We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming.”
Review of Walpole Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Walpole Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2014

A shining example of top service and old fashioned charm. Every member of staff is helpful and friendly. Our room was spotless and very pretty.
It is in a great location and boasts some wonderful views. It was very, very busy on arrival for Sunday lunch which is always a great sign.
Breakfast was tasty and fresh.
Highly recommended for anyone who wishes to have a stay in a more unusual and charismatic hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valreyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 539 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed at the Walpole on 27th May 2014. It is quite an unusual hotel as it is also described as a museum. Unfortunately, this fact is not part of what is good about the hotel. The staff are very courteous, the breakfast was excellent and the room and everywhere generally was clean. The highlight for me was having a lovely accomplished pianist playing in the dining room at dinner. As for the downside If all the clutter and, I have to say quite a lot of junk, was not in the hotel it would look and feel much better. We were shown on a screen when having coffee after dinner a fairly long DVD of the owner telling us all her history, the hotel's history and the story of the museum pieces, etc., in a lot of detail. I think this should have been shown in a separate room and maybe at another time for those who wished to see it and then those who didn't could have carried on talking at the table.

I did not sleep well at all either due to door being shut noisily, maybe can't close them any other way, and a generator that kept me awake virtually all night until 4.30 am.

Room Tip: I was in room 106 which was fine except that I was kept awake by the sound of a generator which is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Violet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My Wife and I had a last min thought about getting away so I looked on the web and saw the reviews...... Quirky , yes...... one of the best nights sleep ever, the sea air knocked us out..... the walk along the cliffs beautiful, the sunny weather helped of course, the breakfast was self service, and top notch, the bedroom was on the third floor, sea view, small but the bed linnen was crisp and clean.
After at fist entering the room ( 310 ) and prior to that walking along the "living museum" coridoor it was clear that it was going to be an "experience" the wardrobe and chest of drawers in fact all the furniture in our room was 1950's I would guess, and on reflection was a part of the whole deal....... the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. looking around the rest of the floors was interesting to say the least and the lift was fun.....
if there was anything that could have been better was the walk in shower could do with some work as the pressure was poor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My wife and i have just returned from a three night stay at the Walpole bay. On arrival you feel like you've been taken back in time. Our room was clean and we had a lovely view out to sea.The food in the hotel was excellent ( couldn't fault it ). My only gripe is that it sometimes took a while to get served at the bar. But all in all it's worth going to visit to sample the food and wander round the hotels floors looking at the nostalgic pieces that have been collected.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank antony g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

An old fashioned hotel with helpful staff. Our room was lovely with a view of the sea from the little balcony. Bed was comfortable but pillows less so. The shower water pressure was loe so we had baths instead, but maybe due to third floor. The hotel is also a museum so a bit cluttered for clumsy people. A very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandT_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We just wanted a quick night away and break from work for myself and partner. Then on to friends for Sunday lunch. Good old Walpole Bay and its staff made it just perfect.

The Walpole Bay never disappoints, it makes a refreshing change from the corporate ‘fluff’ I have to put up with over the year while the client picks up the bill.
I am happy to kick off and chill in this delightful retro space. I know its not bang up-to-date, Ok, so I do enjoy the new wave of trendy boutique hotels...but come on, life's too short to play the 'Hotel Inspector' all the time.
Leave that to the couch potatoes who's diet consists of nothing but Dragon Den and whatever cookery programme is being broadcast. The great unwashed trying so hard to be experts.
The rooms are 'amusingly' populated with a plethora of pre war and utility furniture: where else can you spread eagle on the comfy bed and chuckle with your friend at the decor whilst 'looking up old friends' in the huge mirror placed at the bottom of the bed!!
Cannot fault the staff on their attentiveness and general bon ami, one gets the feeling that all they want to do is sit down and chill with you.

Important Tip:
book through the hotel directly, i.e. phone/email, as the third party EVIIVO web link site is not to be trusted. The url will have the eviivo name in it. They will show an image of a room however it is not the one you get. Be sure to check out the walpolebayhotel rooms image link to see the actual rooms and room numbers. Then phone and book.

3  Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We are just back from a night in this interesting quirky hotel. Looking at previous reviews we wanted to see it for ourselves. Well we was very impressed. Loved the look of the place straight away, the veranda was a lovely place to sit and relax with a drink on a lovely warm night.
Walking into the reception was like stepping back in time. The staff were all friendly and welcoming. Our room 305 was beautiful with fantastic views.....thank you James for your kindness!
Thank you also toTerri and Matthew for excellent bar service in fact all staff were happy and courteous. We booked a meal in the restaurant and was pleasantly surprised, I had plaice and my partner had the gammon and both dishes were very tasty. Entertainment was great , the owners niece was very talented. It was a lovely touch that the owner Jane introduced herself and asked if our meal was good and were we enjoying ourselves.
We loved the museum on the 2nd floor and also the napery gallery. You can't help looking and touching everything.
We can't wait to return and relax in this enchanting little gem of a place!
We also liked the fact that we could park outside free of charge and we were also a short walk from the beach and the town.

Room Tip: Room 305 was great , very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laceylooKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
1.1 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
749 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
378 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sherwood Hotel
Sherwood Hotel
#6 of 12 in Margate
82 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smiths Court Hotel
Smiths Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Margate
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walpole Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walpole Bay Hotel

Address: Fifth Avenue | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Margate
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margate
Price Range: $106 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Walpole Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you enter the Walpole Bay Hotel and Museum, you step back in time to the ambiance of a bygone era. This historic Margate hotel was built for discerning guests in 1914, extended in 1927 and is now being lovingly restored to her former glory by the Bishop family. The Walpole is a family run hotel that strives to achieve a friendly home from home atmosphere combined with a warmth and timeless elegance. From the relaxing flower decked terrace with sea views, to the Edwardian style restaurant, you will rediscover a passion for the finer things in life. And to make your visit complete enjoy a ride in our 1927 Otis trellis gated lift, that services every floor. So if you are looking for hotels in Margate, you will not find a more welcoming, warm, charming experience anywhere else, so come and enjoy your time in Margate, Kent and reserve your room at the Walpole Bay Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Walpole Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walpole Bay Cliftonville
Hotel Walpole Bay
Walpole Bay Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing