We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“/first time experience”
Review of TY-8

TY-8
Ranked #44 of 186 Restaurants in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Malaysian, Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“/first time experience”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were first taken to this eating place by my son and his wife.
They had been their several times and always raved about it!
We went with open minds and were very surprised to find how much we, too, enjoyed it. There is a good choice of menu and the food is absolutely excellent. Well cooked and well presented. Something different and worthy of mention here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    16
    7
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Not exception, but okay ...”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Compared to other 'all you can eat' restaurants I have used, this one is not exceptional either in service or quality of food. Having said that, the food was acceptable and edible, even if the service was a bit frosty.

They offer a large number of dishes, but have to say I didn't think the Thai dishes were very authentic.

An okay way to fill-a-gap, rather than a good dining experience. Not sure I would make a return visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Orchid4841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always a lovely dining experience”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I've been to Ty-8 many times and the food is always delicious.

Their Squid Delight is one of the most delicious things I've ever eaten in my life and it's one of the driving forces behind me visiting the restaurant so often! I crave the stuff.
All the food is beautiful though, they have a huge variety of dishes to choose from in the all you can eat menu and there's no way you'll be going home hungry.

Always had fantastic service, friendly staff, lovely atmosphere and all at a very affordable price! Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank thinreaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant in Thanet”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We have often visited this "all you can eat"restaurant with family and friends and have never been disappointed .The menu is vast serving Thai,Malay and Chinese food.The service is wonderful and the food always piping hot and very tasty.

Helpful?
1 Thank Eddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good experience, but a bit pricey”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Food was good, but a bit expensive. Would not recommend buying drinks, unless willing to pay a small fortune: £2 for a small bottle of coke/lemonade.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalysha92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TY-8 also viewed

Margate, Isle of Thanet
 
Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to TY-8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing