We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break but double-check the booking details”
Review of Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one evening and had a very enjoyable but brief stay. The room was small but very well appointed, with a great view over the bay, We also had a fabulous evening meal (certainly by our standards anyway) and breakfast.

My caveat is that you need to be careful when booking. The online form is not secure, so do not use it until it is (https://). I rang and booked what I was told was a room, evening meal and breakfast but at the meal we were told that the dinner was not included. However after politely reminding them of what I booked, we were then told that we would not be charged for the meal.

When I checked out an additional charge was added to the bill. It was not that significant so I paid it because we enjoyed our brief break and did not want to end on a sour note. However I was not impressed, and do think that the remarks made by others about staff training are valid.

I do wish the hotel and Margate well because it has so much potential. If you are looking for somewhere to stay this is certainly very good but check precisely the nature of the offer and don't use the online booking until they make it secure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank enguarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

718 - 724 of 750 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

A mixed review depending on your brief: If you *had* to stay in Margate, this hotel is clearly the best place to stay/dine/drink in.

If you are simply looking for a weekend coastal break, this is adequate as an experience but poor value for money.

The rooms are small, similar to a B&B and decorated in a glitzy WAG style. Bathrooms are nicely finished. Staff are generally average, kindly and well meaning but poorly trained. Small touches give this away as being a pretty amateur set up for a hotel that charges £150 upwards on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VB1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here with my hubby for (sadly) just one night in early October. We opted for a "superior sea view" room. The room wasn't very large - but it was immaculate, stylish and very comfortable. Only small niggle was that there was no source for music i.e. docking station or other - something that I expect from a five star boutique hotel these days. There were built in ceiling speakers - but we couldn't figure out what they were for (not the t.v.)... but just a minor niggle.

We spent the afternoon at the bar on the end of the harbour (Lighthouse Bar?) and we heard the most fab Country duo called Starlane - honestly these guys were amazing. You have to try to catch them soon. We couldn't believe we were sitting outside, in the gorgeous sunshine, listening to the best music we've heard in ages. What more could we want?

As it happens, the only answer was champagne! Well it so reasonably priced - it was rude not to! So we made full use of the private balcony and very comfortable seating. The sunset was simply to die for.

We headed down to dinner and was a little sad to see the restaurant was empty (it was only 7.30pm), we really hope that the local community support this business - they are leading the way for a new market coming to Margate.

Our dinner was fab - no complaints at all about the food. The service was ok, but really lacks some maturity. The girls were lovely, but perhaps a little unprofessional (not their fault - they need some supervision) - for example the choice of background music was really not appropriate for the setting - seemed to be more for the waiting staff than the customers. Again just a small gripe - am sure it improves when they are busier.

Breakfast was brilliant - everything was top notch.

Margate deserves sucess - we will certainly be back and will definitely be booking this hotel.

So if liek me you were hesitating to book a stay in Margate...... just do it and make sure you stay at this hotel - you'll be pleasantly surprised!

Room Tip: Go for the sea view - superioir if you can stretch to it - the balcony is a great addition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JulieG794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This new hotel in margate is amazing really puts some class back into the area. Decor is lovely rooms are amazing pure luxery will definatly be going back. The resturant looks over margate sea beautiful food very good, staff very friendly and helpful. Do not be put off because it's Margate as this are is trying to get back on the map. Round the corner is a superb Indian called Ambretta worth a try old town as well is becoming very euorpeaon!! All of it not far from Turners art gallery really refreshing to see how they want their town back on the map.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Superb, rooms right up there with five star hotels. Stayed for only one night however would certainly return. Breakfast overlooking Margate bay superb. Attention to detail unmatched. Should be Number one hotel in Margate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank simon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Great brand new hotel. Went there on a fab hot july weekend and had a room overlooking the beach - it was great. This is a stylish place with good food right next to the old town with its quirky shops. We really enjoyed it. The staff seemed a little under trained, tho I expect this has been sorted now

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susannaruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was our second stay.
It was really excellent in all respects
The rooms are very nice indeed.

The restaurant is very good and service on the balcony is a delight.
It is also helpful that easy parking is available close to the hotel.

WE will certainly be going again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
0.4 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
378 reviews
1.1 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
539 reviews
4.3 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
3.4 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
223 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Hotel

Address: 16 Marine Drive, Margate CT9 1DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Margate
Price Range: $151 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing