We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings”
Review of Glenwood Hotel

Glenwood Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Margate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenwood Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Margate
folkestone
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed there for over a month (should have been 6 months) - got threatened of physical violence by another guest (55 years old) who was stalking another younger woman (22 years old) for chatting to other guests in an assigned area by the hotel late in the morning. Nearly got police involved about that but didn't want to bring grief to hotel doors.

Had to leave the hotel as hotel owner looked at his bottom line and not his guest security.

Real disappointment as the staff are lovely, got on well with the hotel owner at the start but i guess money talks and truth suffers.

Last i check it was a hotel not a social service centre.

On the flip side the hotel rooms are clean, comfortable and the staff do go out of their way to help you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piprees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    29
    20
    10
    33
See reviews for
12
29
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is the 4th Time ive stayed here in the last 6 months. An excellent B &B. @ £25'00 pppn (depending on season) the value is superb. Breakfast cooked to order with all the juices and cereals.etc
Moving to Margate and this is where I would recommend friends and family to stay if I cannot accommodate them. You can now pay 5x as much and be hard pressed to get the same value.
100%recommendation

Room Tip: Just tell the staff what you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petercook100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Booked 2 single rooms, one was really nice and had a double bed and was a spacious, the other was drab and small, the staff were friendly and the reception was open all night!
Breakfast was very good!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

just been to the Glenwood hotel in Margate not the best 2 star hotel i have stayed in .welcome was freindly and the breakfast was good .problems were bar was not opened at all as it said in the room resturant not opend.The room could do with decorating

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevewebb1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My Title refers to Margate in General not the Hotel. I have never been before and the reason we decided to go was I wanted a cheap B&B near the sea and so Margate it was!

The Hotel is a bit frayed around the edges but I have to say I have no complaints about it at all. The staff are all very friendly, the night porter could be the spitting image of Mr Burns from The Simpsons! The Double Room I stayed in was large clean and comfy and the shower hot. Loads of choice for Breakfast including Cereal, fruit and a Fry Up.

It was quite sad really as Like Margate itself it's just struggling to survive. You can see where in it's hayday it was a thriving hotel and a thriving resort. There are a few little gems in Margate though, the Beach is Lovely, the old Town has some good pubs and independent restaurants and I totally recommend the Curry house Cinnamon for one of the best curries I have ever had!

I hope it improves in time, would be a shame to see Margate fade away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marieg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great service from staff hotel was very clean but the hotel looks tired but overall pleasant stay. Close to beach great breakfast staff was so helpfull great taxi service very big hotel free parking I would stay their again if ever I need to go back to margate I am how ever used to staying in 4. / 5 star but that weekend every were was booked up but again I was pleasantly surprised after reading negative reviews

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

A great budget hotel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and my single room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. The shower was hot - and very welcome after a soaking wet evening at the Sound Island Festival in Quex Park. I enjoyed breakfast the next morning, and the fresh coffee was an added surprise. I have paid more at other hotels for a lot less. Thank you everyone at The Glenwood for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margate hotels
0.4 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sherwood Hotel
Sherwood Hotel
#7 of 12 in Margate
73 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
349 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smiths Court Hotel
Smiths Court Hotel
#6 of 12 in Margate
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Hotel

Property: Glenwood Hotel
Address: 19-25 Edgar Road, Margate CT9 2EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Hotel Class:2 star — Glenwood Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Glenwood Hotel Cliftonville
Glenwood Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing