We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good quality, well located accommondation”
other travelers have booked this property
Relax in the quiet back garden, great for a morning coffee
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in the quiet back garden, great for a morning coffee
Heron Cottage, just 200m from the beach Cosy winters with a glass of wine by the fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Relax in the quiet back garden, great for a morning coffee
Heron Cottage, just 200m from the beach
Cosy winters with a glass of wine by the fire
Beach on the doorstep
Modern, well equipped kitchen with kitchen staple items all available
Relax with a bottle of wine, they'll be one in the fridge
Enjoy and home cooked meal or takeaway in the open plan dining area
One of my favourite places, reading the paper with a coffee in the sunroon
The master bedroom has lots of space, blackout blinds and a ceiling fan
The double room has a ceiling fan for warm evenings and a blackout blind for a good nights sleep
Follow Hythe's history on the short heritage trail
St Leonard's Road - right between beach and high street
The twin room looks out over the garden
The twin room has a ceiling fan and blackout blind for a good nights sleep in summer or winter
Space for a game or two, or just a glass of wine
Eat alfresco with a barbeque or just a picnic
Enjoy a long soak in the jacuzzi bath or a quick shower in the separate shower
Working beach with fresh fish daily, not Sundays, at Griggs from 7am to 1pm (12pm Saturdays)
The large 11th-century church is up the hill; restored in 1750
There's always something to watch on the beach
Great walks for a view over Hythe
The Royal Military Canal at Hythe from the Ladies' Walk footbridge
Engraving of 'The Barracks and Town of Hythe, Kent' from Ireland's History of Kent, V
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hythe, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
victorrop...
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good quality, well located accommondation”
Reviewed December 30, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Good quality accommondation in a good, quite position between the town centre and the sea front. Even at Christmas time we were warm and comfortable. Easy access to both the east and west coast locations for days out and to Canterbury. Highly recommended.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 1, 2017
Glad you enjoyed your Christmas stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquieAl...
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“So very accommodating”
Reviewed November 17, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Fantastic place to stay, cannot fault, so very clean,spacious, homely, superb location, owner is so very accommodating. Would without a doubt, 'definitely stay there again' Thank you for a very pleasant stay!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt very relaxed there
Liked least: Not one little thing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2016
I'm delighted you found everything as expected. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladytrave...
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely well-equipped and located cottage.”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We've just got back from a week's stay at Heron Cottage and could have quite happily stayed for another week as there is so much to do in the area.
The cottage is well located around 5mins walk from Fisherman's beach where I swam a few times (beach shoes are recommended because the shingle is uncomfortable & difficult to walk on).
As other reviewers have said, the cottage is very well equipped, the owners seem to have thought of everything, it really is a home-from-home. The bed was very comfy and we slept well although the gulls did wake me up at dawn every day!

If you don't feel like cooking it's less than 10 minutes walk to the town centre restaurants & even less to the nearest chippie. All 3 supermarkets are also an easy stroll although Sainsbury's and Waitrose do have free parking.

I would definitely stay in this cottage again but may not have the chance. We like the town & area so much that we're considering a move there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Locations
Liked least: The gulls
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2016
We think the area is lovely and the town so nice. Good luck with the house hunt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culture65...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful and totally as advertised”
Reviewed September 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were really impressed with Heron Cottage. We mostly go self catering and Heron Cottage is the best we have ever stayed in. We cannot fault it. Well equipped and very clean. As a 'back sufferer' I am always anxious about beds and comfy chairs. Over the years I have even had to leave a holiday early because beds and furniture have been so uncomfortable. The beds in Heron cottage are great, very comfortable and very clean. The pillow choices were a great idea.
We have family in Felixstowe who came every day to take us out and about. They thought the cottage was charming. Our little granddaughter loved the toy cupboard.To make our stay complete we had four days of glorious weather! We will most certainly come again. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - no complaints
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2016
I'm so glad you had such a lovely time. My husband and I like different styles of pillows hence giving the choice to guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue W
Crawley Down, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed July 15, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our second visit to Heron Cottage, just as good as before. A great cottage with everything you could want. Close to the beach , lots of things to do and places to eat. We are hoping to be back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2016
Thank you. Se look forward to you coming back next year. Book early to ensure you get the time you want!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy D
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Turn left for the shops, turn right for the beach!”
Reviewed April 19, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A perfect cottage for our long weekend. Everything we needed and ideally located with just a short walk to the high street and even shorter walk to the beach!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness and easy booking
Liked least: Not there long enough to find anything
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2016
Glad you found it convenient - that's what we love about it too
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fish1966
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed January 14, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Our week stay at the cottage was great.
Clean & everything you need is there,
Best Holiday cottage we have stayed in & great for fishing .
They have thought of everything you will need to for rainy days & hot summers for the family .
Fantastic!!
Will be back again .

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2016
Ah fishing on the beach - there is a lot of it at Hythe. Glad you enjoyed it
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing