We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant staff”
Review of Glenwood Hotel

Glenwood Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Margate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenwood Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant staff”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The hotel is dated, the staff were friendly and helpful and no you don't get the efficiency you would from corporate trained staff, but be patient you get there in the end. The rooms were reached through an interesting maze of corridors but the room we had was clean, the bedding etc acceptable. I was concerned about the strange smell coming from the dining area and avoided dinner. I did go to breakfast. I was offered tea, coffee toast, there was an assortment of cereal and juices. I had bacon and egg which was fine. My only concern was the jam in jars. I don't want to eat anything that has had unknown cutlery dipped in it.
My biggest complaint is cockroaches. Two of our party had visitors. I know these can be a problem in old buildings, I would have stayed again, possibly, if in the area, but not with these.
The staff are doing a good job, the hotel is being tidied up, maybe a bit on the cheap side. The cheapest place I've ever stayed, can't really expect opulence. Margate is run down but the Turner Gallery and Old Town is well worth a visit. Glenwood does the job, no frills, but adequate. If you're not happy speak to the staff. I might give it a try in a while once the renovations are finished. Please do something with the dining area, it has so much potential, but please that beautiful floor is disgusting. Sand and varnish would inspire confidence. Tidy the staircase down so it doesn't look and smell like the entrance to Hades.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room. If it's not up to scratch, change it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    29
    20
    10
    33
See reviews for
12
29
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We attended a wedding in Margate and for some reason cheap hotels were few and far so eventually I found this one. It was just off the main seafront which in good weather is brilliant and easy to find. The welcome was very nice and the room although a bit mismatched was comfy and clean. The bed and pillows were great which is a result in itself ! I do so dislike silk flowers covering every surface and this hotel had quite a few vases of them going on and on the breakfast table too, but that is just my pet hate. The breakfast was good and my partner had poached eggs on toast and the eggs were very good which is another result! We would stay here again if we couldn't find anywhere else, but fair to them they are doing refurbishments so may be better next time.

Room Tip: Much the same I think .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holsnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed at The Glenwood with a party of 25 lads. Staff excellent, rooms clean and far better value than other seaside towns, breakfast fine (especially the lady serving them-a great laugh). Bar opened for us even when we returned late-all in all a great deal to be had at The Glenwood.

Margate itself is going through a small upheval and this leads to a couple of nice areas by the front (ie The Old Town). A tip however is try Broadstairs for the day ( can get there by bus or approx £6 in taxi from hotel) - greta little place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russwolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takeley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

After trying to alter booking by phone was told this was not possible !
On arrival the reservation could not be found !!
Someone somewhere wasn't being honest !!
The general state of the place is very dated and the location is amongst many undesirables !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Margate hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We did not come expecting luxury since we knew the hotel was half the price of all the others in he area. After reading the reviews we arrived a little apprehensive but the management and staff Could not have been more helpful (apart from the night porter of course). They provided us with a huge breakfast and brought us more of whatever we needed. The location was fairly good as we were attending a function in the immediate area but it was quite a walk from the centre of town (taxis are very cheap though). The rooms were dated but clean, even if the plumbing was a little nois. Nothing special but did the job for one night. Some of the more permanent guests made me feel like this was Definitely not a holiday spot but we got what we paid for and what we expected!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fayemorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend, was a bit apprehensive reading other reviews as it was a last min booking, but totally value for money. Hotel is very homely, staff are really friendly, helpful and nothing is too small. Breakfast each morning was nice, a good selection. The room was quite a fair size and accommodating, not a problem. Hotel is not far from shops, restaurants and the main beach, all within walking distance. Definitely would come back and highly recommendable. Value for money. Stayed here with my family of 3, sharing one room.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank adriansawyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarschot, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Booked this room 20 minutes before arriving after deciding against sleeping in the car. Room ok, bathroom REALLY small, both relatively clean. When flushing the toilet it kept making a lot of noice for a good 5 minutes. Thought I had broken it at first. Guy at arrival friendly, older man in the morning seemd a bit grumpy. On-street parking, free, but you have to be lucky to find a spot. Windows with single glass, lots of birds, awoken at 5 am. Also no decent blinds, so light came also in from around 5 am. Breakfast was a disaster. An older woman, all on her own (she was complaing to all guests), apparantly another lady had not shown up. Everything looked a bit dirty, so I ended up grabbing 2 bananas and checking out straight away... The room itself was defenitely ok, not so bad as said in other reviews. Although it should have been priced ten pounds cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank la_ragazza_mela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
0.4 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#3 of 12 in Margate
516 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
360 reviews
1.0 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#8 of 12 in Margate
22 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Hotel

Property: Glenwood Hotel
Address: 19-25 Edgar Road, Margate CT9 2EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Hotel Class:2 star — Glenwood Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Glenwood Hotel Cliftonville
Glenwood Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing