We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Walpole Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Walpole Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Beautiful period hotel with lots of antiques and art on display.
Original 1927 working lift.
Clean and well presented room's with sea views.
My room had recently been decorated and had a new bathroom suite.
Very friendly staff and owner.
Excellent cooked breakfast in the morning.
Recommended

Helpful?
Thank GarethSimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    151
    33
    15
    9
See reviews for
117
225
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

My work checked me in to this hotel and I have to give it 5* for its sheer uniqueness. My bed was too comfy, the food was excellent and loads of free parking!

Sure, it's not your average hotel BUT you are surrounded by memorabilia and the lift is from1927!

Check it out ;)

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Wesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We went back to Margate as we do a couple of times a year to re-kindle memories of parental visits.
We always stay at this hotel as it is opposite flats where my parents used to live. Also we stay there because the service is so friendly you feel they are part of the family and over the years the owner has come to know us quite well, if only by sight. She always recognised us, my brother and his wife and my parents when they were alive as we used to go there for Sunday lunch in the wonderful front and sea-view restaurant for special occasions.
The rooms have now been refurbished to a standard that suits the Edwardian building very well.
The only thing I will say is that the sea view rooms with balcony are rather expensive for what they are as the sea view is only to the far side. There are much better rooms as the back of the hotel without balconies and with a side view of the sea for £10 cheaper, and they no longer do winter or low season rates.
The food is excellent, Sunday lunch being the cheaper option and there are four courses plus coffee which is excellent value. We had this only last week and it is even better than it used to be. and the breakfast buffet is wonderful and all the staff are happy and helpful.

Room Tip: If staying on a Saturday night, choose 2nd or 3rd floor as less noisy if they have a wedding or part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaH702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We arrived, dumped our luggage into our unique room, which had a lovely view of the sea. We went downstairs in the ancient lift and indulged in a wonderful afternoon tea in the lounge area sitting in the beaming sunshine on really comfy leather settees. After a wander along the sea front we returned to our rooms which were individually furnished and so clean. We then went down to dinner - wow it was fantastic the food was steaming hot the staff were so friendly and helpful there is nothing we could pick them up on!! We retired to the bar and had an after dinner drink everyone else had gone to bed the hotel was quite empty but the brother of the owner was so kind and got us coffee and then came up to our room to fix a dodgy plug! In the morning we went downstairs to a fantastic buffet breakfast, again nothing was too much trouble poached eggs, instead of the pre prepared scrambled and ryvita to have with cheese instead of bread. After stuffing ourselves with everything on offer and endless pots of tea we went to have a look round the museum on the second floor it was great fun trying on hats, fur coats etc seeing old fashioned kitchen appliances, toys and so much more. On the first floor and in the dining room is a selection of hand painted serviettes some by Tracey Emin some of which quite rightly so are censored why she has to be so explicit I'll never know. I asked the rectionist if I could look at a suite and she just handed me a couple of sets of keys and told us to drop them back when we had finished - we have decide we want to stay in 305 next time a double balconied suite. All in all it has to be one of the most relaxing nights away we have had and cannot wait until our next visit. Also there is plenty to do in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the sea so go with what you can afford but definitely go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nchlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Drayton, Middlesex
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

If you like something a bit different , this is the place. It's just like an old-fashioned seaside hotel and very atmospheric. Staff very welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. The breakfast was great and we also had dinner which was good as well.
We had a standard double on the 2nd floor which had a great sea view although perhaps next time we might go for a bigger room. Had a fantastic stay and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lundylupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Such a delightful hotel. We popped in there for a coffee and look around with a view to holding our 'reunion dinner' there. They were so helpful and the hotel was so nice that we decided there and then that this will be the place. It is almost like a step back in time to the lighthearted days of the early 20 century. It felt like we would see Bertie and Wooster walk into the reception. Have not seen it yet but they do an Olde Tyme musichall type of entertainment on Friday evenings so we are looking forward to that. They have a museum in and about the hotel - most interesting.
We'll let you know how things go as they come to pass.

Room Tip: Once we have had the reunion in September I will do a full appraisal for you. Look it up on the inte...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Coffee-matey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I have just visited the Walpole Bay Hotel for sunday lunch. Fabulous experience. Friendly, helpful staff and great food all in an atmosphere of bygone elegance ( maybe a tad faded! )
Refreshingly different, and really good value!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
1.1 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
696 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
356 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
603 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walpole Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walpole Bay Hotel

Property: Walpole Bay Hotel
Address: Fifth Avenue | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margate
#1 Family Hotel in Margate
#1 Best Value Hotel in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Walpole Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you enter the Walpole Bay Hotel and Museum, you step back in time to the ambiance of a bygone era. This historic Margate hotel was built for discerning guests in 1914, extended in 1927 and is now being lovingly restored to her former glory by the Bishop family. The Walpole is a family run hotel that strives to achieve a friendly home from home atmosphere combined with a warmth and timeless elegance. From the relaxing flower decked terrace with sea views, to the Edwardian style restaurant, you will rediscover a passion for the finer things in life. And to make your visit complete enjoy a ride in our 1927 Otis trellis gated lift, that services every floor. So if you are looking for hotels in Margate, you will not find a more welcoming, warm, charming experience anywhere else, so come and enjoy your time in Margate, Kent and reserve your room at the Walpole Bay Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Walpole Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walpole Bay Cliftonville
Hotel Walpole Bay
Walpole Bay Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing