We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant...we will return!”
other travelers have booked this property
Relax in the quiet back garden, great for a morning coffee
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in the quiet back garden, great for a morning coffee
Heron Cottage, just 200m from the beach Cosy winters with a glass of wine by the fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Relax in the quiet back garden, great for a morning coffee
Heron Cottage, just 200m from the beach
Cosy winters with a glass of wine by the fire
Beach on the doorstep
Modern, well equipped kitchen with kitchen staple items all available
Relax with a bottle of wine, they'll be one in the fridge
Enjoy and home cooked meal or takeaway in the open plan dining area
One of my favourite places, reading the paper with a coffee in the sunroon
The master bedroom has lots of space, blackout blinds and a ceiling fan
The double room has a ceiling fan for warm evenings and a blackout blind for a good nights sleep
Follow Hythe's history on the short heritage trail
St Leonard's Road - right between beach and high street
The twin room looks out over the garden
The twin room has a ceiling fan and blackout blind for a good nights sleep in summer or winter
Space for a game or two, or just a glass of wine
Eat alfresco with a barbeque or just a picnic
Enjoy a long soak in the jacuzzi bath or a quick shower in the separate shower
Working beach with fresh fish daily, not Sundays, at Griggs from 7am to 1pm (12pm Saturdays)
The large 11th-century church is up the hill; restored in 1750
There's always something to watch on the beach
Great walks for a view over Hythe
The Royal Military Canal at Hythe from the Ladies' Walk footbridge
Engraving of 'The Barracks and Town of Hythe, Kent' from Ireland's History of Kent, V
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hythe, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AnnBee52
West Midlands, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant...we will return!”
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Heron Cottage is a really lovely, well appointed home. The owners use this cottage themselves, so know what will make the stay really comfortable and make sure it is available. It's location just a couple of hundred yards from the sea front and a short walk to the centre of Hythe makes it ideal. The kitchen is modern with everything you could need - certainly everything we needed. Cutlery, crockery and glassware was plentiful and in good condition with essentials like milk, butter, wine, cider and sauces already in the fridge-and ice cubes in the freezer!. The rooms were well furnished with comfortable seating. The sun room leading to the outdoor rear garden was particularly enjoyed. The utility room and toilet had outdoor crockery and glasses, a washing machine and space to store walking boots or shoes.The bathroom (with spa bath and shower) was light and spacious with a cupboard containing additional bedlinen and pillows. The top of the garden had the morning sun on the decking, so lovely to breakfast in that spot and later in the day the sun moved to the terraced area outside the back patio doors. We enjoyed lunch and a glass of wine there (the weather was very good almost all the while we were there). The central heating meant that we were able to feel cosy on the one miserable and wet day we experienced. The beds were comfortable with a selection of pillows, including a memory foam pillow in the cupboard if needed. We enjoyed our stay so much that we intend to book for next year, too. There is so much to see in the surrounding area.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself
Liked least: Our one very wet day (not the owner's fault, of course)
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2015
Thank you for your positive comments. You were exemplary guests - not every guest strips the beds before leaving! We look forward to a repeat visit next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasonuk70
1 review
“Perfect short break”
Reviewed April 15, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Spent a great Easter break at the cottage perfect for the 4 of us and the kids loved the bath :-). Great location and everything within walking distance. Nice touch to let us arrive and leave when we please as no guests before or after its the little simple touches that make all the difference. A real home from home

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2015
Thanks for you positive comments and glad you enjoyed it. We can't always let people arrive or leave early but when possible then why not!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda l
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed November 9, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Having just got back from a 2 day break in this wonderful clean cottage.
Ideally situated for the local shops and beachfront all within walking distance.
Clean and tidy . Owners thought of everything . Lovely spa bath.
Highly recommend and will definitely be returning.

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Liked it all
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your last minute break - we always try to leave the car and walk everywhere when there too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanna D
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend and more”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This has been one of our preferite stays in UK.
The cottage is clear, wonderful and full of comforts. The weather has been great and we spent a lovely time in Hythe.

Date of stay: August 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2014
You certainly were blessed with great weather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diannewal...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A brilliant home from home I a superb location”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A well appointed cottage a few minutes walk from the beach , park and other amenities. This was a great base for exploring the area . A very child friendly holiday home. We particularly enjoyed evenings in the garden.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the house and garden
Liked least: Busy road
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2014
We have tried to make it easy for parents/grandparent having tow young children ourselves - glad you found it so.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyn41
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cosy cottage, well equipped and a perfect location to explore Hythe and surrounding areas.”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Cottage was a delight with everything you could need, with a real homely feel to the place. It is situated between the beach and the High Street, with the beautiful Military Canal to cross before you reach the town.
There are some lovely walks along the canal, the seafront, the town and the village of Saltwood above the town where the views down over Hythe to the sea are glorious.
It is also in an ideal place to tour the surrounding areas like the charming Canterbury and Whitstable on the north Kent coast.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely condition
Liked least: Nothing to complain about
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2014
Glad you got out and about in Kent - we find so much to just around Hythe that we haven't yet ventured much wider!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anna2901
1 review
“Wonderful stay, will be back again soon!”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Lovely holiday cottage located in the perfect location.myself my partner and my little girl came and stayed at heron cottage while visiting friends.was not dissapointed there was everything you could of asked for the owners had thought of everything!Very comfortable and cosy.we will definately be staying at heron when we return to hythe!

Date of stay: May 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2014
Glad you enjoyed it - we have young children ourselves so have tried to ensure that they feel welcome too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing