We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely seaside family holiday”
other travelers have booked this property
1850 Fisherman's cottage lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
1850 Fisherman's cottage lounge
Stade Cottage, an 1850's Fisherman's Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
1850 Fisherman's cottage lounge
Stade Cottage, an 1850's Fisherman's Cottage
Cosy Lounge with original stone wall
Log burning stove
Fully fitted kitchen
Second bedroom with double bed
Hythe Promenade within 100 metres of Stade Cottage
Romney, Hythe and Dymchurch Railway
The Royal Military Canal
Fishermans Beach, minutes from your doorstep
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Hythe, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
cheryltay...
1 review
“Lovely seaside family holiday”
Reviewed July 10, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This cottage was the perfect place to stay in Hythe with my family. We spent 4 nights here and it had everything we needed to make it a lovely holiday. The whole house was immaculately clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. The feature Brick wall in the living room is just stunning! There was so much to do in hythe and the surrounding areas. The cottage is only a 2 min walk to the sea front,where we enjoyed many walks along the promenade, and of course lots of ice creams! The royal military canal is also a must to visit, we enjoyed a relaxing boat ride which our son loved. This was a great family holiday and we would definitely recommend this beautiful cottage to others. We will be booking a break away again in the near future.

Date of stay: June 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2016
Thank you Cheryl, it was lovely to host you and your family. I'm so glad you enjoyed yourselves. You are welcome back anytime x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesy923
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cosy cottage. Highly recommended!!!”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Great place to stay in Hythe. Only stone throw away from the seafront. Very helpful owner. Will definitely come back in the future!!!

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2016
It was a pleasure to host you and your family James, you are welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCH21
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect stay by the sea ”
Reviewed May 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We are a retired couple who love taking a break by the coast , so we were looking forward to our stay at Stade cottage. We were not disappointed as the cottage is lovely, really nicely done up with everything you need- and we loved the comfy beds! What we absolutely loved though was the location - having the sea on your doorstop was great and we enjoyed lots of walks along the promenade. Hythe was also only a short walk away - we had a great Thai at Thailand Tom and a good breakfast at Nutmeg- recommend these. Thank you Joanne - we will be back!

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 5, 2016
So glad you and your husband had a lovely stay with us Cecilia. You were great guests, thank you so much for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy. We would be delighted to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith O
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed May 1, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

a lovely compact cottage in a very convenient position. Stayed here for a weekend in April as a family group . The location was perfect being only a 10 minute drive from eurotunnel, which was ideal for my daughter and husband who had travelled from Luxembourg. On arrival we had been left with some basic provisions which was a nice touch . We all found the cottage to be very comfortable and cosy with excellent facilities.
If there is a negative it has to be the ground floor bathroom and very steep stairs. Anyone with a disability or very elderly would find it difficult to manage the stairs safely.
However, would highly recommend it and hopefully we will return in the near future when meeting family again.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Groundfloor bathroom
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 5, 2016
Thank you for staying with us Judith, we are glad you and your family enjoyed your time at Stade Cottage. You are more than welcome back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajb127
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bracing sea air to unwind from city life”
Reviewed April 13, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I stayed at Joanne's lovely cottage in the last week of March with my wife and 5 year old daughter.The cottage was easy to find and parking good. We were left a very generous welcome pack of local produce including Shepard Neame beer!! Hooray!!
The property had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable, especially the beds.
No more than 2 minutes walk to the beach we were straight down there to take in the bracing sea air and coastal views.
There was a fantastic fish and chips take away , just round the corner An interesting high street and 2 children's playgrounds close by.
Trips out highlights included, Dover Museum [ 3500 yr old boat ! ] Rare Breeds Farm Ashford and,especially, the Romney Dymchurch and Hythe Railway!!!!

Date of stay: March 2016
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2016
I'm so pleased you had a lovely time, and discovered many of the local attractions. We would be happy to welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hughesy87...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely family break ”
Reviewed April 6, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed at this beautiful cottage for four nights and had an amazing time . The cottage itself is stunning and provided everything we could have asked for . What I found to be unique was Joanne's handover , we were made aware of the local attractions and some great little tips !! I thought I would find a family holiday in the uk stressful with a little one but Joanne's correspondence and friendliness ensured we had the perfect relaxing but fun break . We have already looked at booking our summer holiday : we can't recommend it enough

Date of stay: March 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2016
I'm so pleased you enjoyed yourselves, and your little one loved being beside the sea. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AS_Viernh...
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing