We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired and tatty”
Review of Walpole Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Walpole Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“tired and tatty”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

If you like don’t mind cheap and tatty furniture, a carpet to avoid with your bare feet, lumpy pillows, a smell of air freshener permeating your room, a toilet that doesn’t flush properly, a stained old ironing board and thin bed linen then this is the place for you. The sea view is amazing however and the breakfast is good. A pigeon walked into my room whilst I was asleep but left when I woke up and shouted at it. I accept that my room may have been awaiting a makeover but this does not compensate for a less than satisfactory experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a sea view. Shut the verandah door if you don't like birds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank NMH60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    151
    33
    15
    9
See reviews for
117
225
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Back again and, thankfully, the eccentric ambience remains despite the best efforts of Alex P to stereotype the place. Our rooms (211, 212) had been redecorated and fitted out. Tasteful but, pleasingly, not the formulaic 'Homes & Gardens' style that so many 'boutique' hotels suffer from. A comfortable night and the usual generous and tasty breakfast. All's well at WBH, it seems. The dining room's next for a makeover, I'm told. Quite why, I can't fathom.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xk140fhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The owner herself told me she is running a Marmite Hotel, meaning you will either love it or not, with no middle ground. So let me explain what we found. Stepping into the Walpole Bay Hotel in Margate is taking a small step back in time. The hotel exudes the elegance of the 1920s and 1930s. You will be hard pressed to find an area of wall anywhere not covered in memorabilia from the early part of last century and you soon realize this is part of it's charm and what sets it apart from the modern plastic hotel chains. Here is a hotel whose roots are based in the era when the gentry lived unashamed lives of quiet luxury.
If you are under the age of 30 it is unlikely you will understand any of this, but should you be over the age of 35 and fancy a quiet break right on the coast, with perhaps a little romance thrown in then then the Walpole Bay is unlikely to disappoint and far more likely to put a smile back in your life.

Room Tip: We had a 4 poster suite with balconies as it was our wedding anniversary. Take a look at one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerribleTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

stayed here at the weekend (5,6,7th July 2013) on a last minute spur of the moment weekend away with my boyfriend. having booked friday afternoon we arrived friday night to friendly welcome from the staff we were given a room (308) at the top of the hotel with an amazing view out on to the clear blue sea below. we travelled to our room in what can only be described as the most amazing lift ever and its a shame that more of these are not still in existence as we would have quite happily spent all weekend in it. the staff were amazingly friendly and only too happy to help with anything. It was a shame on arrival to discover that this is a dog friendly hotel and we would have been able to take our beloved pet along for only an extra £5 a night and she would have been allowed everywhere in the hotel except the restaurant which would have been no hardship as there is plenty of outside dining seats and the staff were only to happy to help another guest who had bought his dog along but would definately consider going again with the dog

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiggerfan3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

My Husband & I ( both in our late 40's) stayed here last night after a show at The WInter Gardens. I knew it had been on Hotel Inspector, but could not believe how FANTASTIC the Living Museum actually was. From the moment you step through the doors, it's like stepping back in time. The Lift itself was something else & I could have spent he day just going from floor to floor in it. The Staff Customer Service from reception, night Porter & Breakfast staff, could not do enough for us.... A rarity theses days. We will definitely go back, as breakfast was the Best My Husband had ever had, and given that he has travelled far & wide & is used to 5star accommodation, this cannot be beaten. We were in room 209 with a lovely Sea view although the weather was not on our side. A MUST when visiting Margate

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsk1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eire
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just had a 4 night stay here for business. Nothing was too much trouble for all the staff, the owner is very attentive and pleasant. This has to be the quierkiest hotel I've ever stayed in with old interesting memorabilia everywhere. Even the rooms were furnished in a 50/60s style, yet very comfortable and clean. I ate in the hotel every night and the food was excellent. A very pleasant stay which I couldn't fault.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjwagdomEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romford essex uk
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

won 2 day b&b AND dinner at hotel in charity cricket auction,went for birthday treat.absolutely amazing hotel,never ever stayed in a museum/hotel,will do so again.outlook from glass panelled veranda to outdoor bowls over the road every weekday afternoon,not too much of a view of sea but the s blanc and guinness helped us focus.so quiet and 30 seconds walk to the beach and the view of margate and the smell of seaweed,just bought back brillient memories of childhood hols on south coast.food was amazing, plentiful, on hot plates told by staff to be careful.portions big too.accommodation lovely, high ceilings, bright lights and comfort, what else do you want.within the musem are 100's of photos of celebrities, eastenders, status quo, chas & dave etc etc plus beautiful rooms with shoe and dress and doll displays. pls try it, the staff will make you all so very welcome. will go again and have spread the word here in essex. thanks to you all. jayne are you ever going to finish your lovely planting in the front, will be back to check up. Irene and N from Romford Essex UK. 19th, 20th and 21st june 2013.ps: breakfast spread out of this world, fresh fruit, make yr own toast, plenty of hot Big Boys Breakfast too.

Room Tip: room 205 rocks, view of bowling green, view of sea when not misty, hotel in cul d s so very quiet, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ireneRomfordEssexUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
1.1 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
696 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
356 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
603 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walpole Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walpole Bay Hotel

Property: Walpole Bay Hotel
Address: Fifth Avenue | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Margate
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margate
#1 Best Value Hotel in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Walpole Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you enter the Walpole Bay Hotel and Museum, you step back in time to the ambiance of a bygone era. This historic Margate hotel was built for discerning guests in 1914, extended in 1927 and is now being lovingly restored to her former glory by the Bishop family. The Walpole is a family run hotel that strives to achieve a friendly home from home atmosphere combined with a warmth and timeless elegance. From the relaxing flower decked terrace with sea views, to the Edwardian style restaurant, you will rediscover a passion for the finer things in life. And to make your visit complete enjoy a ride in our 1927 Otis trellis gated lift, that services every floor. So if you are looking for hotels in Margate, you will not find a more welcoming, warm, charming experience anywhere else, so come and enjoy your time in Margate, Kent and reserve your room at the Walpole Bay Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Walpole Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walpole Bay Cliftonville
Hotel Walpole Bay
Walpole Bay Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing