We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely midweek stay”
Review of The Reading Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Margate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Reading Rooms
Ranked #2 of 12 Margate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Lovely midweek stay”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

We visited The Reading Rooms for the second time to coincide with the Blur gig at The Winter Gardens. As before it was a fantastic experience - beautiful room in immaculate condition, delicious breakfast and an all round relaxing experience. I'm certain we'll continue to return again and again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Lion_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseOldfield, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thanks so much for coming to stay with us again. We heard the Blur concert was fantastic too. A pleasure to have you stay and so glad you liked it. We love the top floor views too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    19
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
174
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have just returned from 2 nights at The Reading Rooms and we are already looking at dates to go back. From the moment you enter the beautiful building you are surrounded by beautiful decor. We stayed in room 2 which was a luxuriously relaxing room. The bathroom is out of this workd too, a massive roll top bath and a shower that is practically the length of one of the walls. The Ren products including the gorgeous rose bath oil were a lovely touch. As if this place could get any better you then get to choose breakfast from a fantastic selection (the fresh carrot and ginger juice and toast with cream cheese, cinnamon and honey are a must) and it is brought to your room at whatever time you want. We loved sitting at out little table and having a long lazy breakfast overlooking the leafy square. We really could not recommend this place enough. The hosts are lovely too, they have perfected the fine art of being around if you need them and almost invisible when you don't. All in all a perfect B and B.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2 but they all look incredible on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

A memorable stay in impressive B & B. Wonderful sense of history mixed with modern facilities and terrific breakfast. Hope Mary Portas can bring tired old Margate up to the same standards!

Room Tip: Room on 1st floor had large floor to ceiling windows, huge bed and contemporary bathroom. Did hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickBed4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseOldfield, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and your review! It's great to get the feedback that you enjoyed our room service breakfasts. And yes, Mary Portas we hope will be working some magic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Margate beauty.

Arrested decay at its finest and an amazing breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guiritraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseOldfield, Owner at The Reading Rooms, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thanks so much for staying and your review. You have captured it exactly as we intended. Arrested decay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

We had a fantastic nights stay at the Reading Rooms which certainly lives up to all the reviews. It's situated in a lovely quiet square very near the old town and only a five min walk from the beach, turner gallery and shell grotto. We stayed in room 2 which is beautifully finished - muted colours, tastefully renovated with lovely old pieces of furniture create a very relaxing atmosphere. The super king bed was very comfortable and we had a great sleep, only waking to the sound of seagulls! The breakfast was one of the best we've had for sometime - plenty of choice to suit any taste and brought to your room at whatever time you choose means that you can eat privately. The food was all of a really high quality - I particularly loved the veggie breakfast which was yummy with veggie sausages and hallumi. A great place to stay in margate - thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank donnaleedew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This had been one of favourite places to stay; The Reading Rooms are the most beautiful place you can imagine with huge rooms and the best bathroom in the world. The service was wonderful - we felt like a king and queen when the breakfast arrived - amazing all cooked to our requirement. We had to have at 06.30 - but this was still arranged - what a great place. We will be back very soon.

Room Tip: Room 3 is our favourite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed for two nights over the weekend and fell in love with the place. We were in Room 1 enjoying the ground to ceiling windows overlooking the park. The breakfast was amazing we would enjoy every minute of breakfast while reading the old collection of books in the room. The bath was my favourite with lovely bath oils to relax. I couldn't be more pleased with our stay and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to get away to a relaxing haven.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
0.2 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
711 reviews
0.9 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#3 of 12 in Margate
518 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
4.1 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
0.5 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#8 of 12 in Margate
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reading Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reading Rooms

Property: The Reading Rooms
Address: 31 Hawley Square, Margate CT9 1PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique bed and breakfast in a grade II listed Georgian townhouse. Three rooms, each occupying an entire floor of a 1760s house, overlooking a tree lined historic square at the edge of Margate's Old Town, situated 5 minutes walk from the seafront and the Turner Contemporary gallery. Each room has it's own large private fully tiled ensuite with a roll-top bath, walk in mosaic shower with floor to ceiling glass shower screen and double basin. Beds are bespoke hand-carved super king size from East London based specialists La Maison, luxury complimentary toiletries from Ren Skincare. Wardrobes are french armoires. Breakfasts, featuring fresh pressed juices and local produce are served as room service, delivered at a time of the guest's choosing on antique butler trays and served on dining tables by the window. Dressing gowns and slippers provided. Free super fast wifi is available in each room. We're only bookable exclusively direct, unavailable on booking sites. Just Google us and we're there! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Reading Rooms Hotel Margate
The Reading Rooms Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing