306
298
59
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed in a family room as there were no doubles available when booking. The room was clean and tidy with no frills as with all in premier inn's. The bed was very comfortable and the fan in the room came in very handy keeping the room cool so despite the heat we had a good night's sleep. Breakfast was excellent and very good quality with plenty of options to choose from. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to ensure we had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. It was good value for money and we definitely stay again

Room Tip: Room 28 is a family room with a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel is low rise (2 floors) that is literally a few steps from Margate Station and the same again from the promenade/beach. There is plentiful on-site parking. Being so close to the station I half expected to be disturbed by train noise but was pleasantly surprised by the lack of any.
My room had a heater but wasn't air conditioned. To help combat the effects of the Summer temperatures (when this review was written) the hotel close the curtains and provide a large pedestal fan and offer various ways the hotel can assist in a comfortable nights sleep - a nice touch I thought.
My room and the public areas that I saw, were spotlessly clean. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful and accommodating.
On leaving I made three comments namely that the TV remote needed new batteries, the hot water to the basin ran extremely slow and the 24hr wifi was as good as useless. Hardly major items but I have down-rated the hotel for those.
This is not a Premier Inn hotel that sets the world on fire but is certainly of a good enough standard for me to be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CockneyLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I am a regular visitor to the Premier Inn Margate. The Staf are terrific but their pricing has gone biserk! Any ideas how Premier Inn work out their prices?

It seems like the Management think of a number between 28 and 30, double it, see the temperature rise, add 30 and add on 10 for school holidays. Whats that £100 - call it £97.

Wake up Premier Inn, Margate! You are still a budget Hotel and cannot rely on your efficient and friendly staff to retain customer loyalty. There is competition in Margate and you should stop taking your customers for granted. I suggest that your pricing is way out of line!

The Staff throughout the Hotel are all very helpful and efficient, BUT there is now every reason for Customers of the Premier Inn Margate to consider other Hotels

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cliint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our daughter for 3 days only. We found the service to be quite poor. My husband called the hotel after booking and told the staff that we wanted an extra sleeping space for our daughter in the same room. When we arrived (later than checking in time) the extra sofa bed was not made up for our daughter. We did it ourselves.

My husband went in the bath room to use the sink; and closed the drainer. When he tried to let the water out he found he could not open it because it was stuck. The stopper was badly fitted.
When we reported this to the staff at reception we were told there are quite a few rooms with the same problem. We were told that one lady staff had a way to open them and it would get done. We ask about 3 times if this woman could open the sink and on our last day it managed to get done. I found the staff to be quite plastic and robotic.

When I read the reviews here about the staff, it could be there were different staff on at that time for them. Please lets hope so; because of the good staff reviews we may just stayed here again, things could be better next time round. we'll see.

When we got back from the beach after our first night the beds were made; but very poorly. I think my 8 year old daughter could have done a better job.

On a more up toned beat the hotel is in a fantastic location for the beach and station.

We were pleased with the breakfast and dinner served there; but on our last night one waiter informed us that I had to choose another meal because the waiter picked up the food when it was really hot and dropped it on the floor. But after choosing another it was nice.

The restaurant is also open to non hotel stayer; so gets quite busy.

We'll see what happens next time round.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee651962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Margate Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beith, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Having booked a trip to margate we chose this hotel du to its location. We were not disappointed. Lovely staff, clean room and a comfy end made this a great alue choose. Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonsiouxsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

On the POSITIVE:
- excellent location if you travel by train (Southeastern lines just at the corner)
- good base to visit Ramsgate, Broadstairs, Dover, Canterbury both by car and by train
- room: big, flat TV screen, tea boiler
- bathroom: clean, simple, well equipped (including good hairdryer)
- breakfast with good choice (either continental for £6 circa or full English one for £9 circa)
- restaurant, which handy when you come back at night and don't want to go out

On the NEGATIVE:
- if they give you a room on the 1st floor (room 20 something), mind the kitchen's ventilation system. Noise and vibrations are ensured until late at night (after midnight) and from early morning (6am). What could be a relaxing night, might turn into an insomnia experience. Double glazing doesn't help
- if you like soft mattress, you might be challenged

TRAINs
The train station is very close, but it does not bother, even if you are in the rooms facing the railway. Insonorization is good and the line isn't too busy.

Room Tip: Ask whether you room is close to the kitchen ventilation system. If yes, ask to be put in another ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonimobelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
1.4 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#3 of 12 in Margate
502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#8 of 12 in Margate
19 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Margate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Margate Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Margate Hotel
Address: Station Green | Marine Terrace, Margate CT9 5AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Margate
#3 Romantic Hotel in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Margate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the seafront with its idyllic views and close to shops and cafes of the quaint Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Margate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Margate Hotel Margate
Premier Inn Margate Hotel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing