We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room, sumptuous breakfast”
Review of The Reading Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Margate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Reading Rooms
Ranked #1 of 11 Margate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the Reading Rooms for one night on a long weekend around the Kent coast. Margate has an appealing air of decayed grandeur (sadly amid some hideous 70s redevelopment) and the Reading Rooms matches its style well. One among a square of slightly faded town houses, it boasts a bare plaster hallway and wood floored bedrooms. Ours was the first floor room, beautifully spacious and light with 3 floor-length shuttered windows, a large comfy bed and elegant chandelier. The room was generously equipped with sat TV, DVD player, good coffee, bottled water, selection of teas, quality toiletries and good biscuits.. The bathroom was attractive and huge - with a deep bath, large shower and double sinks. Breakfast is served to a table in your room which feels very indulgent and the breakfast menu was great - cooked and continental choices, fresh berries and fresh squeezed juices, I had the cooked vegetarian and this was delicious. 5 mins stroll from the front, ideal if you like it quieter and don't insist on a sea view. Only 1 slight negative - I thought the building lacked kerb appeal - maybe the brown window frames and door and the oddly tiled steps. But as soon as they opened the door I was won over. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenelizabeth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseOldfield, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. The house was built in the 1760s and the brown colour is the original paint colour we found as we stripped the windows back as part of the restoration. The tiles on the steps are odd perhaps, but part of the house's history from the 1950s. Perhaps Margate is like this, a hidden layer of something else inside. Thanks again and we're glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 210 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

We arrived in Margate not really knowing what to expect. But once we got into our room it became clear that this was definitely a place we would return to. A huge bed and bathroom. Beautiful Georgian windows and an amazing breakfast served in your room at the time of your choice. The owners have an expansive knowledge of the local area. Not just places to eat but some of the more hidden gems that might not come up on an internet search. In truth because of the wonderful weather we probably did not make the most of the room. So next time I visit it will be in the winter. Making proper use of the huge free standing bath.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseOldfield, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Margate is indeed full of hidden surprises. It's kind of why we moved here and a bit how the house works too. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just back from a wonderful stay at The Reading Rooms. Totally gorgeous room with the nicest bathroom I've ever seen! Lots of really nice touches with no detail overlooked - from the lovely bedding, the DVD's in the room, nice toiletries in the bathroom etc etc. The breakfast was like something you would get at a Four Seasons Hotel. Again, no detail overlooked. Everything absolutely wonderful including the delivery of the sunday papers! Location is great as a base to visit the lovely Kent Coast. We had 2 great meals in Whitstable and Broadstairs which are definitely worth checking out. Also, lots of great beaches within a short drive with Botony Bay a must see. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoryCro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseOldfield, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thanks so much! We try to put special things in the rooms that matter to guests. We have some cracking restaurants around the wider area too as well as Margate. Thanks very much for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We found the Reading Rooms by chance but we definitely we heartened to book due to the fantastic reviews on trip advisor & I agree with the lot!
The decor in the hallway is 'shabby chic' but the rooms are elegant with a HUGE bed & beautiful bathroom with roll top bath & luxurious products from REN. My only tip would be to take ear plugs if you aren't used to seagulls although the house & square are very quiet so not a criticism at all!
The breakfasts are sumptuous & I love the idea of ticking your choices the night before & having it served to your room- feels very decadent but obviously a stroke of genius on the whole 'space saving/ not needing a dining room' front!
Louise & Liam are lovely hosts, discrete but there for recommendations if asked. We would highly recommend the fantastic Sportsman in Whitstable with a browse around the shops afterwards to walk off the lunch! Also, the Ambrette just 5 minutes walk from the Reading Rooms did very tasty contempary Indian food.
We didn't find much to do in Margate itself but for a weekend escape it fitted the bill perfectly!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheekychet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseOldfield, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Our guests really enjoy indulging with the Ren products in our bathrooms. And so glad you enjoyed the concept of a private decadent breakfast! Yes, the seagulls come with the coast. We have more respect for them now we know they're monogamous pairs and live for up to 35 years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

There are four things I want when I'm staying away from home; wifi and enough space to get the laptop out and work when I arrive, a decent bath or shower, a comfortable and quiet bed, and a decent breakfast to send me on the way. It's rare to find one place that delivers them all (I travel a lot, so have tested a lot of rooms) but The Reading Rooms does it all.

Rooms take up a whole floor, and are well designed to reflect the history of this beautiful building while offering modern comfort and facilities. Wifi is good, there's space to spread out, proper ground coffee is provided rather than cheap instant and there are TV, games and books as distractions.

There's a choice of a big bath, or a powerful shower, and really good toiletries are provided in decent quantities. There are big, soft towels and plenty of them. Beds are huge, and very comfortable, and the building is in a quiet Georgian square so sleep is undisturbed.

And breakfast - choose from a big menu - is delivered to your room when you want it.

Keep your cheaper b&bs with flowery wallpaper and communal breakfasts. The Reading Rooms is hotel perfection and makes Margate a town worth visiting.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseOldfield, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! When we first started to develop the Reading Rooms we were asked why we didn't fit in more guest rooms into what is a big house. But in the end we decided it was more faithful to the building and for the quality of the guest experience to have fewer rooms at a much higher standard than more rooms with the necessity to squeeze in ensuites. Really glad you enjoyed spreading out and enjoying the space!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a great stay at the Reading Rooms this month. The owners are there when you need them and leave you alone otherwise. Perfect. The outfit of the rooms is "understated luxury", with everything you need there (incl a great selection of DVDs) and no nonsense added.

A great plus is the fact that Liam grew up in Italy, so he knows his food. The breakfast is delicious and the recommendations for food in town trustworthy.

One thing in particular I"d like to give a special mention to is the plumbing. Strange? Not so. Think fabulous Georgian house with instant running hot water, plentiful. Or as Liam summed it up so fittingly "German plumbing, Polish labour, Italian design". VERY WELL DONE!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilonanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseOldfield, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thanks so much for your review! Glad you had a great time and enjoyed your holiday. We enjoy eating in our local restaurants and always happy to share that! The reference to plumbing made us smile as it was a tough brief for our plumber to fulfill. Roll top baths and showers on each floor of the 5 storey building and everyone to have immediate hot water. you have to have a great bathing experience when travelling. Many thanks again for coming to stay with us and for writing us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We enjoyed a delightful nights stay at the Reading Rooms . What a fantastic B&B . The attention to detail was superb ... Beautiful furniture , sumptious bedlinen , lovely Ren products and fantastic breakfast .. Served in our lovely room . My husband rated the cooked breakfast 10 /10 whilst i had muesli and yoghurt ... Lovingly prepared and presented . We stayed in Room 1 . Liam and Louise were great hosts ... Very friendly and attentive . The Reading Rooms is a credit to them . Margate however was a bit dissapointing .... It stil needs time to develop and get back to the place it once was .
Bea and Andrew

Room Tip: Any of the three rooms . Rooms one and two have Views over the square and the top room has a sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseOldfield, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thanks so much Bea and Andrew for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate it.
It was a pleasure to meet you both. We know Margate is a town that is still changing, but even in the last few months it seems like every week a new shop, hotel, cafe etc opens. We opened a year and a half before Turner Contemporary, so we know our guests loved the beaches and surrounding area without all the shops that then came with the gallery. Thanks so much for coming to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Margate hotels
0.2 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
744 reviews
0.9 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
533 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#3 of 12 in Margate
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sherwood Hotel
Sherwood Hotel
#7 of 12 in Margate
82 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
0.7 mi away
Smiths Court Hotel
Smiths Court Hotel
#6 of 12 in Margate
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reading Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reading Rooms

Address: 31 Hawley Square, Margate CT9 1PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Margate
Price Range: $126 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique bed and breakfast in a grade II listed Georgian townhouse. Three rooms, each occupying an entire floor of a 1760s house, overlooking a tree lined historic square at the edge of Margate's Old Town, situated 5 minutes walk from the seafront and the Turner Contemporary gallery. Each room has it's own large private fully tiled ensuite with a roll-top bath, walk in mosaic shower with floor to ceiling glass shower screen and double basin. Beds are bespoke hand-carved super king size from East London based specialists La Maison, luxury complimentary toiletries from Ren Skincare. Wardrobes are french armoires. Breakfasts, featuring fresh pressed juices and local produce are served as room service, delivered at a time of the guest's choosing on antique butler trays and served on dining tables by the window. Dressing gowns and slippers provided. Free super fast wifi is available in each room. We're only bookable exclusively direct, unavailable on booking sites. Just Google us and we're there! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Reading Rooms Hotel Margate
The Reading Rooms Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing