We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travelers have booked this property
Relax in the quiet back garden, great for a morning coffee
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in the quiet back garden, great for a morning coffee
Heron Cottage, just 200m from the beach Cosy winters with a glass of wine by the fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Relax in the quiet back garden, great for a morning coffee
Heron Cottage, just 200m from the beach
Cosy winters with a glass of wine by the fire
Beach on the doorstep
Modern, well equipped kitchen with kitchen staple items all available
Relax with a bottle of wine, they'll be one in the fridge
Enjoy and home cooked meal or takeaway in the open plan dining area
One of my favourite places, reading the paper with a coffee in the sunroon
The master bedroom has lots of space, blackout blinds and a ceiling fan
The double room has a ceiling fan for warm evenings and a blackout blind for a good nights sleep
Follow Hythe's history on the short heritage trail
St Leonard's Road - right between beach and high street
The twin room looks out over the garden
The twin room has a ceiling fan and blackout blind for a good nights sleep in summer or winter
Space for a game or two, or just a glass of wine
Eat alfresco with a barbeque or just a picnic
Enjoy a long soak in the jacuzzi bath or a quick shower in the separate shower
Working beach with fresh fish daily, not Sundays, at Griggs from 7am to 1pm (12pm Saturdays)
The large 11th-century church is up the hill; restored in 1750
There's always something to watch on the beach
Great walks for a view over Hythe
The Royal Military Canal at Hythe from the Ladies' Walk footbridge
Engraving of 'The Barracks and Town of Hythe, Kent' from Ireland's History of Kent, V
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hythe, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
8654rega
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed November 3, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We adored Heron Cottage and had a fabulous weekend. The cottage itself is beautiful and very welcoming and its location is ideal for exploring Hythe and enjoying some fresh seaside air. The owners ensure a warm welcome and it was a wrench to leave this oasis of delight.The kitchen area is wonderful and despite inclement weather we did manage to find a pocket of sun and enjoy some time in the garden.We would recommend staying here and look forward ourselves to returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2015
We're delighted that you had a good stay. Thank you for such a positive review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venus67
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Charming Heron Cottage ”
Reviewed September 18, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Perfectly located and well equipped little house that was a really comfortable home from home.
Short distance to the beach and a nice private garden to the rear.
Helpful and responsive owners.
Only one suggestion would be the addition of a rail to assist older aged adults on the stairs. Otherwise a wonderful location for a relaxing escape.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2015
Thank you for your review - we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are going to look into getting a handrail fitted in the quieter winter months.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdm-bass...
Stourbridge
2 reviews
“Fantastic holiday cottage”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Very clean, very comfortable, simply the best. We enjoyed a refreshing relaxing, holiday. We will go back and explore more of the area

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and comfortable, well appointed
Liked least: We only had a week
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2015
So glad you had a good time, there's certainly lots to see in the area - we keep going back and still haven't done it all!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARTFORDS...
SOUTHEND-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Hythe Cottage ”
Reviewed August 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Spent a lovely week at Heron Cottage from 7 August. We loved the house especially the really comfortable beds, the well equipped kitchen and its closeness to the beach. Our son and daughter loved spending the evenings sat on the pebble beach. Everything has been thought of in the house. It was particularly nice being able to sit out in the garden with a drink when the weather was good. Hythe is a 10 minute walk away with its lovely traditional high street. The kids loved travelling on the Romney Hythe and Dymchurch railway. The softplay Kidz Planet and the Silver Screen cinema (both at Folkestone) were great value. Lovely food at the Castle in Saltwood. We loved our week in Heron Cottage and would love to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2015
We're so glad that you had a good week at the Cottage. Its funny how attractive a pebble beach is for children...and with the added benefit of no sandy feet to worry about! Hope we can welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue H
1 review
“Fabulous ”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Wonderful holiday cottage. Perfect location - easy access to the beach and the town. No car needed. They've thought of everything you could possibly need. Big, comfy bed. Blackout blinds. Cosy living room. Well equipped kitchen. Handy utility room. I think it's suitable for a great holiday all year round. If you're walkers or cyclers - it's a great base. Hythe has many eateries and 3 supermarkets, plus the High Street is full of one off and unusual shops. We went on the electric boat on the canal, spent a day on Dymchurch beach, painted in Amazing Glaze pottery painting. My daughter swam in the sea most mornings and even walked down in her swimsuit as it's so close. A great time was had. Thanks for the easy booking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2015
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are delighted that you had a good time. I too walk down to the sea in my swimsuit (though it's often in my wetsuit!....)Booking directly with us via our website is certainly the easiest and most cost effective way.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria S
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spotless and comfortable homely location”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Good location , near to beach, shops, pubs, restaurants. Holiday cottage had all necessary requirements, extremely clean and comfortable. Instructions re finding location, home facilities, local areas of interest, suggested places to eat and drink all provided prior to stay. Wish our stay had been longer. Love Hythe and cottage. Want to visit again. Just one small suggestion, banister to be added to staircase to assist especially elderly who stay. Otherwise a most perfect and happy holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and location
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2015
We are delighted that you had a good stay and look forward to you coming again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick N
Tutbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great cottage, excellent locaton”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Excellent cottage - fully kitted out with everything we needed - made for an excellent stay. Location also excellent - a couple of minutes stroll from the sea for an early morning walk, five minutes into Hythe town centre and well situated to explore Kent.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2015
We are glad you found all you needed - we've tried to make it a home from home!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing