We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place by the sea”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Thirlmere

House on Seafront
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House on Seafront
Sitting Room Main House Main Suite - Bedroom 6
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
House on Seafront
Sitting Room Main House
Main Suite - Bedroom 6
Bedroom in Garden Flat
Kitchen in Garden Flat
Entrance hall in Garden Flat
Sitting room in Garden Flat
Main Suite - Bedroom 6
Twin Single Beds/Double - Bedroom 4
En-Suite -  Bedroom 3
Victorian - Bedroom 5
The Snug - Bedroom 1
Guest - Bedroom 2
Entrance Hall - Main House
Littlestone Beach outside house
Main Entrance with Flat entrance below
Front Courtyard
Rear Courtyard
Victorian Entrance
Beach Hut
Beach Hut
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Littlestone-on-Sea, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rseller3
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place by the sea”
Reviewed May 10, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Great place for out family to meet up and spend some time together, we had 7 children in total who all played on the grass happily. Great walks and the kids loved the small gauge railway.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Fabulous place by the sea to chill with friends!”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

It is a well equipped very spacious house which is the owners holiday home so it is homely. Littlestone-on-sea is quiet and away from tourists which is wonderful. Your own beach but to hire if you like and lots of parking! I loved the huge dining table so all 15 of us could sit round it! We hired the garden flat too which was just perfect!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickandTr...
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thirlmere is very comfortable and well appointed”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

It was excellent accommodation for our family group of eleven from New Zealand.There was plenty of room for the 3 generations of us.The weather was beautiful and the area stunning with plenty to do and see.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle0...
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Christmas stay”
Reviewed January 2, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the house and garden flat for an extended family Christmas. Ages of our party ranged from 87 to 2, and everyone loved the house. The photos do not fully do justice to Thirlmere, especially the garden flat, which has recently been refurbished. There was plenty of room for everyone, the house is very comfortable and very warm. Important for the 87 year old! Location is excellent, lots of lovely walks to burn off excesses and great views from the sitting room on the first floor if you felt lazy and just wanted to chill. The owners were very helpful before and after booking. I fully recommend the house and the area for families to spend quality time together.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location, next to the beach
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve...
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant home for a late family get-together”
Reviewed November 9, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed in Thrilmere (both the main house and garden flat) for a 60th birthday just a few weekends back and had a great time. There were 12 adults and 3 toddlers in total, yet the house was plenty big enough to absorb us all! Given our numbers we were worried about having enough 'social apace' but we needn't have been - the lounge and dining room were well sized with comfortable seating, lots of table space etc. And the kitchen has plenty of room to chat whilst cooking! The house was clean and well stocked with equipment (although another large dish for the oven wouldn't go amiss) and had a really homely feel to it throughout. Plus the seaside and beautiful views towards the White cliffs is literally a stonesthrow from the front door! I would thoroughly recommend this venue, we had a fantastic time. Thank you!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sallyann...
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing house and perfect location”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

this is a perfect house for a large party of friends and family. The house is an interesting victorian villa with plenty of large rooms and space. The location is a quite residential village with no touristy attractions. We had a wonderful week here made perfect by the wonderful weather. There are lots of lovely walks nearby, including just walking on the beach which is right outside the front door. If you are looking for a lively location this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for somewhere to enjoy your friends and family it's perfect. I would book this again without question..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The nearness to the sea/beach
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L
Witney, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful holiday in a wonderful home”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We rented the whole house including the downstairs flat. We could not of asked for a better place to stay. We had the extended family [13 people] and everyone loved their room.

The rooms in this house are beautifully furnished and make you feel really at home. With a large kitchen we cooked and played cards around the kitchen table.

The dining room made meal times a very sociable occassion whilst we also had the amazing view out to sea as a backdrop.

I could not fault this accommodation. Even the screen lovers had tv and wifi on tap when they needed their daily fix.

We will be returning here again. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was better than expected and very much a stylish home
Liked least: Nothing - it was all great!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing