We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming staff and honest food.”
Review of Bentley's Lounge & Grill - CLOSED

Bentley's Lounge & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Broadstairs, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Welcoming staff and honest food.”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Bentley's does not call itself a Restaurant, it is a Grill and Lounge and so don't expect elaborate, fancy food. It is straightforward well-cooked meat, vegetables and potatoes of your choice. It is a very pleasant atmosphere and on a Wednesday evening there's an excellent pianist and a singer with a good voice which does not really require the microphone provided.
The service is very good, observant staff who check the tables regularly, almost too regularly. This is a comfortable, relaxing place to go with friends. The food is not going to appeal to people who want frills, but it is sensibly priced for what it is. I would recommend the Lamb Shank.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Merpig2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    37
    10
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Really worth a visit”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Have been to Bentleys a few times for drinks. When we went for a meal food was great & service efficient & friendly & you won't break the bank as it is very affordable

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oneboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food and Service!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My partner and I have visited Bentley's a few times with friends and we have never been disappointed! Our most recent visit with friends was brilliant! As ever, we were greeted at the door and browsed the menu whilst having drinks in the warm and welcoming bar/lounge area. We ordered and were seated in the dining room when our meals were ready to be served. I had garlic breaded mushrooms with a lovely side sauce and accompanying garnish then a Sirloin steak which was cooked to absolute perfection! One of the few estabilishments I have managed to get my steak cooked as requested! Lots of great quality food, excellent value for money and very pleasent staff! Could not have wished for more from our visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sls_broadstairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little gem in margate”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

4 of us came for a meal midweek, was welcomed straight away on arrival, and shown to our table, after sitting down and toasting a birthday our waiter came over with complimentary champagne on hearing this birthday toast, lovely touch :) absolutely brillant service and gorgeous food, price brillant! Absolutely gem to margate

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

After visiting here many times, I was very disappointed with the afternoon tea I had here. White bread plain tuna, cheese and ham sandwiches. 2 bought scones served with jam in a plastic packet and bought, dry cakes. We weren't offered tea and had to ask for it. At 7.50 per head, it's quite cheap so wasn't expecting ritz quality but you're better off having afternoon tea for 2 at m and s- a real shame as I'm keen to support margate businesses and I have had good experiences here previously. My feeling is, if you can't offer an afternoon tea of the same standard of food that is on the lunch menu then take it off altogether! Sands hotel across the road offers afternoon tea at 11.95 and everything is freshly baked, and served with loose tea- no competition!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wellsy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bentley's Lounge & Grill also viewed

Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 
Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 
Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing