We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”
Review of Margate Museum

Margate Museum
Ranked #7 of 53 things to do in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This museum is housed in the former police station/magistrates court and has retained many of its original fittings. It is an eclectic but interesting display of items relating to Margate's development, with particular emphasis on the late 20th century. The volunteer staff are very enthusiastic, and they bring the exhibits alive. Without such knowledge and enthusiasm the museum could be a little dry. I think it is best suited to adults. It's well worth the small entrance fee.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank weekendfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    42
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great piece of social history”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Margate Museum is right in the heart of Margate old town and is a great way to find out about Margate through the ages. Over 2 floors it covers the museums previous use as a police office and magistrates court as well as it's role in the wars and its heyday as a beach resort.

I found it particularly brilliant as it includes a display on members of my family who were police officers in the town in the late nineteenth and early twentieth century, the displays have been created with respect and love and the volunteers there are well informed and friendly,

Extremely well priced - we opted for a shared ticket with the nearby Tudor house for £2.50 pp

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“hidden treasure”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

As we were walking through the old town we stumbled across this museum. There is an entry fee but only £1.50 It is inside the old town hall and has a large number of exhibits and pictures on the history of Margate. The guides are both informative and approachable.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank mick1253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Soooo interesting”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I don't know why I didn't visit here sooner. The exhibition is enthralling whether or not you are local. This museum is run by volunteers and they have first hand knowledge of many of the exhibits. Well worth a visit or two.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank MarniesMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandown, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“margate museum and the mods”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I have only popped into this museum a couple of times but my other half helped the museum out the other year when they did an article on mods and rockers and the youth unrest during the 60s. Yes he was a mod and was happy to give information and to talk over old times with the people who came to the exhibit. His friend the rocker Roger sadly died the other year yes friend they may have knocked the hell out of each other during the 60s only to become friends with respect for each other later on in life. A small but well contained museum the staff are always friendly and helpful and if its raining one day if you cant go on the beach go along and have a look

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank jane1pig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margate Museum also viewed

Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 
Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Margate Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing