We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely on a nice day”

Margate Harbour Arm
Ranked #10 of 53 things to do in Margate
Attraction details
Birchington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Lovely on a nice day”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Well worth a walk out along the harbour arm on a nice day to enjoy the panoramic view of Margate....

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank theoloyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    53
    28
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
629 reviews
219 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Transformed”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Over the last 18 months I have made a number of visits to Margate harbour arm and have been amazed at how it has been transformed. Bebeached restaurant was the first thing I noticed when I attended a private view at the Harbour Arm Gallery last spring. I enjoyed a superb lunch there that day and have had several since. It's lovely to sit outside in summer and look back over the sands to the new steps (which look rather like Varenassi's Ghats in Eastern India - all we need is some monks and a few ladies in colourful saris). The view is outstanding. So different to what it was a few years ago. I now visit it regularly and am never disappointed.

The gallery - when there is an exhibition - is avery nice space. I would love to exhibit there. Even better, I now find that a few buildings along, a new Micropub has opened up. For those who do not know what a Micropub is (they do not brew on the premises, that is a Microbrwery) have a look at micropub dot org. It is a lovely simple establishment named The Harbour Arms (no surprise there) which smells of the sea and serves excellent local real ales straight from the barrel. There is a traditional pub nearer the end of the arm, then a landing stage where it is necessary for boatmen to climb quite a few steps on the wall ladders to reach the top. This makes for good entertainment.

You could spend a whole day on this harbour arm and not get bored, which is more than can be said for the average seaside town pier these days. Very well done Thanet Council and all concerned.

Be warned, the public toilets next to the micropub should be in a museum. They hark back to a different age of public conveniences.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donsafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Harbour Arm”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

As the entire harbour arm there is much diversity from food, good wines and champagnes to art. Close knit community with the most fantasic sunset views. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 712carron2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice views, and most of the units are now in use”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Had a short stretch of the legs after a wander around the Turner Gallery. It seems to be prospering - what were once closed up units are now businesses. I didn't try the cafe or pubs, but both looked worth future investigation. There's a small gallery, and a nice shell based statue at the end. Not an overly attractive Harbour, but far from ugly, and it's a good place to view the fabulous skies Margate is renowned for.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Man_about_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice view”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

You have some great places to choose to stop and eat or just drink Ifbyou wish. When you sit there you have lovely viewscof the old town and the new flood break looks good too.

Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margate Harbour Arm also viewed

Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 
Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Margate Harbour Arm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing