We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Romney Bay House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the hotel over Jubilee Weekend. Clinton and Lisa Lovell, who run this very interesting small hotel, gave us a warm welcome and were most helpful throughout our stay. We had Room 8 that had both sea and golf course views and a bathroom with both bath and shower – all spotlessly clean. Clinton, a professional cook, provided a delicious dinner based on local ingredients. We found plenty to do including seaside walking, riding the narrow gauge railway that runs from Dungeness to Hythe, visiting some of the old churches in the marsh and making an excursion to nearby Canterbury.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maranacos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 175 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2011

What a beautiful place, stunning sea views, comfortable rooms and superb food.
I should also say that with this level of quality the prices are value for money.
I shall return soon.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul-likes-quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This hotel has a wonderful location: facing the English Channel and adjacent to golf links.
The owners made us feel very welcome.
Our room had a very large bathroom, with bath in one room and shower plus toilet in their own separate area, off the main bathroom.
The bedroom was comfortable and tastefully furnished.
The restaurant, although not cheap, was very good.
A wonderful hotel to spend a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoamingWayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We visited in late July for a family celebration and stayed for 3 nights. We had a standard double room and were on the top floor in a dual aspect room overlooking the sea and the golf course.
Our room was comfortable enough and tastfully decorated, although the bed was a little hard for my taste and the ensuite shower room whilst spotlessly clean, with a good powerful shower was incredibly tiny.( particularly for my 6'8" partner! ) Stricly one person at a time in there! My only other criticism of the room is that there were not many hangers in the wardrobe and a couple of them were broken. My parents who were staying at the same time and had one of the more expensive rooms, it was massive by comparison with a large bathroom and a sea view.

Our hosts Clinton and Lisa were welcoming enough, although I did find the policy of not being allowed a front door key or to take one's room key rather irritating. This policy is more Bed and Breakfast than Hotel in my opinion.....As our teenagers and the rest of the family were staying in a house down the road, we had a some late nights and had to ring the bell to be admitted every time, which made us feel somewhat ill at ease and a bit of a nuiscence ... Also little notices "Keep off " "Guests only beyond this point" in the garden did remind me a bit of Fawlty Towers.

On the plus side breakfast was superb beautifully cooked and very tasty served in a communal dining room. The hotel also cooked and served our celebration dinner for all the family which was delicious (21 of us the maximum I would think!). There were clean plates all round and excellent service. The food was beautifully presented and cooked by Clinton.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Fakefur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa l, Owner at Romney Bay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Delighted that you enjoyed the family dinner celebration. Unfortunately if problems are not bought to our attention at the time of staying, regrettably it leaves us at a disadvantage in being unable to correct the issue, in this case broken hangers. We make quite clear on our written confirmation how we operate with regard to the front door & if one feels that it is not agreeable to them then this is obviously not the place for them to stay. We try hard to make all our guests stay as pleasent & comfortable as possible, but of course the way we run our business will not suit everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

On arriving at this hotel we were greeted with a cool reception by the hostess, although the host was slightly more welcoming offering to take our bags up to our room.

As the owners do not allow guests the key to the front door, you have to ring the door bell every time you want to come in, even if you are just popping out to the car and have left the door on the latch when you return you find it has been promptly closed behind you! This felt intrusive and like you were being an inconvenience and every time you rang the door bell you were greeted in a less than friendly manner making one feel quite uncomfortable at times.


The room we stayed in was beautiful costing us £150 per night including breakfast. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was huge, both were clean and tidy. The rooms were replenished daily with fresh bottled water. Breakfast was served in a communal dining room and the younger girls waiting the tables were accommodating and fairly cheerful. As the hotel is at the end of a long and pot holed drive we were given an alternative route for access which we used without a problem. The hotel feels quite remote with stunning sea views, so ideal for people wanting to get away from it all.

The hotel has a no pets policy as they have their own friendly elderly dog "Lucy". There is also a cat in the house who was seen walking along the tables on one occasion in the dining room. Neither do the hotel allow children guests under the age of 14 yrs. Like previous reviewers we found the no red wine in the bedroom policy slightly strange, and this put us offf using the self service honesty bar.

Although the views and rooms were lovely, we would be very unlikley to stay here again due to the unfriendly reception, and operational policies.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the four poster bedrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Barefoothippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

To refer to this accommodation as "Fawlty Towers" would be unfair and extreme, but the “Tea Rooms Closed” sign swinging forlornly in the wind as we arrived seemed to be some kind of portent.
The place is run with a certain cold efficiency and we found it to be clean and quiet; the room being comfortable if somewhat small. Plenty big enough for two adults however.
We were lucky that, notwithstanding the wind, the weather was reasonably warm. I would hate to have stayed on a cold day as the little electric heater lurking in the bottom of the wardrobe seemed to be hoping desperately that we wouldn't get it out and make it struggle.
Romney Bay House is not, in our opinion, a hotel in the accepted sense, although it has very obvious pretensions to being such, as reflected in both its room prices and the cost of the no-choice, set-time evening meal - £45 per head plus drinks when we enquired. We declined, which was just as well as we had been told that we were probably too late to have booked for the first two of our three-night stay anyway.
As a B&B it functions well enough, if you don't mind being made to feel that perhaps you are not as high up the social scale as the owners' preferred clientele. The Porsche and Bentley Brigade (whom we observed being welcomed on the step and assisted with their bags) were clearly in evidence during our stay and we were told when we booked that the discount on offer was not usually offered (?!) unless someone asked about it. Which we had. No doubt that had blotted our copybook.
Having to remember to leave a note each evening to confirm our breakfast preference, which didn't change (and being ticked off for forgetting), having to be in by lock-up or risk a cold night on the beach, and not being permitted a front door key (in case we ran off with the wooden table thingy just inside, presumably) all contributed to making the stay rather less relaxing than we had hoped. One was constantly cautious of putting a foot wrong.
We didn’t make use of the so-called “honesty” bar, partly because it was not the sort of space that might induce one to sit and relax, but also because, within five minutes of our arrival we had received strict instructions as to what drinks could NOT be taken to our room, in case they got spilled on the curtains. Of course we, being from the wrong side of the tracks, had been simply itching to re-paint the bedroom with several bottles of claret.
On the upside, the cooked Full English breakfast was excellent, the bed, though firm, was comfortable and the little shower room was spotless and as well laid-out as it could be, given the architecture. The location still retains some of its spectacular wildness from the time the house was built and the house’s closeness to the sea is wonderful.
But it’s a shame that there is virtually no reference to the house’s historic beginnings. Although mention is made in the advertising blurb, we could find no reference to its famous first owner or early guests. That, along with the probably very necessary (and not cheap) upvc replacement windows, the derelict tennis court and the slightly worn and in places, loose stair carpet made the place feel more functional than welcoming.
Overall, we had no cause for immediate complaint but, from the peremptory, “Yes?” when we arrived to the, “Oh. You’re doing it THAT way are you?” when we came to settle up in cash, and the complete lack of interest in whether we had enjoyed our stay, we were under the distinct impression that we had been tolerated, having slipped in under the radar, rather than being valued guests soon to be welcomed again.
It is very unlikely that, under the present management, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Baggoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa l, Owner at Romney Bay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

We regret that your stay did not live up to your expectations. Unfortunately this obviously wasn't the place for you. We put as much information in the written confirmation as possible with regard to dining arrangements & that we do not issue front door keys. We can't appeal to everyone & it would be impossilbe to try & do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Excellence service and food (and this is from someone VERY fussy). It is a quick journey from busy London life and as soon as you get there you can relax. The sea views from the rooms are amazing and add to the tranquility. A great hide away that has never failed to impress. You can book all 10 rooms for brilliant celebrations or business events.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truthlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Littlestone-on-Sea
1.3 mi away
The Ship Hotel
The Ship Hotel
#2 of 2 in New Romney
116 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#1 of 3 in Hythe
1,888 reviews
4 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lydd
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,419 reviews
10.2 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
1,094 reviews
14.3 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romney Bay House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romney Bay House Hotel

Address: Coast Road, Littlestone-on-Sea TN28 8QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Littlestone-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Littlestone-on-Sea
Price Range: $150 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Romney Bay House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romney Bay Littlestone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing