We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the title”

The Mechanical Elephant - J D Wetherspoon
Ranked #89 of 189 Restaurants in Margate
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
swindon wiltshire
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Loved the title”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

As always brilliant food and coffee as per all Weatherspoons, should imagine even better in the summer as it is located on the seafront

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank fuglycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    81
    57
    25
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Thank god there is one decent place in margate”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stopped here for coffee after arriving in margate. Prices are reasonable, coffee was great and toilets were spotless. We came back the next morning for breakfast. So glad we did. Food was lovely. My husband had large cooked breakfast which was great and my son had child's breakfast which he really enjoyed. I had eggs Benedict which were gorgeous. All this 3 orange juices a tea and a coffee was £17! Excellent .

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good food and but ok pub”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went to the Wetherspoon for a bite to eat so the staff was helpful and polite. The food was very hot to eat anyway of hot chips and steak. The design need bit of lick of paint with brighter anyway. We shall come back again to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
1 review
“poor srevice”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

food was fine,service was poor ,it was'nt busy but the staff were slow if bother at all.waited a long time to get served,while the waitress went out to the office for 10 mins,then went round the corner to speak on her phone,gave up sat down.went back awhile late and she still did'nt want to serve us.waited until the guy came back and got served.first time we have been there,don't know at this point if we will go back,if you can't get serve in a empty bar what chance have you got if busy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A bit mixed but still ok!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

It depends when you go. Like all weatherspoons the food is cheap and cheerful. However due to cheap alcoholic drinks you can get a mixed bunch of people in there. I feel the staff can be bothered when it is a weekday and during the day. If you decide to go dinner time on a Friday it is all young staff with a huge lack of manners! They are obviously clearly employed for the busy night aheadand want to get it done or stand behind the bar in a group laughing and joking. All round on a weekday it is lovely.
One thing though, the female manager is very grumpy and never smiles!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crabshack6612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mechanical Elephant - J D Wetherspoon also viewed

 

Been to The Mechanical Elephant - J D Wetherspoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing