We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“just perfect. nothing was 2 much trouble for...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Hartsdown Hive

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Margate, Isle of Thanet, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dismayed2...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“just perfect. nothing was 2 much trouble for owners Chris and Donna. great couple.”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in July 2018

only just outside main Margate and Westgate beaches. park the car right outside the accommodation. Manston airport with their 2 fantastic museums and café just a very short car ride. and Quex Park a must to visit, food, drink, rides, museum etc.
Birchington-on-sea with shops and pubs and coffee bars and Minis Bay it's seafront, is nearby.
this is a great base with so much all around to visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2018
Thanks for your kind review - Donna and I are very pleased that you both had a great stay - we hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 1, 2018
Thanks for the fantastic review! We look forward to your next visit.

All the best,

Chris & Donna.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tamsin D
1 review
“Fantastic weekend getaway”
Reviewed January 2, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Chris was a very welcoming host. The accommodation was well kept, in an excellent location with all the necessary amenities to hand. The cupboards were stocked with basics which we weren’t excepting. A lovely little touch.
We could not have asked for anything more.
Our own private little garden allowed us to bring our pooch along with us.
Excellent value for money with all mod cons.
Would definitely recommend for anyone visiting Margate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2018
Many thanks for your great review Tamsin! We hope to see you all soon - maybe a long weekend in the summer?

All the best,

Chris & Donna.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janet2701
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Hartsdown hive”
Reviewed January 2, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Lovely apartment spotlessly clean everything we wanted was there garden perfect for dogs all the extra groceries etc provided was a great and welcome bonus
Donna was friendly and helpful couldn't fault hartsdown hive in anyway

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 2, 2018
Many thanks for your review and hope to have you stay again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen S
1 review
“Beyond Expectations !”
Reviewed December 2, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Every part of the experience was made easy by Chris and Donna. I had lots of queries....all were answered speedily.

The property itself is in great condition with all necessities up and running....e.g microwave.........all kitchen appliances. Great care taken with presentation.

It is a studio..........but for two adults and a pet is more than comfortable. An outside space/garden for the adults and said pet........... I sat drinking a glass of wine many nights just stargazing. Lovely.

There is a space on the drive for your car and is close to the sea by about ten minutes driving..........likewise to great areas of countryside. There is a park across the road if you have a dog to walk. Margate, Westgate...........only minutes away.

As I had a long drive there and a small car, I had not taken any basics such as tea and coffee. No need.....it was all provided.........and much more !

I felt welcome and very much looked after and I thank Donna and Chris for their kind hospitality.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 3, 2017
Many thanks for the great review Helen. Hope to see you again soon!

All the best Donna and Chris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed September 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Such a great location as we strolled everyday into the town centre.What was a very nice touch was to find the fridge containing milk and butter and bread and eggs together with a big bowl of fruit. This was so well received as we settled into our first morning.
The accommodation was absolutely spotless and it was a pleasure to stay.The bonus was having a friendly dog to greet us along with of course our hostess,Donna.
We would definitely look to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2017
Thanks John for a wonderful review!

All the best,
Donna.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacquelin...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect little hideaway with everything you want!”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Chris was very helpful and quick with communications!

The place is cosy, clean, and has everything you need, including a private space out the back to sit outside with fairy lights and all!

Good walking distance from the train station.

Very good selection provided for your self-catering breakfast and bit and bobs for tea, coffee etc.

Absolutely recommend staying here as more cost-effective and nicer than a big hotel.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2017
Jackie and John were fine guests, very friendly, clean and tidy. We hope to host them again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing