We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Reading Rooms
Nearby Hotels
Sands Hotel(Margate)
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$118
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Smiths Court Hotel(Margate)(Great Value!)
$73
$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Margate Westwood(Margate)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Margate Hotel(Margate)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sherwood Hotel(Margate)(Great Value!)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveler rating
188
21
6
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
188
21
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsren productsroll top bathtop floorgeorgian squarequiet squarewalk in showerold towndouble sinksmassive bathroomincredible breakfastsash windowsthree roomsromantic breakhome cooked breakfastturner gallerybeautiful buildinglovely couple
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 216 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in the Room 1 on the first floor. It has lovely high ceilings, floor to ceiling windows and a top notch bathroom.

Pros:
- Bathroom was perfect, wonderful Ren toiletries, we especially loved the bath tub.
- Bed was very comfy, not to mention huge.
- DVDs, tea and coffee, hair dryer and radio all provided.
- Breakfasts are delicious.
- Excellent wi-fi signal!
- Breakfasts served in the room.
- Freshly squeezed juices!
- Owners were very quick to respond to any messages.

Cons:
- Being on the first floor meant there was noise from the room above- unavoidable really, but perhaps something to consider when choosing rooms?
- There was a fair amount of shouting from next door/downstairs (??) and dogs barking.
- Hot water was a little dodgy during our stay- but this was fixed within a couple of hours.

Margate isn't for everyone, but we had a lovely few days rest and relaxation here. There wasn't a huge amount of things to do there but this suited us just fine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had the top floor room and stayed for 4 days. The pluses are the attentive owners, the delicious breakfasts, the comfy bed, the quality Ren products and the large bathroom. However, as it operates now there are drawbacks.

1. Check in isn't until 4pm which is too late. We gathered that you could arrange for an earlier check-in but we still felt that, after a long trip from London, we wanted to rest up at 2pm, not have to hang around for another 2 hrs.

2. The house is in various stages of renovation and so each room is, as it were, your only living area. We could sit at a tiny breakfast table or on the bed. It quickly became like an expensive gaol where our breakfast was brought to us and then we had a choice of our room or going out. There was no lounge or communal area to relax, have a drink or coffee and perhaps get to mingle. We felt isolated and that was a real drawback if you are confined to your room.

3. It is a LONG way up the stairs to the top floor and there is no lift. It would not be possible to carry heavy suitcases up the stairs without help and people with mobility problems should not stay on the second or third floor.

4. As the owners don't appear to live on the premises - but we are happy to be corrected on this point - you must telephone them if you want anything. As there are no phones in the room this is expensive for non-Europeans and a real inconvenience. However, the owners were quick to assist after being called.

5. The WIFI did not work in the bedroom and was very weak in the bathroom.

6. It is located adjacent to a park but there was only a slim view of the sea and really no view as such. We assume that there would be no view of the sea from the lower two rooms. Given that we had gone to Margate we expected a sea view - but we could have made enquiries beforehand so we'll leave that as a comment and not a criticism.

7. No ceiling fans - we would suggest that if it was really hot then the room would only be cooled by air flow through the windows, which is not an optimal solution. We aren't suggesting air-cons but ceiling fans would be suitable for the style of the place.

7. Not value for money. This one is also difficult to suggest but we felt that it wasn't value for money. As we will never be back to Margate we cannot compare to other places in town. We expected more.

Most of these issues can be addressed by the owners. At the end of the day we were disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ChrisandGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseOldfield, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We're really glad that you enjoyed so many of the things that our guests appreciate such as our breakfasts, the awesome superking bed from La Maision in London and the gorgeous Ren Skincare goodies in our bathrooms.

From some of your comments we wonder if you had thought you were booking into a larger hotel. Breakfast at The Reading Rooms is a private and bespoke affair. We offer room service as standard. It's one of the main reasons why many of our guests choose to stay with us. So you get our whole menu to choose from, at whatever time you choose all delivered to your room on a large antique butler tray, along side a breakfast dining table.
Room 3 table: http://www.flickr.com/photos/rr_margate/4799833778/
Our breakfast: http://www.flickr.com/photos/rr_margate/4799834774/

Room service isn't because we are renovating the house. Perhaps you have misunderstood our decor. We have lots of pictures of our house on our website and also in the many reviews. Perhaps a larger hotel where you might find guests who wish to mingle with other guests would have been more to your liking. Our guests tend to book for some private time relaxing.

You stayed in room 3. It's at the top of the house. This is described in our access statement on our website and on the room 3 web page. We also often discuss issues like stairs if they are a problem for guests. We're an 1760's town house with 3 rooms. We don't have a lift. We were happy to lift your suitcases to your room and also back down on check out. Perhaps, again, you might have preferred a hotel with a lift.

We do live in the house on the basement and ground floors. We try our best to be on hand if needed. Glad you found that we were quick to assist your needs.

We're not on the seafront. We overlook the town to the sea. We think the view is lovely over the roof tops of Margate and Cliftonville Here is a photo:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/rr_margate/10425890146/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Celebrated our 12th wedding anniversary in Margate and decided to stay @ The Reading Rooms, and what a fantastic choice we made.
The room & bathroom was huge and so tastefully decorated. The breakfast (which you could have anytime if not a check out day) was the nicest we'd had, the little touches just made it.
The fact it was brought to your room with a table & chairs set up won it for us.
Thank you Louise & Liam.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2, room 3 probably best due to being on top floor with no movement noise above
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseOldfield, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We have quite a lot of guests enjoying a quiet romantic celebration of an anniversary or other special occasion. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Perfect place to relax and recharge; lovely room with space and style; every comfort you could wish for in a B&B, all provided with great friendliness and care. I will be looking for an excuse to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sellar_vj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseOldfield, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're glad you felt well looked after so you could relax. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Reading Rooms is a absolutely lovely boutique B&B. Its a beautiful Georgian town house set in a lovely square over looking a park. The house has been lovingly restored by the young owners. Original features preserved and victoria radiators fitted. The bedroom (we had rm 3 on third floor) was stunning with smaller windows than other rooms but added atmosphere of visible roof beams. The bed was king size or prehaps super king size, it was definately super comfortable.
The breakfast stole the show. Served in your room which i like to avoid awkward morning conversations with strangers when hungover or just not awake and feeling shy. The breakfast could be chosen from a long list and was excellent in quality and quantity. organic ingredients freshly squeezed juices and smoothies etc etc.
Margate is a quirky seaside town. It has lots of lovely Georgian buildings a lovely new gallery with many smaller galleries and cafes and restaurants in the old town. However Margate clearly has lots of poverty too, as do vast areas of the UK following 30yrs of neo liberal policies and cut backs. Charles Dickens used to live in Margate and he could certainly tell a story or two if he was to return.
Margate also has a lovely coastline with a choice of paths around it. These are great for walking or running along. Then youve got the lovely house to recover in to sleep,just relax or alternatively maker le luuve

2  Thank Nozzler50
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LouiseOldfield, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. The bed is indeed Superking! Margate is moving through stages of regeneration. It's what makes it so exciting to visit for many of our guests. There are so many lovely aspects to the town and coast line. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews