We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“margate's chai tea parlour”
Review of The Chai Parlour - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Chai Parlour
Cuisines: Persian
Restaurant details
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“margate's chai tea parlour”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

khosh amadid is Farsi for welcome, and that is exactly what you get when you enter this little tea shop, on the edge of the old town quarter of Margate, stones throw from the seafront it is worth visiting. they say that the Arabian desert is full of mystery and exotic delights and so is the chai tea parlour, not only have they got teas and coffees they have a fantastic array of herbal teas, light snacks and persian sweet pastries i recommend the falafel wrap for the veggies very yummy and there are a range of little unique gifts to buy, the owner she makes you feel like you are not a stranger, and there is a hive of people popping in and out just chatting, i notice there is books to read and free wi-fi or as i did just sit and listen to the chatter, so next time you pop down to the seaside look this place up it is small unique and yummy thank you xx

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hippybythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Persian delights”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

....love the spiced chai ...can not wait to visit you again ...thank you, a warm an true reflection of persian hospitality, most impressed.xxx

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“relaxed atmosphere which makes you feel at home, superb food and drinks.”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

whenever I'm in the area I always go to the chai parlor. The service is warm and friendly, always with a smile. The variety of tea is always very pleasing and the hot chocolate is soooo yummy. The food is prepared and presented to high standard and I always leave feeling very satisfied. There are a wide range of gifts to choose from, teas, coffee beans, cups, candles,insence, bags and a lot more. It is suited for any age with comfortable furnishings and toilet facilitys. The outside area is also inviting and comfortable. I would recommend the chair parlor to anyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emmac88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“THE IRANIAN GEM”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

What a wonderful quaint little place .:-)
its full of eastern promise,with all the exciting smells of the aromatic teas and coffees, that are on sale. The choice is hard as there are so many to choose from , after debating the different opitions . I had a lovely pot of "Java" , Its was smokey,but very smooth.This always goes down well when drinking it black . As sometime it like drinking "tar".
Feeling a bit peckish i decided on a panni with salami,cheese, sun dried tomatoes and basil .This i must say that was excellent , the lady that was doing the food , (as i found out afterwards was called Sasha)even asked if i would rather pesto then butter to give a more enhanced flavour .Good idea,, wonderful to bring all the flovours together.
The atmosphere was very friendly ,with variours people poping in and out . It seemed like a very popular meeting place .
Very clean,friendly ,great atmosphere. great coffee,good food .value for money,what more can i say ,but see you again .

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank putti57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Little Jem a short walk from the Turner Gallery”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Just two short blocks from the harbour lies a little jem of a speciality tea house serving an excellent selection of teas, coffee's and expertly prepared snacks to satisfy all appetites at very reasonable prices. For the trenchermen try the Manwitch it is a meal in a large ciabata bun. I had the Greek Salad with an iced coffee and my wife had a Toastie and coffee all of which was great value for money.The atmosphere is relaxing and the staff work hard to please the customer and offer a service not seen in many of the coffee chain shops. The short walk from the Stone Jetty and the new Turner Gallery only takes a minute, Try it, I guarantee you will not be disappointed !!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skinnermick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chai Parlour also viewed

Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 
Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 
Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing