We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place - good for more artistic types”
Review of The Reading Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Margate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Reading Rooms
Ranked #2 of 11 Margate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had this place recommended to us - and it did not disappoint. Beautiful room with excellent facilities, huge modern bathroom, more traditional (but arty) main room with plenty of space and crisp white linen, and loads of towels. You order breakfast in advance (a brilliant set of options) and it arrives in your room at the requested time. You won't need lunch afterwards. Plenty of decent coffee always available in the room, nothing was too much trouble for the owner. Enjoy for that special night away - it is pricey!

Room Tip: The higher the room, the more view you get! But if you don't do lots of stairs, go for the lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlwmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 212 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

I booked the Reading Rooms as part of a gift for my husband when coming to Margate to see Simple Minds play at the Winter Gardens. I wasn't sure what to expect of Margate, as the last time I visited was when I was 13 on a school trip which was horrific! How it has changed...
We arrived at the hotel and shown to Room 1, a large bright and airy room on the first floor by Louise. Floor to ceiling windows with shutters to keep the light out at night, but allows it to flood in the next morning. Fresh milk delivered (hot or cold) for the coffee in your room which is a cafetiere (no dodgy sachets at this establishment!). We were even offered fresh coffee upon our arrival. I have read other reviews and seen that some people didn't enjoy the room service breakfast. We loved it! We didn't have to get dressed, just threw on the provided robes and tucked in to the most delicious breakfasts delivered to us at a time we requested. The menu is expansive and therefore difficult to make a choice(!!), so we ended up ordering several things which is part of the offering at The Reading Rooms. The quality was exceptional and delivered with cotton napkins and proper silverware.
We have stayed at some very smart hotels around the world, but this breakfast was certainly as good as, if not better. It was hot and cooked to perfection. In the morning, we wandered down to the old town and sat and had more coffee in the square.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough if you are coming to Margate. It stands out as an exceptional offering.
The price; yes, agreed it's not cheap. But the quality of the fittings, decor, bed, mattress, duvet, pillows, REN bathroom products (which I took home - sorry!) and the wonderful bathroom - it absolutely justifies the price.We were there for a treat and it certainly was.
Thank you for a wonderful stay x

Room Tip: We stayed in Room One on the first floor, so no major stair climbinginvolved! but I would very much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMonty1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseOldfield, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us! We're so glad you enjoyed it and also the concert! We're looking forward ourselves to seeing The Specials at The Winter Gardens too next month. So nice to be able to walk home with sea air after a night seeing a good band.
Absolutely fine that you took the Ren goodies home with you. It's all part of the stay. They're so nice and so many of our guests appreciate them. Thanks again for being such lovely guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at The Reading Rooms in Room 3 for 2 nights. The room was beautiful, quiet and spacious with a huge comfortable bed, a lovely bathroom with giant bath for two and a large walk in shower. All complete with gorgeous products - REN (my favourite!)
Unfortunately the 3 days we were in Margate for it seemed to torrentially rain nonstop- however, this meant we spent a lot of time in our lovely room and the huge bath, which is very relaxing!
We did manage to dodge some rain showers and go for a couple of delicious meals at two very different places, firstly The Ambrette- which I must recommend everyone to try. The Ambrette is a multi-award winning restaurant priding itself on a high quality of service and unique, exotic ingredients. The other place we tried was Forts Cafe- totally different, a small cafe just off the beach which served pretty much the best burger I have ever had- a chorizo burger on a fluffy roll. Intimate and old school- a definite place to chill out and not feel the need to dress up!
The breakfast at The Reading Rooms was also delicious and so much choice - we enjoyed making our selection every night ready for the morning. The one thing which can’t be changed and is the only odd bit of the whole experience is when the breakfasts bought up to your room, it all just feels a little awkward and intrusive- by no means is this created by Louise and Liam- it's just the overall feel of people coming in to your room and feeling that you can't just be slouching around in your dressing gown with an unkempt bed.
I do also think that the price of the rooms is rather steep considering the locality and the fact there's no free parking.
These are small things though and personal niggles rather than complaints.
Thank you

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 at the top of the house, nice and quiet. note: wifi does not reach this room, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseOldfield, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thanks very much for your review of your stay with us. We're really glad that despite the weather that you enjoyed your stay. Nothing nicer than a soak in Ren's Ottoman Rose bath oil to distract from a downpour!

Sorry you didn't enjoy having breakfast served as room service. We hope you knew this is what we offer here at The Reading Rooms when you booked. It's one of the main reasons people say they book with us, for the reason that they want to slouch around in dressing gowns without having to get dressed and go down to a small dining room with other guests for breakfast. But we know this might not suit everyone. But rest assured we don't notice or mind if people make beds or not in a morning! This is one of the unique services that we offer here at The Reading Rooms; room service as standard. As far as we know, we're the only place offering it as standard in the UK and most hotels charge for room service, because it is a treat.

Parking is £2 per day on the street. We're a Georgian townhouse, and therefore we don't have off street parking. And apologies if you thought the wifi doesn't work in room 3, it does. Perhaps there was an issue we could have looked into if it you had mentioned it at the time. We have superfast broadband with full reception in all rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

After reading so many glowing reviews about The Reading Rooms, we couldn't wait to arrive there. We were taken to our room on the first floor. Spacious and light with a large comfortable bed and wonderful bathroom. We were slightly disappointed to find the fireplace in pieces. It looked as though it was still being renovated. The breakfast brought to you in your room at a time to suit you was good with the exception of the bacon and eggs on day two of our stay being so over cooked and hard that I had to leave them. Day three I had scrambled egg and salmon and that was perfect. However , for the price we were charged, it should have been good every day. It was probably a one off, but it was a bit disappointing!
Perhaps covers over the hot food as it is carried up the stairs from the kitchen would prevent the food spoiling.
So nearly perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canneb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseOldfield, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thanks you very much for your review. We know lots of guests remark on how comfortable and expansive our superking beds are from La Maison in East London. Sorry if you thought the fireplace in room 1 was being renovated. It's purposely in pieces and has become a bit of a feature. And sorry you didn't enjoy breakfast on day 2 of your stay. We always ask guests to ask if they would like anything else at breakfast and people also write us preferences on the menus. It would have been no trouble at all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Situated in a large square with plenty of ‘pay & display’ parking. Louise & Liam have renovated this lovely property. 3 bedrooms, one on each floor. This B&B is within easy reach of the coast, the old town and the Turner art gallery.

Having read such splendid reviews (inc The Times) it was quite a shock to see bare floor boards everywhere & our fireplace looking unfinished. But this is the quirky approach to a carefully presented room. Slippers are provided & are essential as there are no carpets/rugs in the bedroom. The bedroom was a good size and a lovely large comfortable bed is the room’s real attraction. The bathroom by contrast is pure luxury. Beautifully decorated and I’ve never had so many towels, all lovely & fluffy. Bath robes are provided.

The hosts like you to contact their mobiles if you need anything. As there is no phone in the room you will need your own mobile! I am a techy & I needed to call to get the two controllers to operate the TV.

The lighting is subdued and adds to the atmosphere until you come to read in bed. We needed to go over to the desk to read where the light was fine.

Breakfast has to be served in your room at the time of your choosing, but the choice and the quality is excellent.

Room Tip: There is no lift. It is a town house. Room1 is the first floor. Room 2 the second etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SilverTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseOldfield, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thanks very much for your review. It's great you found our house easy to get to the beach from. It's one of the things that attracted us to our square. We sorry you were shocked we have bare antique floorboard and that our fireplace is left purposely dismantled. It's kind of part of the house to have some things left bare. We understand that doesn't appeal to everyone. We can review the information on our website, but usually people comment that our rooms are as described on our site. We don't have carpet anywhere in the house and this is usually cited as a positive by many guests. We have underfloor heating in room 1. As you say, we provide slippers for guests. It is as you note a house of contrasts: stripped back Georgian with luxurious modern additions like the bathrooms, beds etc.

We love the bed too. It's from La Maison in east London and was made to measure for us. We do ask guests to call us by phone if they need anything. The house has a lot of stairs and this is the best way for guests to find us. If someone didn't have a phone, like the one guest in 3 years, we would lend them one. The TV is freesat and has 2 remote controls. Many guests tell us this is like their own set up at home. We explain how it works and have written instructions in the in room file. But for anyone who needs help it's no problem for us to assist.

Our breakfast is served as room service as standard and this is one of the main reasons why guests say they book with us. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Close to Old Margate in a quiet square the Reading Rooms are a quirky Georgian renovation. Whilst the period features have been retained, the bathroom was a mixture of old and new with cast iron radiators and a wet room shower. Breakfast, served in room, was very good. Can't honestly say I could fault anything with the stay - it's within 10 minutes walk of the Turner Contemporary and Old Margate with a number of independent shops and galleries.

Stayed: February 2013
Thank Arnold1251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseOldfield, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your review with us. We tried to achieve exactly what you've picked out, mixing the old and the new together. One of the main reasons we love living here is the location on a quiet square that is away from traffic, but a short walk to the Old Town shops, Turner Contemporary and beach. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

As part of a birthday treat, we spent a weekend at The Reading Rooms last August in Room 2 which is beautifully decorated and furnished with a huge bed and luxurious bed linen. The bathroom likewise was huge with a rolltop bath, walk in shower and lovely 'Ren' toiletries. Breakfast was served in our room by the owners and the food was exceptional. Felt very pampered ! Definitely recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbugs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseOldfield, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thanks very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Room 2 has that cosy enveloping feel that's difficult to describe without sounding small! It's as big as the other rooms and has the same amenities, but is just cosier. It's in contrast to the other rooms. Glad you enjoyed our Ren toiletries and our room service breakfast. Pampering is our aim!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
0.2 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
778 reviews
0.9 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
2 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
4.1 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reading Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reading Rooms

Address: 31 Hawley Square, Margate CT9 1PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Margate
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique bed and breakfast in a grade II listed Georgian townhouse. Three rooms, each occupying an entire floor of a 1760s house, overlooking a tree lined historic square at the edge of Margate's Old Town, situated 5 minutes walk from the seafront and the Turner Contemporary gallery. Each room has it's own large private fully tiled ensuite with a roll-top bath, walk in mosaic shower with floor to ceiling glass shower screen and double basin. Beds are bespoke hand-carved super king size from East London based specialists La Maison, luxury complimentary toiletries from Ren Skincare. Wardrobes are french armoires. Breakfasts, featuring fresh pressed juices and local produce are served as room service, delivered at a time of the guest's choosing on antique butler trays and served on dining tables by the window. Dressing gowns and slippers provided. Free super fast wifi is available in each room. We're only bookable exclusively direct, unavailable on booking sites. Just Google us and we're there! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Reading Rooms Hotel Margate
The Reading Rooms Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing