We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“flee-pit manor.”
Review of Glenwood Hotel

Glenwood Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenwood Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Reviewed September 3, 2012

for your heaths sake do not stay at this hotel.working all over the country i stay in different hotels and can honesly say this the worst hotel ever.the general state is seriously run down and generaly filthy,the staff have no idea what they are doing and cannot be botherd to help,the breakfast is cold mushrooms slimey,cereals are good but watch the milk its usualy off,do not complain you will be told that its your fault.bed was full of fleas and came away with 13 bites which made me ill over the next three days,towells are clean but they charge extra for clean towels on week-ends.police were called on two occasions because of immigrant dss residents who permantly live there.area is generally run down wach your valuables.better slill, sleep on a park bench its safer and cleaner.

Room Tip: there are no tips, hotel looks nothing like photos,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 107 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

Pictures of hotel and facilities looked o.k. but after seeing the hotel it is completely run down.
The staff were friendly the breakfast was average, the hotel boasts 53 rooms and I think only 8 were occupied this is a hotel in a run down area of Margate that even if money was spent on bringing it up to standard the area it is in will put people off.
My advice to the owners would be to do what most hoteliers seem to have done and that is sell up so that it can be converted to flats for the migrants that seem to flock to that area.

Room Tip: Not at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL!!!! I cannot put into words how DIRTY and DISGUSTING this hotel is...just believe me when I say I have stayed in cleaner shacks in third world countries!!! We stayed here for one night and we thank our lucky stars it wasn't for two nights like our friends we met there. Indeed, yes it is like something out of the twilight zone. We didn't even contemplate staying for breakfast on our friend’s advice, and upon seeing the FILTHY condition of the rooms we would never have considered it anyway. Regarding the night porter, yes we were lucky to get back in after our night out. MY BED had FLEAS ( YES REALLY..I squashed one!) and there was water pouring through the ceiling in the bay window (RM 11). On complaining as we left about the fleas the receptionist said we must have brought them with us! And apparently 3 other rooms had water coming in!) I really didn't have a response to that, although my friends came up with some great ones after..UNBELIEVABLE!!! The majority of rooms were occupied by DSS claimants. DO NOT STAY HERE!!! All this for a £80 per double per night..truly shocking!

Room Tip: ALL FILTHY...wouldn't recommend ANY!
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
5  Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I have never reviewed a hotel before but on this occasion I felt compelled to. I stayed here for one night with some friends. We decided not to eat here because my friends had already been served a cold breakfast the morning we arrived and milk that was off . My friends saw in the kitchen that the breakfasts were cooked prior to people being seated for breakfast.
It rained on the Sunday morning and water leaked in the room.
Worst of all was that my friend found a couple of fleas in her bed, when we complained about this on departure, the receptionist stated that we could have brought them with us ............................. unbelievable and downright insulting!!!
The only good thing I would say is that the towels were clean and white.
This is truly the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and they had the cheek to charge £80 for a double room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Do not book this hotel!!!! We stayed here for two nights and thought it was something out of the twilight zone. Breakfast was inedible - and was stone cold. We think it was cooked a few days prior - the mushrooms were probably a week old! The milk was off and had to send the elderly night porter to get some milk. Cutlery still had saliva marks from last guest Talking about the night porter we had to ring bell constantly when we came back to wake him up. The bed had fleas and there was water pouring in through the window. On complaining about the fleas the receptionist said we must have brought them with us. The curtains didnt fit and wouldnt shut. Most of rooms occupied by Dss claiments. They were fighting over a can off special brew when we left. Our friends wallet was also stolen. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: There is no good rooms...just dont go!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed at the Glenwood Hotel 21st July and thank god it was only for one night.
The rooms were very basic and the television did not work. The curtains were white and the outside light shone through all night.
I found the owners were very rude when I complaned about the television.
The room cost £80.00 a night for myself and girlfriend I would not of paid more than £40.00 thats all it was worth.

Room Tip: Cannot think of anything
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank matthew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

A big group of us stayed at The Glenwood on Decemeber 2010. It was a large group of work colleagues. We are all approx 18-35 years old and we were in Margate for our Christmas party and training. It also happened to be at the same time as the Glenwood's Turkey and Tinsel, so alot of older guests were present. The owners made it quite clear that we werent welcome, when serving breakdfast. The lady offered us beans with our fry up, when we said 'yes please', she said 'tough, we havnt got any!'. She also restricted us to one small glass of orange juice each, and if we went near to jug for more, she moaned. However, the middle aged guy who was managing the bar was very friendly and accommodating...UNLIKE THE OWNERS!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank laura h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
0.1 mi away
Sherwood Hotel
Sherwood Hotel
#6 of 12 in Margate
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
322 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
750 reviews
1.2 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#8 of 12 in Margate
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Hotel

Address: 19-25 Edgar Road, Margate CT9 2EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Hotel Class:2 star — Glenwood Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Glenwood Hotel Cliftonville
Glenwood Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing