We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I stayed here on business for one night and was very impressed by the standard of the hotel.

The rooms are very high spec with fantastic views of the sea, the staff are really friendly and polite and the food was lovely.

I will definitely be staying here again when I am next in Kent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    128
    37
    18
    4
See reviews for
100
387
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed in a town view room for one night - the hotel is fabulous and the quality of the room exceptionally high. Little touches like the free snacks, filter coffee and bath robes added to the luxurious feeling. The bathrooms and toiletries were also high end and towels beautifully thick and fluffy! The staff were mainly young and very keen to help ensure the perfect stay - breakfast was of a very high quality.
All in all a little gem to which I will definitely return!

Room Tip: Sea view - they are not much more expensive and the view is gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This is a very classy new hotel, well worth a trip just to stay regardless of where it is, but having the Turner Contemporary across the road is a huge plus if you haven't been or want to catch a new exhibition. Margate has its charms too, though struggles - but an evening in the Lifeboat pub by the fire is highly recommended! Here are the issues we had:
- Because we booked in November but stayed in January, we still got charged the very hefty 'autumn' tariff. Yes, we knew the price when we booked (since there was no 'winter' tariff displayed at the time of booking) but very irritating to see room rates so much lower when we stayed.
- Breakfast stops at 10am even on Sunday, which was a tad too early for us. When we asked why this couldn't be a bit later, 10.30am, we were told staff wouldn't be able to cope with getting ready for lunch. Well, other hotels of this quality cope.
- We got caught in a heavy rain shower and headed for the seafront entrance only to find it locked. We ran the buzzer but staff couldn't find the key. We got soaked and no one seemed very interested.
So, certainly a luxury experience in this hotel for two nights but felt ripped off a bit and staff need to know where the door keys are kept!

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Spent a night at the Sands Hotel and got a good deal in February on B&B. The room was small but exceptionally clean and well appointed with complimentary snacks and high quality tea and coffee. The views of the beach were fabulous, despite the wind and rain! Ate in the restaurant in the evening which was excellent. My starter of cauliflower panna cotta with local blue cheese and warm chestnuts was delicious. The breakfast was very good too and my poached eggs Florentine were the best I have had! The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, if a little lacking in experience.

Room Tip: Select a room at the front of the hotel for the views - preferably the ones with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

My friend had her birthday meal at Sands, and 6 of us stayed the night. The menu had a good and varied selection, the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was excellent - main meal and breakfast. The rooms were lovely, the architect and designers have done a first class job throughout the hotel, and the bed and rooms are extremely comfortable. On top of that you have lovely views of the sea. In summary our experience at Sands could not have been better.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stephunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This hotel could very easily have got five stars - the hotel rooms are furnished to a very high standard, there is a great bar and the food is good quality. But unfortunately for us, it was let down by certain aspects of the service.

Having not visited Margate before, we arrived about 5pm on a Saturday night and entered from the seafront (Marine Drive). There was a small unmanned reception desk in the hallway, no bell and no indication where to go. I tried down the staircase but came across the kitchen; I was told to head up to the next level instead (improved signage would have been useful).

We found the main reception up on the next level. The receptionist asked if we'd reserved a parking space although I explained we'd seen nothing on the website saying we needed to do that. She told me the last visitor permit had just gone, so gave us verbal directions to the Morrison's car park where she said we could park overnight. There was no map to show us the way. We then drove to the car park, only to find parking was limited to 12 hours so was no use unless we wanted to leave 5am the next morning!

By this time it was dark and there was heavy rain, thunder and lighting. Using our iPhones, we made our way to another car park but the same restrictions applied. We then phoned the hotel and were finally directed to a third car park at Mill Lane where we could park overnight, albeit the groups of youths hanging around in the stairwell didn't make it a pleasant experience. The whole thing wasted about an hour and left us feeling quite stressed so we returned to the bar for a much needed drink.

Later that evening, we returned to the room and tried to switch on the TV, but there was no remote. I couldn't get through to reception so went back down to ask. Staff apologised but said they had no spares available so we were stuck with Sky News all night! I decided to make a coffee in the room and was pleased to see fresh ground coffee provided (no instant) - but there was no cafetiere to make it in. Staff apologised again and brought one up to us.

Next morning, breakfast was very busy and hotel almost full, but only two staff serving - doing there very best to cope. We were directed to a table although it was about 5-10 minutes before a menu or offer of drink arrived. A bit after 10am, we heard staff on the phone checking if the kitchen could be closed. We had to call over to say they hadn't even taken our order yet! When the breakfast did eventually arrive, it was very good.

Overall, what should have been a relaxing one night break turned into a slightly stressful night away. This has the makings of a very good hotel and should be a great asset for Margate. Whilst a lot has been invested in the building, the management now need to improve the customer experience and also provide enough staff on duty. All staff were very polite so no complaints there. Hopefully these issues will soon get resolved.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RichardT187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We booked for two nights for my husband's birthday and it was absolutely fab-u-lous in every way. The service, the rooms, the food, everything was first class. We had originally planned to go to the Cotswolds but I am soooo pleased we changed our minds. We will definitely be back as soon as possible. Loved the plug sockets in the bedrooms by the way!!!!!

Room Tip: We had a town view room and to be quite honest, apart from not being able to see the sea, it was del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mari w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
0.4 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
349 reviews
1.1 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
493 reviews
4.3 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
4.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,059 reviews
16.3 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Hotel

Property: Sands Hotel
Address: 16 Marine Drive, Margate CT9 1DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing