We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be more helpful”
Review of Walpole Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Walpole Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Couldn't be more helpful”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed at the Walpole Bay for one night in October. I arrived late, after the kitchen had closed and the owner could not have been more accommodating. I had hot rolls and butter, lovely soup, dessert and coffee in the dining room with no fuss at all. We then had a tour of the hotel which was lots of fun. My room was comfortable and spacious with a lovely bathroom. Real sheets and blankets too! Interesting, unique, comfortable and fun. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    154
    34
    18
    10
See reviews for
120
236
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

If you want to stay in a place like no other - this is it.
Positives - unique in its own way. good rooms and bathrooms, good afternoon tea.
Negatives - shabby lobby and a lot of clutter though they try to eliminate it. It's a weird museum.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dascha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

hosted my mothers wake here..it was lovely.sandwiches and a cream tea.
even though we only live a few miles away we stayed over, as did some relatives from liverpool.
we had a beautiful room..204..very good nights sleep.quality bed linens.comfy bed.
fine view of the bowling green and the sea.
fantastic breakfast..good coffee..it was my dads birthday and a good chance for us all to catch up.im sure we stayed much longer than we should but we werent made to feel we had outstayed our welcome.
i love it there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candfkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed my 4 night stay at the Walpole bay hotel in May 2012.
The hotel is in a great location, in a quiet area, with the beach at the end of the road.  
The room was spotless with a great view of the sea. It was comfortable and had tea & coffee making facilities and flat screen tv.
From the minute we arrived the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fantastic with a good choice of cooked food, cereals and fruit. 
The hotel itself is very interesting with something to look at everywhere you turn, some reviewers have said it's too much but I disagree, it was much more interesting to walk around this hotel than certain hotel chains where all the rooms and corridors look the same.
The hotel owner Jane is amazing, friendly, and is very proud of the hotel.
I Celebrated my birthday whilst in Margate and the Walpole Bay Hotel was part very much of that, as was the cream tea!
Taxis are cheap, we took a taxi to Broadstairs for the day, I would recommend a trip in to Broadstairs if you are spending a few days in Margate. 
The Turner Contemporary  is a short drive but you can also walk along the seafront. The main reason for our visit to Margate was to see the new Tracey Emin exhibition, the Walpole Bay Hotel was an added extra and I will recommend this hotel to friends and family. I am sure I will return to this unique hotel sooner rather than later.
 

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Packmycase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Saw this hotel on the Hotel Inspector and had to go visit. It's such a shame the rest of Margate doesn't reflect how lovely the Walpole was. Margate is sadly in need of a makeover :(. As for the Walpole we loved everything about it. We had room 101 and couldn't fault it. Very comfy bed with ample warm covers, a lovely modern bathroom and all the comp bits and bobs you would expect. We had a fab cream tea in the afternoon and stayed for evening dinner. Couldn't fault either and the staff were very attentive. Very good selection for breakfast all tastes catered for. Keep the hornets nest!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40ems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snodland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a one night stay with dinner and,breakfast. Very quaint,excellent food,friendly staff and,we hope to go again.

Helpful?
1 Thank NessaJ33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orpington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had fantastic time on our honeymoon at the Walpole Bay Hotel. The staff and service was superb. We would recommend anyone to visit this blast from the past but with modern, up to date facilities hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danzer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
1.1 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
712 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
361 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
623 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,085 reviews
1.5 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#8 of 12 in Margate
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walpole Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walpole Bay Hotel

Property: Walpole Bay Hotel
Address: Fifth Avenue | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margate
#1 Best Value Hotel in Margate
#1 Family Hotel in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Walpole Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you enter the Walpole Bay Hotel and Museum, you step back in time to the ambiance of a bygone era. This historic Margate hotel was built for discerning guests in 1914, extended in 1927 and is now being lovingly restored to her former glory by the Bishop family. The Walpole is a family run hotel that strives to achieve a friendly home from home atmosphere combined with a warmth and timeless elegance. From the relaxing flower decked terrace with sea views, to the Edwardian style restaurant, you will rediscover a passion for the finer things in life. And to make your visit complete enjoy a ride in our 1927 Otis trellis gated lift, that services every floor. So if you are looking for hotels in Margate, you will not find a more welcoming, warm, charming experience anywhere else, so come and enjoy your time in Margate, Kent and reserve your room at the Walpole Bay Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Walpole Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walpole Bay Cliftonville
Hotel Walpole Bay
Walpole Bay Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing