We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming & honnest hotel”
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hythe B&B and Inns
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charming & honnest hotel”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed 1 night with my eldest son and enjoyed the environment of the scenic and quite little village of Hythe, the delicious home made pies, the freshly cooked breakfast and last but not least, the friendly owners.
Room (twin beds) was OK despite the noice of the ventilation of the kitchen.
Bathroom needs little refurbishment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivier S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    88
    30
    21
    14
See reviews for
39
118
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

After booking VERY last minute, we arrived very late at the hotel with our exhausted 5 yr old daughter. The room was very large with a four poster and put down bed for my daughter (which wasnt made up but due to our lateness, we managed and didnt want any fuss..)The room decor does need attention, but overall the beds were clean and comfortable and breakfast was ok. It could be a beautiful room with a little tlc. Also, a little note, if you have children there is noise from the bar til late.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcraig867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welling
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was our first time at the castle hotel and we really enjoyed our stay. Although the room is in need of a refresh, it was very clean and tidy. David, the proprietor is really nice and nothing was too much trouble for him. The food is all home cooked and was delicious all cooked by David. We had a lovely time and we made friends with rufus the dog he was so cute. We would recommend the castle if you like good food and friendly staff in a quiet village location.

Room Tip: We had Dover room which overlooks the green at the front of the pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Less than £30 for me, OH and dog for room and a hearty breakfast (as someone who cannot take milk an alternative to cereal would be nice but the cooked breakfast was very good). Green and other teas available ;) Relaxed atmosphere. Friendly staff . Decent food not overpriced. Clean and comfortable. Some decoration needed but such big places take some maintenance . I enjoyed my stay . Real ease of access with the pooch . Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabbitmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Although not really within walking distance of Hythe, an fantastic choice for a night away! The food and service was excellent and terrific value for money. The staff and locals were helpful and friendly. A great place to visit!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have stayed here several times before catching the euro train to Calais.We have always been made welcome.The staff always helpful.Yes the rooms could maybe due a lick of paint But you aint paying top price.Rooms comfortable .The bar food good The breakfast spot on just before a ride across france etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nick p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGreenwood1, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments it's nice to have a review from a regular customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The bedroom was disappointing - there were cobwebs (real ones, not special effects for Halloween), the bed covers had holes in them and parts of the carpet were damp. The beds were not made properly and were just straightened, the cups and saucers were not washed up and the tea and coffee supplies were not refilled.

Breakfast on the first morning was good, but on the second morning lacked both cutlery and crockery, which needed two visits to get sorted and was poor.

Security made us nervous as having left our room key behind the bar as requested by various signs, it could not be found when we returned.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGreenwood1, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I am sorry your 2nd nights stay was not as good as the first. I have rectified the cobweb problem and ensured the breakfast staff lay tables properly. The issue of keys was simply your key had been hung on the wrong hook! We are in a sleepy village and in my 11 years here we have never had any security issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hythe hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
1.1 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#1 of 3 in Hythe
1,797 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hythe
655 reviews
1.5 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,017 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
3.4 mi away
Port Lympne Hotel
Port Lympne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lympne
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Property: The Castle Hotel
Address: The Green, Hythe CT21 4AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hythe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hythe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Hythe, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing