We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“jolly boys outing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenwood Hotel

Glenwood Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Margate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenwood Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Margate
eastbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“jolly boys outing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2007

I have just returned with a party of 33 from the glenwood hotel in cliftonville and all of my party cannot speak highly enough of the excellent service we all received the food was very good and plentiful the room i myself had was excellent with a four poster bed it was very clean and spacious the staff were very helpful and nothing was to much trouble.we arrived on friday afternoon to be greated by the owner of the hotel who had arranged for a cup of tea for everyone in my party and he was actually pouring the teas for everybody as we got of the coach it was very welcomed you would not get that at the grand hotel. we had a dominoes competition on sunday for which they supplied us sandwiches and as much tea and coffee as we wanted the breakfasts and evening meals were of excellent quality. i cannot speak highly enough of brian and bridget who made our stay the best and yes we would all go back there again.
jacqui sullivan (organiser0

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank kadeEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    29
    20
    10
    33
See reviews for
12
29
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2007

i come to this hotel twice a year and EVERY YEAR! its great! we go with about 50 other friends and family. my dad and his friends have been coming to this hotel since he was 18 and is now 40! the rooms in this hotel are lovely and very well decorated. they are clean and have all the facilities that you need. the entertainment is extremley good with discos and lots of singing! there are loads of things to do in the hotel theres, a pool table, 2 t.v rooms, bar, fruit machines and a summer lounge. this hotel is close to lots of places like the beach, arcades, mini golf, mini bikes, trampolenes, night clubs and bars, bowling alley, a town with many shops. all in all its a great weekend away and i would recomend this hotel to EVERYONE!

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank jaab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Glenwood Hotel for 5 days on a coach holiday recently and would recommend it to anyone. We found our twin room clean, pleasant with comfortable beds and everything in the room worked as it should. The staff were helpful and pleasant to my wife and I. Breakfast and Evening meals were included in our stay and we found the meals throughout the week very good. (I am particularly fussy about Breakfast and like everything on the full english breakfast plate to be cooked right, but no problems there). The Glenwood Hotel does appear a little old fashioned in some parts, but this has not put me off staying there again if ever I wanted to book accommodation in the Margate area.

  • Liked — We really enjoyed meal time, large tables ment we could meet our newly made friends again and talk whilst enjoying good food
  • Disliked — Nothing really, it might have been nice to see the sea front, but it was not a problem at all that we could'nt
  • Tips/Secrets — No.
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daleian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2006

When searching for a weekend break i came across the Glennwood Hotel in Margate/Cliftonville, in the discription it said Four poster bed which i must admit swayed my desission. On arrival as we opened the door we were greeted by an awful smell was'nt quite sure if it was damp or cigarette smoke we went to reception to find the staff smoking behind the counter. We were told where are rooms where, openening the door this almighty smell of damp bombarded us, the curtains were hanging off the rails and the four poster bed that i was so looking forward to was barely kept together by afew bolts and to be quite honest i think the owner had had a stab of making it himself out off oddments of wood. There was no electric so my husband went to reception to let them know the guy behind the counter said i quote ' well you did'nt ask for electric when you booked the room,the staff were bizarre to say the least there was a basil & a cybil fawlty .
Breakfast was awful with few staff so was cold on arrival, the rooms were somthing out of a 1970's sitcom
And all this for a bargin £70.00 per nite
Take my advise if you value your health and sanity DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!

  • Liked — Leaving There
  • Disliked — The Smell
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't Go There
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank nettyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Margate hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
0.3 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Smiths Court Hotel
Smiths Court Hotel
#6 of 12 in Margate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.0 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#8 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#8 of 9 in Ramsgate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Hotel

Property: Glenwood Hotel
Address: 19-25 Edgar Road, Margate CT9 2EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Hotel Class:2 star — Glenwood Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Glenwood Hotel Cliftonville
Glenwood Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing