We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Impromptu visit whilst in town

I made an impromptu visit here whilst in town. Great that the gallery is free to enter. I was... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
natters14
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Love it

Some great exhibitions here ive been many a time. Its was the 1st time is saw Emins bed which was... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
BazRex
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 1,834 reviews
  
Reviews (1,834)
Filter reviews
1,834 results
Traveler rating
651
554
279
177
173
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
651
554
279
177
173
Show reviews that mention
All reviews current exhibition on display tracey emin modern building great gallery great space worth a visit free admission nice cafe art galleries harbour wall gift shop sea front old town seaside town visiting margate exhibits
Filter
Updating list...
1,486 - 1,491 of 1,834 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

When reading the reviews it seems the installations that impressed visitors the most were the toilets, lockers and lifts ! While appreciating their utilitarian value I'm glad I did not travel especially to visit or indeed pay to enter this gallery. Whilst the drawings of the genius Leonardo de Vinci are to be admired I found little else to stir the senses or indeed my curiosity. I was directed to see an exhibit outside which was " glass and steel at a 45degree angle " which was just like a stand at a double glazing exhibition ! I don't know if this gallery makes money or breaks even but alas I fear it is another example of taking " culture" to the masses, like museums in Leeds, Bradford, Liverpool and Nottingham which have become white elephants. A far more valuable and uplifting exhibition of skill, dedication, bravery and selfless sense of duty is to be found just next door in the RNLI station, well worth a visit.

Thank MOD54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Visited this "exhibition" today. Very shameful. Turner would have been embarrassed. A complete waste of 17.5 million pounds. An empty concrete wasteland devoid of any art. Has got a cafe and the obligatory overpriced gift shop. Very spacious lifts (elevators).

4  Thank Parachut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turner C, Manager at Turner Contemporary, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thanks for your review, we're really glad you enjoyed Curiosity and hope to see you again soon. We have lots of events and activities this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Lots of space. Little of interest.
Free admission, so useful if you need a loo.
Those who make special journeys in the hope this much-hyped gallery is worth a visit are frequently disappointed.

1  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The new building is pretty stark but the interior works well for exhibitions. I liked the lockers which allowed you to leave bags and roam around uncumbered. Inside the building it is light and airy and well adapted to unusual exhibitions like 'Curiousity', which is a pretty mixed bag. Some of the items, like the glass models of sea anemones etc, were stunning.
A good shop and an excellent cafe. The potted crab was delicious. We visited on a sunny day and it was pleasant to walk along the Harbour Arm and explore some of the old streets behind the front.

Thank emo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I'm not a fan of much modern art but the current exhibition was an eclectic and interesting mix of old and new items. Worth the trip in my view, as is Margate (providing the sun shines!)

Thank xk140fhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews