We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
Review of The Burlington

The Burlington
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Margate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Burlington
Ranked #8 of 11 Margate B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Spotless large room with very friendley host Richard . I was in Margate to attend a film festival and would recommend the Burlington to anyone thinking of staying in the town.Close to everyting and aim to stay there again. Craig

Room Tip: seaview at the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigAvery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 59 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

A lovely one night stay at the Burlington. Very easy to find and right on the sea front. A wonderfully warm welcome from Richard who even provided fresh fruit in my room because i told him i only ate bananas for breakfast. A very warm clean room with a sea view and a very very comfortable bed. I would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Three of us needed to be in Margate for the weekend, and so wanted a no-nonsense family room (to keep costs down) without any fuss that it was three blokes sharing the room. That's exactly what we found at The Burlington and it was a great price.

We were right next to the train station, but Margate's old town was only down the promenade, so good location.

We were given our own proper door key so could let ourselves in (at 2.30am) and there were no prying questions, totally discreet, friendly and professional. Will defs use it again if I'm in Margate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Good hotel with updated decor at a great price. The room was clean. There was no cigarette odor in the room or lobby. The staff was friendly and helpful with local information. I would definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Following a surprise phone call i needed to find somewhere at a good price available with short notice. I phoned 3 hotels, one was full and two went to voicemail
i had just about given up when i saw The Burlington on the internet.
i phoned, they answered and booked me in.
i have never been to Margate, but felt at home in this nice and well-priced hotel. Centrally located with helpful friendly staff and i advice a trip to The Burlington.
thanks again, Anastasia

Room Tip: Choose room 6,7 or 8, when the cleaner was cleaning i saw the were the biggest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anastasia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have been to may hotels in Margate and frankly this is now the only one i would recommend to those who dont know the area.

The staff were helpfull and knowledgeable.

The food was good and the rooms were clean and well fitted.

I have travelled around the world and its nice to have a homely but still professional stay.

Thanks to Richard, Sarah and John the taxi man !

See you soon

J

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jez P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I stayed there for one night with my two friends (all female, 20s/30s, one married and one engaged!). In the morning as we were getting ready to leave one of the owners hammered on our door and told us he had just seem a man leave our room which he had told us the night before was not allowed. This man had definitely NOT come out of our room. When we denied it and asked why would we bring one man back in a shared room of 3 he said that we were "feral London [--]" along with many other aggressive and offensive insults and physically forced us out the front door and shut it in our faces. It was half hilarious and half incredibly upsetting. We were left really shaken and confused. I would recommend no one ever stays here as this owner obviously has some serious issues.
Apart from that the room was OK.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lcapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard W, Owner at The Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

We are sorry you were unhappy with your stay, it states clearly no smoking in the rooms & no extra guests, obviously we are unhappy when people do not stick to these guidelines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margate hotels
0.9 mi away
Sherwood Hotel
Sherwood Hotel
#6 of 12 in Margate
82 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Warwick Guest House
The Warwick Guest House
#2 of 11 in Margate
162 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bay Guest House
The Bay Guest House
#3 of 11 in Margate
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beachview Margate
Beachview Margate
#9 of 11 in Margate
16 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hussar Hotel
Hussar Hotel
#7 of 11 in Margate
65 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westbrook Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burlington

Address: 8 Buenos Ayres, Margate CT9 5AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Margate
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Burlington Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing