We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly special experience”
Review of The Reading Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Margate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Reading Rooms
Ranked #2 of 13 Margate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A truly special experience”
Reviewed April 17, 2010

My partner booked The Reading Rooms for my 50th Birthday celebrations after I had mentioned seeing on Hotel Rescue.
This is a truly wonderful B and B that deserves all the high praise received since opening. The bedrooms and bathrooms are sumptious. The breakfast in the room made us feel thoroughily spoilt and the views of the trees blowing in the wind and the sea in the distance were a delight.
We had two excellent dinners at the Indian and Italian, both of which were recommended by Louise and Liam.
This is a very professionally run business that has got every detail spot on.
I have come back feeling refreshed which is what a break should do!!!
Thank you both

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank number29Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    19
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
171
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Utterly tremendous. We stayed for one night over the Easter holidays and we wished we'd booked for longer. We stayed in Room 1 - and it's every bit as luxurious as the photos on the website suggest. Attention to detail throughout the bedroom and stunning bathroom was spot on - little touches such as fresh milk with the tea/coffee and complimentary slippers to pad around the place really made this place sing. With such enormous windows and high ceilings, my main concern was always going to be the heating, but some very effective underfloor heating in the bedroom combined with some gorgeous antique radiators in the bathroom ensured that the place was consistently toasty. However fantastic the room was though, I have to say that my favourite bit was having a delicious breakfast delivered to the room at a time when we specified. Why on earth do more places not do this?? It's so civilised - no silent dining rooms to contend with - no interaction with strangers over the breakfast table - no getting dressed and showered before you face your sausages - it's brekkie as it should be - fried and in your pyjamas - absolutely brilliant!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millem101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomsbury
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

the beds are soo comfortable at the reading rooms, that i didn't want to get up and out. i could have stayed all day lounging in the top floor room with the sunshine streaming through the windows...the only reason i finally did get out of bed was to have the most luscious and sumptious vegetarian cooked breakfast ever...there was grilled haloumi!!!!

then i would have got back to bed, but i had to try the bathtub...after having an earlier shower in the spacious bathroom with double sinks...mmmm....so worth getting dirty for.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherry_cakemix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

I had looked forward to coming to the Reading Rooms for so long, and my husband said it could never match up to my very high expectations. But I am glad to say he was wrong! Everything was just as I had hoped for, from the stylish decor, to the luxurious bathrooms, the delicious food and the charming hosts. It was really wonderful and I'm so glad we treated ourselves to this lovely weekend break. I wish Louise and Liam every success with this great business venture.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScaryCanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2010

The Reading Rooms is a beautiful B&B with 3 equally well appointed rooms each with the most luxurious ensuite. Our bathroom was bigger in size than my bedroom at home and the roll top bath was somehow just the perfect length for myself at 5ft 6 tall and my partner at 6ft tall. Having breakfast made especially for you and delivered to your room at whatever time you wanted was the ultimate treat.
They have restored the Georgian house carefully revealing its history but allowing the best of todays requirements for modern living to sit comfortably alongside the Georgian splendour.
Louise and Liam are very helpful and knowledgeable about the local area, able to advise on restaurants and sights to see in the area, offering to book tables where necessary. My partner and I are planning when we can go back for another restful viist.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polly011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

We stayed for a night on the first floor and then moved to the top floor our next night. Both rooms were beautifully furnished and contained all modern conveniences including a DVD player and wifi connection. The bathrooms were luxurious, each with a claw foot tub and his and hers sinks. There was a large and varied selection of fresh organic produce for breakast which was carefully prepared and served in our rooms. The owners Louise and Liam were warm, gracious and generous and their recommendations for nearby places to eat were spot on. I cannot recommend this lovely place enough.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

My girlfriend and were simply amazed at "how right" the friendly and welcoming owners have got this place - simply wonderful, we stayed in room 2 and at 6ft 2" I managed to have a long soak in a bath that I could fit in - a rareity !! The ambience and decor of the building needs to be experienced - absolutely first class !! Ian J ..........

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margate hotels
0.2 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
685 reviews
0.9 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
0.7 mi away
Smiths Court Hotel
Smiths Court Hotel
#6 of 12 in Margate
395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sherwood Hotel
Sherwood Hotel
#7 of 12 in Margate
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reading Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reading Rooms

Property: The Reading Rooms
Address: 31 Hawley Square, Margate CT9 1PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique bed and breakfast in a grade II listed Georgian townhouse. Three rooms, each occupying an entire floor of a 1760s house, overlooking a tree lined historic square at the edge of Margate's Old Town, situated 5 minutes walk from the seafront and the Turner Contemporary gallery. Each room has it's own large private fully tiled ensuite with a roll-top bath, walk in mosaic shower with floor to ceiling glass shower screen and double basin. Beds are bespoke hand-carved super king size from East London based specialists La Maison, luxury complimentary toiletries from Ren Skincare. Wardrobes are french armoires. Breakfasts, featuring fresh pressed juices and local produce are served as room service, delivered at a time of the guest's choosing on antique butler trays and served on dining tables by the window. Dressing gowns and slippers provided. Free super fast wifi is available in each room. We're only bookable exclusively direct, unavailable on booking sites. Just Google us and we're there! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Reading Rooms Hotel Margate
The Reading Rooms Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing