We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Mad Place!”
Review of Walpole Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Walpole Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
East London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Mad Place!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have been meaning to visit The Walpole Bay since it was first on 'The Hotel Inspector'; finally made it there this weekend. What a great experience! Excellent friendly service, good food and a welcoming atmosphere, all overseen by the wonderfully unique Jane Bishop. If anyone can sort out Alex Polizzi, it is she! The building itself is great, full of fascinating memorabilia ; items that are interesting, funny, touching or just plain bonkers! The Reception and Bar are full of 1920's charm - no, they don't need modernising - they are supposed to look like this! Was very impressed that they actually served an evening glass of Port in the 'proper' glass; Yes, we also got butter curls...
Jane obviously takes great pride in The Walpole, and 'glides' around everywhere chatting to everyone about anything, and is very charismatic.
Would love to stay again, despite the eccentric plumbing, which made a noise like the Titanic when the loo was flushed - v.funny!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TitchEastLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    148
    32
    15
    7
See reviews for
112
218
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The Walpole Bay is the antithesis of all that is Travel Lodge or Premier Inn! Full of character and charm, we loved exploring the artefacts in cupboards and corridors!
The staff were fabulously attentive, nothing was too much bother - even very, very, late drinks! Breakfast was fantastic..with a particularly delicious sausage!
We loved the 'Napery' - what a brilliant idea! Fascinating to see previous guests creative response to their stay. Ill be doing mine... soon!
And that's the USP of the Walpole - they want you to be part of it, be involved, contribute. You don't walk away feeling like a faceless nobody - they want you back... and you you want to return.

Room Tip: We had a family room, which was fantastic value for friends sharing. However, I noticed that some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had no knowledge of either Margate or the hotel and had not checked with Trip Adviser beforehand. We were seeking a dog friendly hotel so as to visit the Turner Gallery . We were so
delighted with our choice that we stayed an extra night. The staff were so friendly and helpful
And the splendid period decor was a joy to behold. We have already discussed a revisit and
Recommended the hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony which we and our dog loved
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I was expecting nothing great from Margate and I'm just delighted to have walked into this quirky, delightful roaring 20's paradise by the sea. Welcoming and friendly staff, a vintage lift, a livery (apparently, it's a 'napery') of linen on the first floor and a 'museum' of vintage paraphernalia on the second. The rooms are good (not great, exposed pipework, slightly aged) but they are clean and comfortable and outfoxed by the overall experience of staying here. The food is pricey but good quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritBackPack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife and I (Caroline and Grant Wheeler) would highly, highly recommend the Walpole Bay hotel to anyone and in particular (in our case) for our wedding reception / breakfast, evening and wedding night stay. We cannot speak highly enough about the people and hotel. From the start when we met Justin he instantly put us at ease. We had a wonderful afternoon tea / coffee (one of many the hotel kindly gave us for our wedding chats) and Justin thoughtfully took care of all our needs. He fully understood what we would need for our perfect wedding day / evening there and throughout and especially on the day organised everything for us so we had nothing to worry about. The day was even more perfect than we could ever have imagined and we can't put into words how grateful we are to Justin, Jane and all the staff there for everything they did for us. The hotel is beautiful and full of character, the food was perfect and the wedding breakfast the hotel set up for us was out of this world. Everyone at our wedding all agreed and we also loved the modern honemoon suite there too. Morning breakfast was simply devine. The hotel is full of warmth and kindness and if you want a wonderful, perfect Wedding breakfast / reception and day where people thoughtfully care about you and put in all those extra personal touches to make it perfect and special then the Walpole Bay Hotel is the one for you. Everyone we met along the way through wedding fairs and people we spoke to equally spoke highly of the hotel and people. Many thanks again to you all, Grant and Caroline x

Room Tip: They are all wonderful and full of character from everyone we spoke too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Grant W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Amazing hotel and experience. We called late one aftrrnoon on a sunny friday. 2nd to last room. Wow lucky us. Room was on 2nd floor amid museum! Real working 1920's lift. Large bathroom. Fab views. We ordered dinner and sat in terrace for drinks. It felt rather glam. Food cooked to order and delicious. Breakfast more choice than you can imagine. Owner and staff very warm and attentive. A magical stay. Decor, and friendliness can not be beat.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We chose to stay here for our 30th Wedding Anniversary as my grandparents worked here for many years and I visited (round the back) many times as a child. My grandfather (Da) was the porter and therefore, operated the wonderful lift every day for most of his long service at the hotel.
The rooms were not a disappointment. We paid more than our friends for a superior double but in fact I preferred their room. It was modern and had a balcony (as ours did but our room was a little more dated). The rooms were cleaned everyday and en suites very modern (showers could be better but it is an old building). The reception area and bar area need updating and I am sure they will get round to this eventually. The terrace is an absolute treat to sit out on - we had lovely weather.
The quality of the cooked breakfast was really good. For a 2 star rating I don't think you can complain about anything and I am sure in a few years time it will be a much higher rating - and hence more expensive to stay.
The museum pieces could be reduced to that of local interest but we learnt a lot about the history of the hotel from the owner.
Would love to stay again and I am sure we will do one day.
More staff to clear away at breakfast would be good.

Room Tip: Go for a standard double with balcony unless you want extra space of the superior but to be honest i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
1.1 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Smiths Court Hotel
Smiths Court Hotel
#6 of 12 in Margate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
1.5 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#8 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walpole Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walpole Bay Hotel

Property: Walpole Bay Hotel
Address: Fifth Avenue | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Margate
#1 Best Value Hotel in Margate
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Walpole Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you enter the Walpole Bay Hotel and Museum, you step back in time to the ambiance of a bygone era. This historic Margate hotel was built for discerning guests in 1914, extended in 1927 and is now being lovingly restored to her former glory by the Bishop family. The Walpole is a family run hotel that strives to achieve a friendly home from home atmosphere combined with a warmth and timeless elegance. From the relaxing flower decked terrace with sea views, to the Edwardian style restaurant, you will rediscover a passion for the finer things in life. And to make your visit complete enjoy a ride in our 1927 Otis trellis gated lift, that services every floor. So if you are looking for hotels in Margate, you will not find a more welcoming, warm, charming experience anywhere else, so come and enjoy your time in Margate, Kent and reserve your room at the Walpole Bay Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Walpole Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walpole Bay Cliftonville
Hotel Walpole Bay
Walpole Bay Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing