We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly dog friendly”
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hythe B&B and Inns
Oswestry
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Truly dog friendly”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Lots of hotels claim to be dog friendly but then try to separate you from your hound at meal times, we were pleasantly surprised to find The Castle Hotel was truly dog friendly. For our evening meal we were allowed to eat anywhere in the bar with our dog under the table. At breakfast, because we were eating early and no other guests were around we were allowed to eat in the dining room. As mentioned in other reviews the staff were very friendly, the food very good and the rooms a bit shabby but perfectly decent for the cost. A great place to stay when catching the Eurostar to France with your beloved dog in tow.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    88
    30
    21
    13
See reviews for
38
118
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We wanted somewhere to stay with our dogs, by previous reviews we weren't expecting much but we were pleasantly surprised staff were very friendly and food very good, even a carvery on a Sunday, wewould definitely recommend this, ok it could do with a lick of paint as a little tired but overall we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here for the night after a wedding at Lympne Castle, excellent location with a taxi ride under a tenner. Welcomed by the warm aroma of home cooking in the Pub (unfortunately didnt get to sample or stop for a pint) The room was clean and had a homely feel, it was like staying in the spare room at your aunts - functional & comfy. Bed was a bit spring and bring you ear plugs if you are bothered by noise, the walls seemed thin. But I had an amazing sleep and woke to the smell of a full english breakfast cooking downstairs, tea & juice. Staff very helpful & friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aforamaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The Castle Hotel really isnt a hotel at all - it is however the sort of reasonably priced bed and breakfast accommodation that the UK is good at providing. The bar itself is a very homely traditional english pub with some great beers - as a seasoned CAMRA member I am always pleased to drink a good pint of beer, and the Castle did not disappoint. Although we only took breakfast, we looked at the bar menu and it contained reasonably priced pub classics.

The accommodation itself was a little tired looking, and generally the place could do with a lick of paint and a bit of a tidy up. But the room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was again dated and one of the taps was loose.

Breakfast was the traditional full english, which was filling and as expected - as well as cereal it would be nice to be offered some fruit. I stayed with my wife and we were using the stop to catch Eurotunnel the next morning, and this is an excellent location for anyone planning to do this. Overall I would stay here again - it isnt fancy and doesnt pretend to be, but is good vvalue for money. The locals are friendly and the atmosphere in the pub is great. Car parking is a bit cramped.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MiltonKeynesTimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Not really a hotel, but is definitely a good pub or inn with rooms.
Run by a great guy called David, helped by some really friendly staff.
The property is in a poor state of repair and really needs a bit more than the lick of paint mentioned elsewhere; certainly if those photo's are going to be used.
Stay again? Maybe.

Room Tip: Only saw one room 'Windsor' with a four-poster, creaky floors (quaint), view to front garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hythe hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murcia, Spain
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2012

good breakfast ,room could do with a bit of TLC. but comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

What a lovely quaint hotel - peaceful location in Saltwood, overlooking the green.
The welcome was warm, the lager was cold, the weather was hot! We had the 4 poster room, which overlooks the beer garden and were very impressed.
Only downside was not being able to get a snack in the afternoon, and we mis-timed our evening meal - the chef had gone home at 9pm.... Not really an issue, as Hythe is 10 mins away, and there is a fantastic Indian restaurant (Everest) that deliver to the hotel. Win !
Breakfast was excellent too, so in all a nice night away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s01steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
1.1 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#1 of 3 in Hythe
1,760 reviews
1.5 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
49 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hythe
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
988 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#2 of 9 in Hythe
174 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fern Lodge
Fern Lodge
#3 of 9 in Hythe
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Property: The Castle Hotel
Address: The Green, Hythe CT21 4AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hythe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hythe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Hythe, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing