We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and helpful staff”
Review of The Hoy

The Hoy
Ranked #42 of 181 Restaurants in Margate
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Grill Style Steaks Burgers classic British Foods & Light Bites
London, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food and helpful staff”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Visited The Hoy for the third time yesterday evening and again the food and service were outstanding. The food is very reasonably priced and perfectly cooked and the drinks are very competitive. We will both be returning

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank al_itfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    65
    17
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Margate, Kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Much improved!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We ate with friends last week and had a lovely meal. The meat platter was delicious. I think the drink prices used to be very expensive but it was more reasonable this time. My only annoyance was that the staff need more training - they are lovely girls but they ought to know what prosecco is when the wine list is not that extensive! Nice atmosphere too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PitawayirpurseJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, excellent food”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Had a day trip to Margate to visit the Turner Gallery (and Hornby Museum).
Found The Hoy opposite The Turner and had a fab lunch.
The staff were so friendly, the food was excellent (great fish and chips) and very good value.
Would highly recommend what must be the best pub in Margate.
Shame we do not live closer!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank e11traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb fish, friendly staff.”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Combined a trip to the Turner Contemporary with family supper at The Hoy. We both agreed the the tuna was superb. Reasonably priced - especially if you go for the 'Special'. Staff were friendly, which was particularly nice for our young daughter.
Recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scarlet23Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Brilliant place fab food even flabbergasted staff!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Well as a Whitstable girl I thought I knew what good fish and chips were but their batter is truly scrumptious!
Eaten here twice this week and can't wait to come back.
The menu is very comprehensive the a la carte imaginative but their specials menu is amazing value without the cheaply dishes often put on.
Not only is the food cracking but but the staff are attentive and knowledgable about their food.
I love the way they care for the community book now for their Breast Cancer evening reasonable price with entertainment in a good cause.
If you are going to the Turner make a booking!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hoy also viewed

Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to The Hoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing